Ratings based on 2,881 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice boutique hotel in the center of Manhattan

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Nice bathroom, clean nice decor. Good, friendly service.
Cons: AC too noisy.
We stayed after a party in the city. Not much time spend in the hotel. Room was very small but comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Well situated Hotel in NYC

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Nicely decorated (somewhat dark), very clean Hotel
Cons: They could advise guests regarding the noise levels from the construction works, and provide them with higher or better insulated rooms
Location: Midtown Manhattan, very close to the Empire State Building and on walking distance to Times Square or the Theater District
The hotel is situated in Midtown Manhattan, very close to the Empire State Building, pictures of the rooms are deceiving, they are very small and everything feels cramped, everything is well maintained and clean; staff is always polite and attentive to your needs (they even recall your name); but they failed to offer me a room upgrade or any other perks that they are supposed to provide for being part of the VIP Access partner program. The hotel, nevertheless, offers very comfortable rooms, albeit very small (but that is the norm in NYC). There are some construction going on very close to the Hotel or in the Hotel itself, they begun early in the morning with a very loud noise that prevents any rest from that moment on. I would think the Hotel is overrated at 4.5 stars
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice midtown hotel, 5 mins from subway

Posted Aug 21, 2014
It was like any other hotel. The room was small though, but pleasing, the beds were very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Good location for NYC

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The ambience, the staff and locale was just as it should be.
Cons: Quieten down the air conditioning units in the bedrooms, and lower the prices in the bar and restaraunt.
Location: The hotel is situated about two blocks from the Empire state building, not far from Times Square or any of the other main attractions.
The hotel was very pleasant, the room was a little on the small side but as it's only for sleeping in, it's not a huge issue. The bed was very comfortable. It was particularly hot and unfortunately the air conditioning unit was too noisy to keep on all night so it was a little uncomfortable in the heat, not a complaint, just an observation. We did not try the restaraunt as it was very expensive, we did try the bar, $30 for 2 drinks was a little excessive! Overall though, I would be happy enough to stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Decent sized rooms for NYC
Cons: Extremely loud air conditioner - woke up every time it went on
Location: Great location - check out a map
Decent hotel - got a good deal with a flight/hotel booking from Expedia. Molton Brown toiletries are nice. Nice shower. A very decent hotel would stay again if the price was right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Nice hotel in a convenient area

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: Rooms are small and bathrooms are tiny, bordering on uncomfortable. Pipes a bit noisy. Other than that, great hotel.
Very nice hotel overall. Rooms are nice and everything works correctly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Excellent Location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Great hotel, awesome staff and so close to major site seeing attractions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: The coffee and the air conditioning units.
Although we had read the reviews of Hotel Chandler, we were pleasantly surprised that they were all very accurate. While the rooms are smallish, they are comparable to other room sizes in NYC. The rooms are very clean and we really appreciated the Frette linens, thick towels, bathrobes AND the rainhead shower. The staff were all exceptionally professional and the concierge provided us with excellent options for lunch and dinner. The location makes it easy to move about all of New York, with subway stops within easy reach and walking distances to uptown reasonable. The downside was the air conditioning unit in the room - it is either on or off with no automatic control over the temperature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C. Canada

Comfortable Hotel with Excellent Staff

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Location: There is a market-like store directly across from the hotel where you can buy many different types of food and other amenities to go.
My daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights and found it very suitable for us as it was within close proximity to some good restaurants and shopping but also close to the trains to get to wherever we were going each day. Coffee and tea in the lobby was very nice and there was a sitting room to relax and wait in while our room was getting ready and also after we had checked out. We were made to feel welcome and not like we were squatters. I dropped a special earring in the main floor washroom and didn't realize it was missing until 1 week later but the hotel staff had it safe and sound waiting for a call about it. All the staff we encountered was helpful and friendly but also very professional. I would classify this as a boutique hotel and it was a little older in some areas (carpets and upholstered chairs in the lounge a bit dingy and one of the two elevators was out of service for 1 day) but everything else was very clean and we had all the amenities we required.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel, Great location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
A very welcoming front desk and although there were some issues while we were staying(wifi not working,1 lift out of order, our AC broke) the staff were very pleasant and tried to fix the problems as soon as possible.