Ratings based on 2,942 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom liverpool england

Ideal location close to EState .central location

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Enjoyable stay. very pleasing hotel quality . Stayed in room 231 ten yards from gym!!!! . A couple of good early morning cafes within a two minute stroll of hotel and a couple of good bars beneath Empire State which was a stones through away. If you want a good view from your hotel window this is not the one for you. If you want a good nights sleep , comfy beds. Clean rooms with helpful guest services , in a prime spot for visiting landmarks and shops this is The one for you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

The hospitality is impeccable

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Read reviews on this hotel and they were looking really good. When we arrived around 10 am I was surprised that our room was ready and we were able to check in. We went to our room . It was on the small size but in New York it was a good size . The front deal called and asked if everything met my expectations and if we needed anything not to hesitate and call. The time was changing the next day and someone knocked on the door with a paper explains the daylight savings and gave us some chocolate for disrupting. The rain shower was awesome. Usually they don't have much pressure but this one was the best one I've ever seen. It's pressure was amazing. When we would walk down the concierge would call you by your last name. It was like they take the time to actually know you. This was an amazing experience and the hotel staff are top notch. Very professional and the hospitality was amazing. I've never experienced this at any other hotels. We would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kilsyth, Scotland

Great hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel was quiet with a nice library to sit in with a coffee. There is complimentary coffee and tea available in the foyer.
Location: The hotel was in a good location near the Empire State Building, Madison Square Gardens and Macy's.
Had a great stay in the Chandler Hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The hotel is quiet and relaxed. The room was nice and the beds were very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake

Great location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: very clean, friendly staff
Cons: nothing
Location: perfect for getting to the subway and getting uptown or downtown.
Great staff, clean rooms, great location. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Lovely boutique hotel close to Empire State Bldg

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pleasantly surprised upon arriving at how quaint it is and was happy about the size of the room by NYC standards. The call from the front desk after arriving to check that everything was going well was a nice touch - something I have not experienced. The staff also responded quickly to help with the TV signal and to bring extra towels upon request. The only trouble was the shower door which did not close and flooded the bathroom floor after each use. I asked the hotel to look at it and they did partially address the issue but it continued to leak afterwards. That issue aside, I would choose to stay again and recommend Hotel Chandler to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oxfordshire

Loudest air conditioning ever !

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: The beds
Cons: Air conditioning. Room decor and soundproofing. Shelf space in bathroom.
Location: Not a great location - in no mans land between Central Park area and the buzz of SoHo/Greenwich Village. An unhappening area.
Very loud A/C - loudest I had ever heard in a hotel room. Rooms in need of update/refurb. Door to corridor not soundproofed - you could see light from the corridor through gap between frame and door. Not enough shelf space in bathroom so toiletries had to be kept on the floor. Beds very comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful. Service at breakfast slow and erratic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel -good location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Molton Brown products were nice!
Location: Great location right off 5th. Close to the NY library, Empire State building, flat iron.
The photos make it look nicer, but the overall stay was nice. The location was great. Our room was small and dark.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsford, NY

Great hotel, service and location, but...

Posted Oct 10, 2014
I have stayed in approx. 25 hotels in NYC over the last 12 years (mostly on business). Hotel Chandler ranks right at the top for me. Fabulous restaurant, terrific location, CLEAN, and the staff went out of their way to help. However, please know the rooms are very small. I was shocked. Definitely one of the, if not THE, smallest rooms I have stayed in (note, though, I only stay in 4-star hotels). Also, the fitness center was dirty, rundown, tiny and poorly equipped. If you plan on a moderate to serious workout...DON'T. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and WILL stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Quiet boutique hotel in midtown

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Nice modernized room with luxury touches. Noisy street sounds do penetrate the room though as not real doubkle glazing or sound proofing. Good location and excellent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, UK

A gem of a hotel in NYC

Posted Oct 6, 2014
A lovely hotel right in mid town. Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable, well appointed rooms (although on the small side - this is NYC though and to be expected). Will definitely return at some point.