Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pdx

Only if you are on a tight budget

Posted Sep 19, 2014
My room wasn't ready. Shower was sketchy. Floors and doors were layered in grime. Air conditioner on last leg. TV was fuzzy. Pool was nice and staff was very friendly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coquitlam, BC, Canada

HELLkele Suites - A Must Not!!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: There was one very nice, responsive staff. Good location, in downtown Waikiki and close to beach
Cons: This hotel needs a total renovation and upgrade
Location: Lots of good restaurants, Waikiki beach, good nightlife and shopping.
We booked this hotel not expecting the Ritz, but hoping for a clean, decent place to spend our 11 nights in Waikiki. We were in no way prepared for this run down, outdated hotel. Don’t be deceived by the online pictures! Although we knew we were not renting a room with a view, we never anticipated a 3rd floor suite, equipped with opaque safety-glass that we could not see through. It was like living in a dungeon! Searching for natural light, we opened the sliding glass doors to a filthy balcony and chairs, facing a parking lot about 10 feet away (likely the reason for the fogged glass). Upon inquiring into a room change, we were advised that we had already been upgraded (Wow, they call that an upgrade!) and there were no other available suites. We were told to inquire the next day, as another suite may come available. Wanting to unpack and settle in, we decided to grin and bear it! Upon arrival, we did an immediate bedbug inspection, as this hotel screamed a natural bug breeding ground. At the onset, we were relieved to find no evidence of bedbugs. Regardless, the tiny tiled shower had some mould, the bathroom taps were almost impossible to turn, the couch was falling apart, the woven rattan-like furniture was filled with dust and who knows what else, the room key cards took repeated attempts to enter the room, the room had an odd odor possibly due to the Chinese restaurant below, and the “full kitchen” was not even supplied with enough plates and bowls for two peop
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
we had suite with kitchen. Room is clean, but small, especially bath room is small and No bath tab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff
Cons: Pool should open until 11:00 PM
Location: Hokele hotel good location
OK to stay at Hokele hotel, friendly staff, very helpful with all the detail about waikiki
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver bc

Hotel is too old

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The kitchen was a bit small and put of style, same with the bathroom. The blow dryer did not work also. A little renovation would help improve our stay. However the staff never failed to make us smile and was really friendly .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Big spacious room!!

Posted Aug 20, 2014
I like how the room was set up! Very good with the company that I had over that day.... We wert so squished together!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from san francisco

close to the downtown and the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: close to the downtown and the beaches at a reasonable rate.
Cons: (1) a little more courtesy from the hotel staff. (2) a little more honesty about the parking situation (that it really does really have enough spaces
Location: close to the downtown and the beaches
okay hotel. close to the downtown and the beaches at a reasonable rate. rooms have a bothering smell of dampness. the rooms need some renovation. at times no one is there at the front desk to help. parking is a nightmare. they have a small parking lot and its always full. they ask to you park at the Courtyard Marriott (OHANA WAIKIKI MALIA) parking lot next block but its not guaranteed. also they are more expensive ($30/day) than the hotel's advertised rate of $25/day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For family vacation

Posted Aug 11, 2014
I would like to know for how long the air conditioners have not been replaced, elevators not been properly maintained?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palmerston North, New Zealand.

Hokele Suites

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Good Location
Cons: Elevator to floor.
Location: Central to many shops.
Room on first floor. No elevator. Lots of noise from bar next door. Problems at check-in as I had paid for 3 people and Expedia had only submited payment for 2 persons.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not good

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Hotel is dirty, especially the bathroom..and the room stinks..