Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great place to relax

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The caribe villas are very nice. We had a great view. The staff was great and the beach was wonderful. Great place to unwind.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: relaxing, staff is so nice
Cons: it is little expensive and pricy compares to other hotels that ive ever stayed in northern america
Location: beahces, visit old san juan, ATV, culebra ,ponce ,El yunque go to these places
swimming pool n beaches ... it was awesome , its very clean .. this is the best hotel i've ever been in my life ..... i travel all over asia and north america.. this is the best one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Great resort

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Close to many attraction loved the private beach
Cons: Had to redo our room keys 4 times
Location: Beach right there. Very close to old San Juan. 50 cent bus trip and in 5 minutes you are downtown and 50 cents back
Great resort close the the bus gat takes you to old San Juan. Staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

One bedroom suite

Posted Jun 16, 2014
We stayed in a one bedroom suite with two small children. We were very pleased with the room overall. The kitchen was well equipped and spacious, flowing into a living and dining area. It was nice to bring leftover meals back to the room to reheat later for the children when they were being stubborn at meal times, refusing to eat. The gift shop sold milk and some snacks which was also nice. The beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms were kept cleaned and well stocked with towels and toiletries. The view of San Geronimo Fort from the balconies was outstanding. A great place to sit with a morning coffee. The small pool area at the Lagoon Villas was very quiet and comfortable. Most action was at the larger pool at the Caribe, another minute walk away. Everything was very close. Food: The Italian restaurant was very good and also served local cuisine. The Pina Colada club was just ok. None of our meals was as stated on the menu, missing more than one of the listed ingredients or food items without any thought of explanation from the waitress. Overall, blah. I don't recommend. Atlantis pool bar/rest was what you expect from a poolside restaurant. Chicken strips, fries, etc. Nothing special, not bad, convenient. Don't expect a waitress to come out to the chairs, even if you've seen one on occasion walk through. You'll wait forever. We tried to eat out when we could and definitely recommend La Jibarito in Old Town as well as Café Lola in Condado. Both excellent
3 out of 5
by jane from washington

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Good location. Not clean or well kept. Mildew and chipped paint EVERYWHERE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2014
My husband and I had a great time there! Room Clean, and very close to old San Juan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Lovely Ocean View

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: I love the view and the location
Cons: The only thing I would improve, would be the parking its very inconvenient to walk to the front to validate the parking ticket and then go back
Location: We walk to the Escambron beach, and there some stores near by, Old San Juan is approximately 5 minutes away. Lovey Place
The staff was very pleasant. I only have two complaints when I went to check in at 4:18 pm my room wasn't ready, the customer service Rep asked for my phone number to call me when the room was ready. I was waiting for over an hour and he never called. I went back at 5:30 pm and the room was ready, but he never called. Then a very polite security guard gave me a cart, I had to unload my luggage put it in the cart and take it to the room with no help. Other than that I have to say is a beautiful hotel, my room was in the 5th floor with a lovely view. I rented the room for me and my best friend to get ready for her weeding and the pictures in the balcony came out excellent. I left the hotel an hour and half late because of the pictures and all of us getting ready for the weeding and the hotel didn't charge me any penalty fee for the late check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sam and travis from vermont

Mostly great a few cons

Posted Apr 30, 2014
The grounds we absolutely beautiful but in desperate need of maintenance. We easily looked past that and spent a lot of time in the garden. The food and drinks were way overpriced. A 10 min walk downtown and everything is much cheaper. Our room was pretty nice. The caulking in tub was moldy and where the shower and tub connect was really dirty, the grout lines we also black in most areas(dirt,mold?) our balcony was literally 6 -15x15 tiles and our ocean view was ocean-bridge-city and locals were always fishing at night out front of our balcony. This was okay with us but most people envision a balcony that you can sit on and ocean view being at least mostly ocean. Jesus at the desk Sasha at the piña colada club and the manager and trainee at checkout were all excellent. A bartender at the pool bar completely ignored us and served 6 other people who walked up after we had been there and waited.(20 min total) Idk if It was bc we didn't speak Spanish or what but it was quite insulting when you spend so much money to get skipped repeatedly. We did tell the front desk and they offered us 2 free drinks. We didn't take them up on the offer but the offer was greatly appreciated and we felt better after that. We just didn't go back to that bar. We had dinner at the Italian place as well. We placed our order, were given bread and no joke we didn't finish 2 pieces of bread before our food came out, which suggested it might of been reheated or partially cooked prior and we prefer fresh
2 out of 5
by Mo from Newport, RI

Overpriced Disappointment

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: View of ocean
Cons: Increase Staff numbers and improve morale
My 2 girlfriends and I made the mistake of trusting the Hilton name and assuming that meant a quality experience. FACILITIES: Run-down and awkward. The shape of the "resort" (and I do use that term in quotes) forces you to walk 5-10 minutes through weaving hallways from room to beachfront. Everything is slightly run-down, from rusty door jams to mirror hanging off the wall in the bathroom. Towels/linens are greyish, and haven't seen bleach in a minute. STAFF: Apathetic and reluctantly helpful. It was impossible to find servers pool/beach side. Guests are forced to go up to snack bar, and there wait another 25 minutes for an overpriced salad or sandwich while mojito ice melts and turns into a watery mess. Seemed as if the whole establishment was under-staffed by 20%. Beach towels constantly on chairs, wine glasses left out overnight, consistently lengthy line at front desks. EVENTS: While we were there, the "resort" hosted many events, and while we weren't a part of them, we had to walk through the conferences to get to main lobby. All the doors to storage and prep areas were always open. I know it isn't Disneyworld, but I don't want to see the back room with stacks of chairs and pallets of dishes and centerpieces. Close the doors and maintain some class. RESTAURANTS: Cheesy, overpriced and faux-authentic. Not a single whole vegetable or fruit as far as the eye can see. OVERALL: Disappointing and will hesitate to trust Hilton name again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Female

Ocean View Villa

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: There were plenty of activities for children, but lots of places to lay in the sun/pool if you wanted to get away from the family areas. Peacocks too!
Cons: There are plenty of restaurants but very expensive, especially breakfast. We ate breakfast sandwiches from Starbucks. They need a la carte options.
Location: There aren't any restaurants nearby to walk to. Head into Old San Juan. I highly recommend Aqua Viva. Amazing! Also, catamaran in Fajardo is a must!
The villa's are nice to stay in if you want something a little quieter. My boyfriend and I went for a 5 day holiday, so we were looking for a little seclusion and the villas were just that. It is just a short walk to the main hotel (Caribe Hilton) and all the amenities. The pools are very nice and the majority of the hotel grounds have rock/retaining walls. They do have a man made beach area that is beautiful. There is a constant breeze that is so wonderful. You don't even realize it is 86 degrees. We absolutely loved the area on the resort where they have about 15 hammocks for you to enjoy. We reserved an ocean view room, but when we got there they gave us a lagoon view with a glimpse of the ocean. We went to the front desk and told them we specifically paid for an ocean view room and they accommodated us. We moved to a new room which was beautiful. Just a note, there are NO Ocean front rooms. They are ocean view only. Meaning, our balcony was perpendicular to the ocean, so you had to look out and to the left, but still beautiful none the less. Don't be expecting to walk in your room and see the ocean out your balcony. The resort restaurants are very expensive. You really have limited options. Do not walk off the resort at night. Do Not. Take a cab. Plenty of restaurants in Old San Juan. It is about $22-$24 round trip to Old San Juan. Also, there is a Walgreens down by the cruise ships. Liquor is ALOT cheaper there; $11 Bacardi compared to $30 at the resort.