Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Anafrom Boston, MA

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Pros: The only nice thing was the view
The room was dated and not the cleanest I dropped something and it rolled under the bed and when I went to retrieve it there was a previous guest's sock and a dirty spoon. There was no hot water, so showering was not the most pleasant experience in the middle of October in New England. The staff was not very helpful or friendly. At checkout we weren't even greeted just asked what room we were checking out of.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Jennfrom Vermont

Lots of Character

Posted Oct 28, 2013
The Ocean View Inn has lots of character and a fascinating past! If you want to spend a weekend staying in a turn of the century Tudor style Mansion with beautiful rooms overlooking the ocean, this is the place for you. The rooms are bright, charming and comfortable. The billiard room with 1907 pool table was a definite treat. Fireplaces abound. Staff was friendly. Great rates (discount if you pay cash). It doesn't have a lot of the amenities of bigger resorts, but the character and charm makes up for it in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outstanding view of Cape Ann

Posted Oct 12, 2013
Pros: Location, staff and facilities.
The Inn has a restaurant so you can have breakfast there. It is very close to downtown Gloucester with its many seafood restaurants and board walk. Also very close to Rockport and the many stores. The only problem I had was that the manager did not know of our reservation, it seems that Expedia never sent our reservation to the Inn. Fortunately there was a room available for Friday night but for Staurday they moved us to the Motel part of the Inn since there was a wedding that night. Expedia get your reservations straight!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LaRayne

Lovely room with million dollar view of the ocean.

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Historic building and the view.
Cons: Breakfast service.
Perfect except. Free breakfast never happened and breakfast for fee was delayed several times so was a hour later.
1 out of 5
by tbilltaj

Bad experience

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Pros: Check out
Cons: Almost everything
Location: The hotel is in a great location, Near bars and restaurants and has a great view of the ocean.
Hotel staff is slow, the room was filthy, outside of the building was disgusting, and they advertise a swimming pool that hasn't been open in years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a couple

Posted Nov 28, 2012
Pros: The view
Cons: Drapes were nothing but a sheet.
Location: Excellent
The hotel is old and quaint,. Needs some help with the structure [window frames], and insulation. TV screen size very small considering the distance from the head of the bed. Furniture was niece but sparse. The bath room faucets needed lubrication. The staff was very cordial, especially Matt.
2 out of 5
by Allisonfrom Upstate New York

Overhaul needed

Posted Oct 11, 2012
Pros: The view
Cons: The rooms
Location: Beautiful location with a great area to walk or run.
I took ten of my friends to this hotel for an overnight stay celebrating my 50th birthday party. We had three rooms all attached to eachother and let me just say that the view from our rooms and shared porch was stunning. However, it could not make up for the condition of our rooms and the hotel in general. The sheets in one of the rooms had stains on them (it appeared they had not been cleaned). The heat in two of the three rooms never came on during the night after turning the thermostat up and the sheets on the beds were very skimpy. One sheet and a thin quilt for each bed. Needless to say the unfortunate group of us that had the two rooms lacking heat did not sleep well. One of the rooms lacked towels so we had to call to have them brought up in the morning. The door between two rooms was damaged and had a nail sticking out of it. The TV in the middle room did not work. The lobby had a layer of dust that could not be missed with the morning sun shining in. Basically, this hotel needed an overhaul for sure and at the rates they charge to stay there, I cannot understand why it is so poorly kept up. With such a stunning view, this hotel could be amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire, USA

go somewhere else if it's hot outside

Posted Jul 19, 2012
the staff had not turned on the a/c in our room even though the temp. that day was predicted to be in the 90's so our third floor room was also in the 90's with only a small window unit to cool it. the pool was horrible...murky and dirty which i pointed out to the management and was thanked but not even offered a soda to cool off with....would not go back even with the lovely views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

breakfast

Posted May 3, 2012
Location: beautiful view over ocean,nice sidewalk along coast
Off season, there was no breakfast avail. at hotel.They did make us coffee.