Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horror Movie

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Cons: Everything needs cleaning and renovation.
Location: Nothing interesting, even the subway is far away.
Dirty room, super old facilities, crap shower, everything, even breakfast, tastes bad - disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nie from Saratoga Springs, NY

Charming little Bed and Breakfast Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Building a little dated but all very clean. Room pretty large for a NYC room, high ceiling. Staff very helpful. Good breakfast in bed
Cons: Bed frame/mattress noisy every time someone move.
Location: Located on a street near the river, calm during the night. 5 minutes by feet to Gracie Park and 15/20 to Central Park and Museum of Art.
It's a charming little hotel on Upper West Side with breakfast in bed. Good size room, with a kitchen a little dated, and a tiny bathroom, but all really clean. Parking is free in the streets West on East side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by John D Clatterbuck from Richmond VA

comfy b & b

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Gracie Inn was very pleasant and comfortable. Our only complaint was that it is quite far from a subway station, so bring your most comfortable walking shoes!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Woo from England

Our first trip to NYC :)

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
When we arrived, we were welcomed by the manager :) our bags were taken up to our room, while we were checked in... (Before check in time :) ) we were given our keys, and some NY info/ maps. We were also offered complimentary water, which we were welcomed to take whenever. Arriving in our room, which we got upgraded too.. A suite with terrace :) we were very happy to check the cleanliness of the bathroom and kitchen- spotless. The only thing was the carpet which could of used a Hoover, but we didn't mind. Breakfast was served daily, it did change slightly, but at no inconvenience to us. There was one morning there was confusion, but quickly sorted. We were happy we were left to our own devices, and welcomed back and wished a good day, but otherwise left to it. Which is exactly what we wanted. Checking out was nice and easy, and we left our cases until we left. We were also advised on what we should pay for a cab back to airport, which was nice. All in all, I was very happy with our stay :) Location wise, I liked it. I always felt safe, it was a little walk for subway, but you could get the bus closer (same ticket). It was nice to explore the neighborhood, found a diner called Daddy's a few streets away, which was amazing!! And the 'comic strip' is on the same road!
1 out of 5
by NEAL from SANTA BARBARA

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: LIKE?
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: SOTHEBYS
IT IS A DUMP WITH OLD PAINT OVER HINGES AND ELECTRICAL PLATES AND OLD PAINT DROPS ON THINGS,BROKEN TOILET PAPER HOLDER,ALMOST NO HEAT WHEN THE WEATHER IS IN THE LOW 30'S,ONE WINDOW HAD BEEN REPLACED WITH A FOGGY PLASTIC,BREAKFAST WAS A VARIETY OF ITEMS BOUGHT FROM STREET VENDORS,THE MANAGER LEFT AFTER WE CHECKED IN AND DID NOT SHOW UP AGAIN WHILE TWO NICE KIDS WERE IN CHARGE.AT 200.00+ A NIGHT IT IS GROSSLY OVER PRICED.WE PICKED IT FOR IT'S LOCATION AND "CUTE" WEB SITE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by danEboy from NJ

Good Stay for Fair Price when all else was too $$$

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Was a business trip. The place was perfect for me. Cozy, no frills, 10 blocks from work. I would stay again in a second. All basic amenities were fine. It had a kitchenette, LR and BR and full bath. No problems.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dana from Colorado Springs,CO

Don't Book This Hotel for Free Parking or Towels

Posted Oct 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
First of all, the free parking is a lie. When you arrive the hotel will tell you to find a parking spot on the street. The only problem with that is that there is alternate side of the street parking so you can't always leave your car for all of the days of your vacation. I truly think this should be taken off the website for this hotel because it is just not true. The hotel itself is like others have said before it is far from luxurious, with it's old furniture and no comfortable place to sit in the room except the bed. We had one mildly comfortable chair and then two straight back chairs and a table. The room was screaming for a comfortable sofa. The bed was old and noisy. Our room faced the street and was noisy at night time, we were woken up a lot by outside noises. The breakfast they brought us one day was without sweeteners for the coffee and the second day without jams/jellies for the bread. Also instead of the hard boiled egg I ordered I got a yogurt. But the second worse offense is that you only get a washcloth/dishcloth and one bath towel per person. For what we were paying per night, you can't even get a second bath towel without a charge. Give me a break. Lastly the internet went in and out, so we went onto one of the other wireless connections that was free in the neighborhood. This connection stayed on, not like the Gracie Hotel one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yolanda

Cute B&B but far from Metro

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: That it felt like a mini apartment....That your breakfast is delivered right to your door at the time you request it
Cons: The rooms need some updates
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms could stand a little face lift, but very cute concept. Almost felt like a mini apartment. Only problem was my mattress was super squeaky and NOT very comfortable. Walk to the Metro was about 5-7 minutes. As long as the weather is comfortable, no problem if you enjoy walking. If weather is not comfortable, the walk would be miserable. Although I do have to say the area in which this B&B is located is very quiet, which is a big plus seeing that your only about a 15min Metro ride to all the action
1 out of 5
by Jo from Oldham, United Kingdom

Avoid unless you want a bad back!

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything, the bed was a nightmare, they don't provide basic toiletries without asking, no one was there on our arrival etc.
Location: It is nowhere near the subway, I'm not averse to walking but it did mean we wasted a couple of hours each day trying to get where we wanted to go.
I've stayed in NYC a few times now and know it's expensive, but this was way worse than I would expect for the price. We arrived at 3.00pm although we had not been given a check in time, we could not get into the building. There was a note on the door to advise to phone a number if we arrived after 6.30pm (which we didn't). We are still waiting to find out the phenomenal expense this will have cost to have to phone on a UK mobile phone, the call took ages whilst we were given instructions on how to get in. The room was not the room we booked, I don't know if the room our paperwork said we had booked was as bad as the one we got. The bed was awful, we spent one night with our feet higher than our heads and then switched to sleep the other way round. It was so bad I ended up with a bad back which continued to hurt for several days and through my 2 long flights home, I'm now struggling at work. You were asked to give a time slot for breakfast and choose items. We didn't get the breakfast during the time slot, it was either early or late and we only once received the items chosen. I didn't even get a drink. We were provided random toiletries like mouthwash and cotton buds, but only 1/2 roll of toilet paper. After a couple of days (and the random pretend clean of the room - fake make the bed and empty a bin) we had to leave a note..it was not possible to ask anyone as it was rare we saw anyone. When we did, they were pleasant enough!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com