Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Staff very friendly.and helpful on directions also shuttle to the airport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor experience

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Hotel is in very poor condition. I was traveling alone and although in a great location, I did not feel comfortable to walk to the downtown. It was empty! And once there understood why. Please do not recommend this hotel! Make a visit before listing it again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom North Jersey, NJ

NO NO NO!

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: It is a block or two away from a small downtown area with plenty of places to eat.
Terrible experience. This is a MOTEL. Run down. The pictures must be from when the place was first built/opened. The pool looked disgusting, dirty, a film on top, inside must be painted cement with chunks of paint chipping away. The room was gross. Hard tile floors that you can tell they basically sweep or swiffer the main areas because the corners, behind the bed, etc. was all dusty. If you walk around bare foot you will see the filth wash off your feet in the shower. THE SHOWER - I am 5'6 and I was eye level with the shower head which comes out like a faucet you have to stand directly underneath it, takes forever to warm up. There was a tooth brush stuck down the sink drain which didnt even have a cover on it, it was just an open drain. Towels were thin and pilly. There were all little nats in our sheets. The temperature is terrible, there is an old floor based AC unit which is LOUD and the trickle of air that comes out is barely cold. Paper thin walls, I heard my neighbors snoring like a truck. The kicker - there was a web cam mounted to the TV!!!!!!!!!!!! We checked right out and I will be contacting expedia for a refund. Completely overpriced, I guess you pay for the view of the lake, which was nice as long as you dont want to be comfortable or clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Dirty and noise motel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Is right on the lake
Cons: Do a better housecleaner, not allow dogs would be great
Smoke smell, dirty room and during the night I couldn't sleep because of has a dog and some room barking from 3:56 am to 5:48 and nobody was in the reception. No breakfast served on the hotel, but my reservation said that was and the next day they changed the room and my second night was better but the room had also smoke smell and I just wanted to go home.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
hotel remodeling...excellent view of lake...convenient to downtown and truck food night...needs more city/state help for increasing marina and visitors for man made island
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Monroe's on the Lake

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paulfrom Ft. Myers

Staff

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I phoned ahead and relayed that I was ill and needed some assistance. the fellow on the desk (lost his name) came out to my vehicle and handled my reservation and brought the key to a convenient room as I requested. I can't speak highly enough of the staff's consideration and service!!! I try to stay there each time I'm in the Sanford area... Plus, being on Lake Monroe makes for a great view and stroll..
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jessicafrom FL

Nice Location/ Dumpy Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
My family stayed there one night because a family wedding reception was held at the hotel and we live out of town. The lobby bathrooms were dirty and the ladies room had a rude sign telling guests to make sure they cleaned up after themselves because (I'm paraphrasing), "Nobody wants to have to touch your cr@p." The reception hall was old but roomy with a nice view overlooking the lake. The food, catered by the hotel, was okay. There was a bar but the bartender was seemingly untrained: never asked if he could help you, just waited for you to order, gave you your drink, and then didn't say thank-you or you're-welcome when thanked. Our hotel room itself was drab and severely lacking in every way: dirty, old carpet, very few outlets (cell phone chargers and laptops needed to be plugged in), a phone that appeared hooked up but had no dial tone and didn't work, no writing pad or pen, no paper towels or napkins, a dirty and very old coffee maker, no fitted sheets on the beds (they instead used another unfitted sheet which wouldn't stay put) and there was no counter-top or vanity area in the room on which to put a hair dryer, makeup, etc. The mini fridge was strangely located in the TV armoire and was empty except for 2 water bottles, the seals of which were not intact. The TV was very old, so we didn't even bother to see if it had cable. We opted not to use the shower because the entire bathroom looked dingy. It was the worst hotel I've ever visited.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Netherlands

Has potential but needs substantial renovation

Posted Aug 15, 2014
On the positive side: location 10 mins from Sanford Airport, on a nice lake, close to town center Negatives: our towels were stained, there were socks from a previous guest in the bathroom (no proper cleaning) and the door lock was wobbly, which made us feel slightly unsafe. The reception girl was quite aloof. The whole place looks pretty run down. Bottom line: this motel has a lot of potential but really needs a serious update!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Murfreesboro, TN

The pics apparently are from years past!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Doors were damaged due to being pryed open before! Room wasn't ready @ check in.