Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort for the price

Posted Jun 25, 2015
The staff was friendly, food was okay, beautiful grounds, rooms need updating but comfortable. The only complaint is the excursion salesmen they let on the resort were pushy and we actually started taking longer ways around the resort to avoid them. I wouldn't go back because of that, it was that bad. But the resort itself was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room stay

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Food and entertainment
Cons: Rooms
We were 4 people in our room and they kept only leaving 2 towels! We kept telling them to bring us some and would take hours. We kept going to the front desk and they would say we will fix it and nothing. The room was smaller and did not look anything like th pictures. Staff is very friendly and we had a good time outside of our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel travelers that are not high maintenace

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Wonderful overall experience. The staff and the service were above and beyond. This is a resort for travelers who are fairly independent and do not need every single aspect of their stay catered to their exact specifications. Also, the food is excellent. The food is not for someone expecting food to be the highlight of their experience or gourmet style expectations, they had plenty of food, plenty of variety, lots of fruits and veggies, extremely fresh. My entire family was wondering why there were so many negative reviews online, we may be a little more flexible than some of the reviewers, but we had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend to any of our friends. The only issue we had is that the beds were not actually queen beds and I think this is common when traveling in latin america and we requested extra towels and did not get them for a few days. Finally, the nightly show is the best I have ever seen at a resort, the production is very well done, professional, creative, great job!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

stay elseware if you can afford it

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: The grounds were nice, not spectacular but nice.
Cons: The food, the rooms, the cleanliness of the rooms. More English speaking staff, nicer staff. Clean up the beach. Truly renovate the rooms.
Location: Location is close to a lot of things, there was a shopping mall, activities, massages etc..
Most of the staff were rude. Nice grounds. Beach is not kept as clean as others like the one right next door. Very, very minimal English speaking staff. Rooms are not anything like what is pictured, very old outdated in the Superior rooms that were supposedly recently renovated. Food is sub-par. Their description says upgrade for a partial or full ocean view, note!!! none of their rooms have an ocean view because the beach is a ten minute walk or more depending on what area of the grounds you are staying on. Vendors are constantly harassing you as they are on the grounds when you wake up until the end of the day and on the beach as well. If you souvenir shop the prices are exorbitant. We were moved to a second room and they were teeny tiny bugs crawling around near the coffee makers in both rooms, this in itself is unacceptable!!!!! People don't spend money to stay in rooms with any type of bugs. The ala carte restaurants are also sub-par and not all of the menu items are not included in the all inclusive. You have to pay a premium. Also I ordered the lamb chops and they were nothing but fat with a sliver of meat on them, disgusting that they would present/serve that to a customer. Also the hotel caters mostly to the under 35 crowd which is why basically the rates are so cheap. there's nudity on the beach, some people assume that others want to see the chest area and baring themselves to others and/or other peoples children. If your over 40 & can afford another hotel, do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

excellent hotel for beach hotel staff and food

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Beach, food, hotel staff, animation
Cons: They could put another little bar on the beach only to get something to drink because the bar and restaurant is on one side of the beach
Location: Swim with dolfin, visit the natural pool, every kind of sport
I have been in this hotel more times in the last 8 years and always I had an excellent stay. The hotel syaff is kind and efficient, the beach is really beautiful and so big that you can choose your beach stile: read a book in complete silence or do some sport or listen latin music and dance. The food is good and every day you can eat something different....but the best is eat italian pizza near the principal pool at Pikalo bar open 24/7. It is an hotel for every type of turist: single, family, couple. I love it
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from us

do not book this hotel is not wort it

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: coffee was very nice and the make good drinks
we stayed 11 days at this hotel ,that was our first time in Dominican Republic,its big resort that needs renovation plus the beach is far a way and not private all day long people are trying to sell you something..... the ocean is full of weeds,I could go on and on........I just don't understand why people are writing good reviews when the resort sucks big time,rooms are horrible,housekeeping when cleans rooms they leave the door open and you end up with bunch mosquito's in a room,they don't change the sheets,we did not have warm water for two days to shower.........do not wast your money on this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Staff were disappointing, except for animacion

Posted May 27, 2015
We had a great time that was definitely facilitated by the animacion crew. Played some beach volleyball, went to the shows, drank at each of the bars. They have security staff roaming at all times but it's really quite likely that they stole one of our cameras. When trying to coordinate with the lost and found area they weren't very helpful and tend to hang up the phone when they realized I spoke english.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Ant hordes all over room, unorganized chaos

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Gym was the only positive experience (and the restaurant near the beach)
Cons: Everything. Housekeeping service, Check-in process, drainage on grounds, proactive guest service, cleanliness
Pretty much one of the worst hotel experiences ever. It took over 1 hour to check in- you had to fight your way to speak to a front desk person through the crowds of shouting and pushing people. I paid for the 'upgrade' room- note the photos are not representative. Even worse, there were colonies of ants that persisted along the entire shelving and floors (thankfully not in/around the bed- must have been the only area they sprayed). I had to hang all my clothes in the closet. While the property overall looks appealing it is far from comfortable. The food is subpar and if you don't get in line to make a reservation before 9am, you end up eating in a lackluster buffet. The staff were decent, but did not go out of their way too often unless you routinely tipped. The only positive experiences were: 1) The gym (decent equipment and nice people working there) and 2) staff at my friend's wedding. Good ambiance overlooking beach and satisfactory service. This place charges for everything (internet is $20+/day) and the service on most fronts is severely lacking. The hotel also flooded during a rainstorm and there were pools of water below the entrance to my room. Avoid this hotel at all costs. I checked out early and went to another hotel for the last night of my stay. Could not put up with it on my vacation anymore.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice pool and short walk to the beach

Posted May 20, 2015
My friends and I had a fun time and overall good experience. Not very family oriented - more for groups of friends who want to party. We loved the shows at night and they provide fun activities to make your vacation enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Good experience for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful.