Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

More than adequate

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Staff were great.
This was the best deal available for our stay and it worked out very well. The room, while not fancy, was more than adequate. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and responsive. I'd stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 18 W 25th New York

Good central location for many theaters.

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Good overall - some difficult to maneuver tight spaces and no slip free aspect to tub when taking shower.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Basic hotel but good value for money

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Value for money, location, breakfast, comfy beds. Quiet - never disturbed by other guests
Cons: The heating/air conditioning - though at huge costs which would no doubt impact on the price
Location: Within 20 mins walk: Flatiron, Broadway, Madison Square Gdn, Union Square, Chelsea, Highline, Penn & Grand Central Stations, Metro/bus,
The building was old and the heating system pretty ancient so for a winter stay it was tricky to regulate - either too hot or too cold with no heating in the bathroom. That said, it was a base for exploring New York so we weren't in it much and the beds were comfy. The room was kept clean, there was a fridge and coffee maker with fresh tea/coffee/towels/soap every day. Breakfast was included, a rarity for New York and was pretty good - lots of it and good choice. Excellent location for getting around - 2 mins from the Flatiron building and a metro station serving several lines, also good bus route. Only about 15 mins walk from Chelsea, Penn Station Madison Square Garden and Union Square, not much more to the Empire State, Times Square and Washington Square. All in all, whilst not exactly the lap of luxury (stay at the Waldorf if that's what you want!) it was very good value for money if on a tight budget - would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix, AZ

Lovely accommodations at the right price!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Free breakfast, the quaint location, the cleanliness
Cons: The elevators
Location: Eataly Italian Market, the Flatiron Building, Madison Square Park, Chelsea Bow Tie Movie Theatre
We loved our stay at Comfort Inn Chelsea. There was a little confusion checking in, but after that little blip, the rest of our stay was amazingly seamless. The hotel includes a good breakfast, which is hard to find for a good price in the city! Sausage, eggs, cereal, bagels, pastries, yogurt, and a waffle maker! Yum. Our hotel room was about the size of our master bedroom, so it was perfect (some may have considered it small). It was perfectly clean. The location was the best part...there was a flea market one day right across the street. You are just steps from Madison Square Park (the park, not the event venue!), the Flatiron Building, and several subway stops. It's the cutest and quaintest little neighborhood...after staying several times in the Times Square/Broadway area, this was a breath of fresh air. I felt more like a local and less like a tourist. The one downside was the elevator...it is super old and there was only one out of two working! But, there was a note that said the second one should be working again soon, so that's good! So, thank you, we'll definitely be staying here again :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Den Haag

Prima hotel. Lekker centraal gelegen.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Fijn hotel. Metro was vlakbij. Hotel personeel erg hulpvaardig. Nette kamer.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom pa

Place is a dump!

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Place is dirty. Hotel staff is rude. Had only one elevator working and a maid was on there at time of check out and wouldn't let me on. Had to walk down 10 flights of stairs with bags!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poitiers

Un hôtel qui mérite le détour...

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Situation Rapport qualité / prix plus que correct
Cons: Second ascenseur à remettre en état Système de climation / chauffage à réétudier Plus de variété au petit-déjeuner
Location: Près de Chelsea et de Madison Square Garden Manhattan Uptown et Downtown accessible
Bien situé, l'hôtel avait retenu mon attention par son tarif attractif et le petit-déjeuner sur place, rare à New-York... J'avais quelques craintes à la lecture de certains avis, notamment sur la salle de bains, le petit déjeuner, l'ascenseur, le chauffage... Au final, nous avons passé un très agréable séjour pour Noël... Certes, l'unique ascenseur n'est pas un foudre de guerre... Certes, la salle de bains (privative pour notre suite parentale de 2 lits doubles et 1 lit king size) n'est pas immense, mais propre, fonctionnelle... Certes, le petit-déjeuner n'est pas super varié... Certes, le chauffage fait un bruit d'enfer mais après avoir pris le parti de surchauffer la chambre en notre absence pour avoir un température correcte la nuit, sans bruit, ca le fait... Le personnel a été parfait et disponible (problème de toilettes bouchées solutionné dans la minute, changement de coffre-fort défectueux...). Bref, je ne peux que vous conseiller cet hôtel super bien situé dans Manhattan Enjoy the big apple !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Frankfrom Miami, Florida

Clean but small

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was generally clean, it offered breakfast which was pretty good. My main complaint was the rooms were very small, no cable tv and very expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Clairefrom Chicago

Nice stay, met expectations

Posted Dec 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pretty much exactly as I expected; room was small but comfortable with the exception of a relatively cramped bathroom(probably about average for NYC standards) but clean. Wifi was decent and free. Staff was accommodating and allowed me to check in 2 hrs early, but did make a point of letting me know that "technically" check-in wasn't until 3pm and it was only 1. Baggage check was $1/piece, a bargain since it meant I didn't have to lug my bag around all day. I'd stay here again for a solo trip, but would spring for something nicer if I were travelling with another person.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms are a bit small, and the street noise can be tough, but a good place to stay for a night