Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom san antonio

Old hotel not as charming as it was 20 yrs ago

Posted May 21, 2015
Felt like facility need some attention to the patio and common area , lots of leaves and not well maintained
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston/Cypress

New Braunfels Downtown

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Confort, Location, People.
Cons: Better Management at Bar in Basement which is a must see by the way.
Lovely courtyard, Chisholm room was very comfortable. Al is a great Innkeeper, is available to call for anything at any time. Bar in Basement is beyond belief-it is a true treasure. Bar Wait challenge can be a challenge at times. Close to everything, Gruene, Landa Park, Schlitterbahn. Can walk from B & B to downtown shopping, bars and restaurants. Poor Haus is a cool place to sit doen for drinks-site back off on San Antonio St.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom FLN

Place needs redecorating but the people were nice

Posted May 6, 2015
Great location and very nice folks. The breakfast is awesome. Place needs redecorating!!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Not my cup of tea for sure

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Give people the room they reserved and make people who change their reservations after my reservation stay in the little cabin.
Location: Near downtown New Braunfels, Schliterbaun, and the Comal River.
What I was expecting was a quaint B&B. When I made reservations way in advance, I had the room I chose. After a few months, as time came closer, I called to confirm and check on the reservation. I was told that because of wedding guests who wanted my room, I was moved to a better more spacious room. When I looked online at it, I was pleased and agreed. When we got to the hotel the first day of our stay, we were told we were moved AGAIN. This time to the Klein House. This was a mildew-smelling small cabin built in 1852 !!!!!! No kidding, a historical landmark. Floors were slanted, very dark on the inside and really, really outdated, not in a good way. The mirror in the bathroom was over the toilet and not the sink, which made drying my hair, putting on make-up, and shaving for my husband a real chore. I didn't want to stay in this little, dingy house, but what was I going to do? Willie Nelson was playing in New Braunfels and everything was booked. Not worth it. Oh, and Sausage Kolaches for breakfast....ehhh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Owners

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Owner was friendly and welcoming. Owner took great effort to interact with guest on a personal level.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Corpus Christi, TX

wonderful and quaint

Posted Mar 16, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised--I had never stayed in a B & B. I highly recommend this place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hipster hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
We had a great time spending the weekend riding bikes and walking around downtown New Bransfels. It's a centrally located location that's great. The Inn is charming and full of stories and charm. It's also over 100 yrs old and in some ways it shows. It's maintained and functional, but if you're a light sleeper it's not a place for a good nights rest. Only a thin u insulated wall separated us from our snoring next room over neighbors. You could hear everything on the second floor over most of the second floor. We were glad the DJ and crowd never materialized in the bar in the basement or patio garden next to our single sheet of pane glass window. The bed was so soft and the pilows so hard my wife and I both had sore necks and backs from sleeping there. The breakfast was ok. It was out first B&B and we expected something more intimate than a continental breakfast at a chain hotel. The only difference was someone brought out the plates of eggs and sausage instead of self service. When I asked about ice the manager Kelli pointed to an igloo cooler in the parlor and said staying here was like staying at your cool aunts house. Yes it was. If my aunt was an eccentric hippy that enjoyed her libations, carousing, and music. My aunts are much cleaner, prompt, and prideful than this one; but it takes all kinds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Calebfrom Pearland, TX

Cool History - Would Stay Again

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
Neither I nor my wife had ever stayed in a Bed and Breakfast, but if they are anything like this one we will definitely be doing it again. It was a great stay. Hotels are nice but they are very standardized. There was certainly more character in staying at a place like this. It feels somewhat like you are staying in someone's home and this particular home has over a hundred years of history. Some of the age shows, but this place was very clean and well kept. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was good (albeit simple). It's also within walking distance of historic New Braunfels (which I had never been to despite coming to New Braunfels dozens of times) Other things worth noting is that there is a bar right downstairs, so if you are on the first floor you may have to stay up a little later waiting for the music to die down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Beautiful historic B&B

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Absolutely lovely and the staff is so sweet and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Porte, TX

Lovely B&B

Posted Dec 28, 2014
This was our second stay, here. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is friendly, and the breakfast is delicious. We will come back.