Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife

Worth a visit

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Used this as a cheap one night break away. Room was lovely, ok needs the bathroom updated a bit (shower) but all in all lovely. The staff are really helpful and even a mix up with regards breakfast (which was lovely) was sorted out in our favour - thank you. Ate in the bar at night and the chicken goujons are fantastic - highly recommended. The bar could do with some background music or the tv put on as spent a fortune on the jukebox just to break up the silence - but still a pleasant experience!!! Shame no direct access to the back garden as weather was lovely and looked lovely with the stream flowing by. Would recommend this to anyone wanting a few nights away from the normal hustle and bustle.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NSW

You always have an excuse John.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Leaving. The bed was terrible. The toilet roll was not on the holder. The carpet had not been vacuumed before our arrival.
Cons: So much! The owner is the biggest problem. He is great at excuses but doesn't seem to ever solve problems. Change the owner and it should improve.
Location: No other restaurants nearby unless you have a car. Plenty to do within half an hours drive. Castles are great and Perth is lovely.
My wife wrote a review of your hotel about a week ago and surprise you had a petty excuse for everything that was wrong with your establishment. What's the point of arguing over every little detail on check out, I don't get paid to tell you how crummy your place is and none of the issues brought up in the previous post should have been a surprise to you because you had plenty of excuses. This is to alert other people that your hotel is highly unsuitable as a holiday destination. To anyone else reading this, take careful note that this hotel seems to follow a strange trend of one terrible review followed by an amazing review then terrible again and so on. John, you need to start being proactive with making your hotel good, based on your vast list of excuses you are the master of waiting until there is an issue before acting. I can't stress enough just how substandard everything about the room was. Your excuses about the bathroom are nothing short of laughable! Your vacuum cleaner needs to be on before being used, its far more effective this way. You hotel smelt like dog!!! Not because there were works being done. It smelt like wet dog! There is a distinct difference! Telling us to address each issue that was wrong with your hotel on check out is such a cop out. You know you have a complete lemon on your hands and embarrassed that people take to social media to let others know the truth about your "Hotel".
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by fonny from carlisle

fantastic service

Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
just been taken over but very friendly and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LGH from Aberdeen

Great food & Comfy bed

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really quiet location, room requiring a bit of attention but clean & very comfy bed. I believe owners only took it on late & are working to get it up to scratch. Food in hotel really very good & very reasonable. Staff nice & helpful, about 15 mins from Perth, so great for shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel in picturesque village

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Quaint and friendly
Location: Close to Perth and Stirling
We had a wonderful time at the Glenfarg. It is located in a beautiful little Village surrounded by rolling hills. The staff went out of their way to show us a good time and the food was extremely good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ideal place for one night on long journey

Posted May 22, 2014
V happy with Glenfarg Hotel. It met our needs perfectly as we needed to break our journey from carlisle to Orkney by car.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Norwich

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Electrically heated Shower did not work properly and shower tray/surrounds had not been properly cleaned. Pressing my index finger on the shower start button every five seconds, because the water kept cutting off and changing temperature, was totally unsatisfactory. Hotel had the feeling of suffering from a lack of tender loving care and being about to go bust. Needs a transformational change to win repeat custom.
2 out of 5
by Mollie from Scotland

Disappointing

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Location, quiet, car park
Cons: Standard of rooms, mattresses, staff training, customer service, attention to detail ie toilet roll put in holder.
Location: Rural, village shop, park
Not impressed with condition of the building ie windows, mattress, fittings - quality of customer service, attention to detail or knowledge of staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Angela Brown from Netherurd

Great wee place, would stay again.

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The glengarry hotel was exactly what we needed. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel on our first night and it was great! The bar had a nice atmosphere. Great location, bus stop to get to perth right outside. Safe car parking area. Thanks a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com