Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2015
安いこととハイウェイから近いという理由だけで予約しました。部屋は外からの階段でのアクセスしかないため、大きなスーツケースは部屋にあげられませんでした。室内は清潔ではありましたが設備が古く、ベッドカバーにタバコの焼けこげ跡があったり、バスマットにシミが残っていたりなど。朝早起きをしてすぐにチェックアウトしました。フロントデスクの方は親切でした。横に飲み物が置いてあり自由に取れます。また、フロントの隣にはコインランドリーの部屋がありました。ヘアードライヤーはフロントデスクで借りられます。治安の面から旅行者には薦められませんが、男性で旅慣れている方、予算を抑えたい方なら良いと思います。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Low quality hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: It was close to the freeway.
The hotel itself is very low quality. During my stay, with my family, we found several problems with the room. These problems included the bathroom doorknob falling off, the curtains falling off the track and general problems such as rust all over anything metal and paint peeling off the walls.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Not bad, but also not recommend

Posted Jun 17, 2015
The room smells not good. And you also need to pay 50 dollars deposit. They will give the money back if there is no damage.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

A cautionary but favorable review

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Location, size of room, full-sized refrigerator and real stove
Cons: Bedding, updates to decor, shampoo/conditioner not in a small plastic pack
While not fancy, the Chestnut Inn has it's plusses. It's right next to I-205, but when I asked to be in a room further from the freeway, the nice receptionist gave me a room on the end which had a full-sized refrigerator, stove and a table in a kitchen nook. The bathroom and bedroom were also bigger than the norm. I was not asked to pay more. My main issue was that the first of two nights, I woke up around 3am by irritation on my forehead and shoulder that soon swelled. I was worried the welts were from bed bugs, and searched online for info. I stripped the bed, pushed off the top mattress and looked for fecal trails, etc. I was surprised at how clean mattresses and linens were, but the pillow that was up against my head and shoulder where the welts were had its synthetic stuffing coming out. Since I didn't get any more bites or see any signs of bugs, I think that is what caused my welts, but did wash everything immediately upon getting home. It's also not the nicest of neighborhoods - I was fine, but probably wouldn't want my mom or kids to stay there. It has a washer-dryer and seems to cater to semi-permanent residents.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roseburg, OR

Sketchy

Posted May 25, 2015
It was overall dirty and smelly, the staff was nice but there are no amenitys included. If you want a cheap hotel close to the freeway, and have no children with you, it is doable, but would not recommend bringing the family along. Sketchy neighborhood loud all night thought my car possibly would be gone by morning...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medford, OR

Will Never Go There Again

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Other than the pillows, the room smelled nicer than many cheap hotels I've been in.
Cons: Make absolutely sure that customers are aware of additional charges and "deposits" BEFORE they even register. Not all hotels ask for damage deposits.
Location: Near the Max transit (train) line. Close enough to the freeway that you hear it all night.
We often visit Portland. We have friends there and our son, who used to live there but now lives in Seattle, comes down and meets us there for weekend visits. Sometimes we can stay with friends. When that is not convenient we get an inexpensive hotel. We search online for the best deal and/or value and take our chances. This is one of the occasions where we were the losers in that game of roulette. We made our reservations online and paid in full in advance. When we arrived we were told that there would be an additional $50.00 charge for a deposit. I had never heard of such a thing. None of the information online made any indication about this extra charge. Yes, it was a "deposit" and would supposedly be refunded at checkout. We had a downstairs non smoking room - which seemed tidy enough if spartan. And the room smelled clean. But as soon as I planted my face in the pillow, it smelled of bad breath and farts. The pillowcase was clean, but something in it was bad smelling. Despite that, I needed to sleep and soon became inured to the odor. Besides, there was more unpleasantness to come. Our neighbors directly above were up nearly all night stomping around, pacing back and forth in the room. I was like they were hosting a dance party up there 'til past 3am in the morning. I eventually had to slep with the pillow OVER my head. When we went out the door in the morning, we noticed the hood of our vehicle had cigarette ashes all over it (dropped from the balcony above).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 23, 2015
We were 6 of us and the rooms were pretty big and decent. Lots of places to eat nearby and are waking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Cheap & clean

Posted May 20, 2015
I would recommend this motel for those who on the budget. You will get what you pay for. Staff is really nice and accomodative, trying to ensure you are enjoying the stay. Facility could be better but in general the room was clean and tidy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Expérience agréable... Personnel facilitant... Près du train pour aller en ville... Plusieurs restaurants autour... J'ai été épargné du bruit de l'autoroute car ma chambre étais dans l'annexe... Je suis satisfaite...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Did not feel safe. No hair dryer. Hot water in shower only lasted a minute or so. No outlet near the bed. Paid for two nights, but only ended up staying one.