Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: enjoyed the facilities , beach location , the nightly shows , food and the service . In general was a great choice for the price paid .
Cons: the hotel rooms need an update and beds need new mattresses . new workout equipment
Location: location was safe , maybe a 25mins taxi ride to the Punta Cana Intl Airport . beautiful beach within a few mins walk .
the IFA Villas Bavaro Resort and Spa was an excellent choice for the price . Clean and safe facilities with nice beach within few mins walk , service was excellent , food and local beverages good, the nightly shows very Las Vegas style and very entertaining . the gym and spa well equipped , water sports included also . In general my first time experience in Punta Cana was a positive one and we are already planning to go back soon and may stay at the IFA VILLAS BAVARO RESRT & SPA again (:
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Stay elsewhere if you can afford it. See below.

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: Pools are great, specially the one by Cafe Dominicano.
Cons: The condition of the rooms, the staff service, air conditioning in most places.
Location: Go to excursions if you can afford them and stand the heat.
The hotel facilities are good for the price. The hotel's low and affordable price bring lots of low rude people. The hotel staff is also a little rude and unhelpful. My camera was stolen from my room and hotel staff, guess service, could not find it. There is not air conditioning in the restaurants. There is not hair conditioning, or toothpaste in the bathrooms. All inclusive is not totally true. International wines, beers and liquors are not included. High quality food like lobster is not included. It cost about $30 USD for a lobster meal and $50 USD for 50 minutes massage. Any excursion would go from $85 to $200. You will find air conditioning only in your room, if it is working properly. Bottom line is that if you can afford a better quality hotel, then book another hotel in order to avoid disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great for everyone!

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Like every resort it had its cons and pros. (I stayed for 5days mid June) Food: it was nearly impossible to make reservations at any of the different restaurants that they offer at the resort. We tried calling but they never answered so when we tried going to the lobby to make the reservations it was always already booked (I went around 8:30am). So for the five days we had to eat at the buffet. It was okay. Not the best and having to eat there for 5 days 3 times a day got really boring. Wifi: has a charge per device and it's pretty slow. Room comfort: I missed my bed at home during the trip! It was very rough! Other than the bed I believe the room was good. Entertainment: the resort is very big with lots of activities through out the day that are included. They also offer lots of extra off and onsite activities! I absolutely recomend parasailing! The view is breathtaking! The night life is great! Every night they have great shows that are sure to make you laugh! They also have a disco on site open late every night! Service: there were a little of everything! Polite, rude, creeps, funny, etc Overall: I recommend this resort for both those looking to have a fun time (because of there night life and music bar in the pool) and for those just looking to relax (resort has a separate quite calm pool and great spa)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Go to another resort

Posted Jul 8, 2015
We researched other resorts but when we saw this resort, the pictures were way better than our actual experience staying at this resort. -The older rooms are damp, dirty and smell like cigarettes. Bed sheets nasty! My girlfriend was willing to head back home the first night we arrived until they relocated us in the "newer" rooms -Resort/hotel check in check out or anything else is handled by one person creating a very long line. - Internet is purchased, expensive and not that strong. - Room service is just changing towels and fixing the bed. No changing soap or cleaning room. - Don't buy inclusive to include food because the three restaurants and the general buffet are not good at all. Birds where flying over the buffet area and picking up food where people actually are picking food from. - Buy your own beach towels rather than use their over used towels. - General swimming pool is overcrowded and the "adult" pool had plastic cuts floating and around the pool. I wonder if they ever clean the pools. - Had issues with AC in the begining. Overall, I would pay extra and to somewhere else clean, efficient and at least has better resources
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great food and close to beach.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Good service and transportation through out the cobblestone pathways. Beach front very fun and plenty of sunshine.
Cons: Very busy desk check in. Maybe separate check in for over sea travelers. The flight is long enough to warrant a faster check in.
Location: Very beautiful villas and plenty of food and drink. Many ways to register for ocean/ boating, Dolphin activities.
Registered to the wrong room for the 1st Day. That got fixed and we relocated to newly renovated room nice. Close to a big beach front area close to bar and food. a lot of activities to pick from. Would stay longer next time and will recommend to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Resort for the price

Posted Jun 25, 2015
The staff was friendly, food was okay, beautiful grounds, rooms need updating but comfortable. The only complaint is the excursion salesmen they let on the resort were pushy and we actually started taking longer ways around the resort to avoid them. I wouldn't go back because of that, it was that bad. But the resort itself was nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room stay

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Food and entertainment
Cons: Rooms
We were 4 people in our room and they kept only leaving 2 towels! We kept telling them to bring us some and would take hours. We kept going to the front desk and they would say we will fix it and nothing. The room was smaller and did not look anything like th pictures. Staff is very friendly and we had a good time outside of our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel travelers that are not high maintenace

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Wonderful overall experience. The staff and the service were above and beyond. This is a resort for travelers who are fairly independent and do not need every single aspect of their stay catered to their exact specifications. Also, the food is excellent. The food is not for someone expecting food to be the highlight of their experience or gourmet style expectations, they had plenty of food, plenty of variety, lots of fruits and veggies, extremely fresh. My entire family was wondering why there were so many negative reviews online, we may be a little more flexible than some of the reviewers, but we had a wonderful time and would definitely recommend to any of our friends. The only issue we had is that the beds were not actually queen beds and I think this is common when traveling in latin america and we requested extra towels and did not get them for a few days. Finally, the nightly show is the best I have ever seen at a resort, the production is very well done, professional, creative, great job!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

stay elseware if you can afford it

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: The grounds were nice, not spectacular but nice.
Cons: The food, the rooms, the cleanliness of the rooms. More English speaking staff, nicer staff. Clean up the beach. Truly renovate the rooms.
Location: Location is close to a lot of things, there was a shopping mall, activities, massages etc..
Most of the staff were rude. Nice grounds. Beach is not kept as clean as others like the one right next door. Very, very minimal English speaking staff. Rooms are not anything like what is pictured, very old outdated in the Superior rooms that were supposedly recently renovated. Food is sub-par. Their description says upgrade for a partial or full ocean view, note!!! none of their rooms have an ocean view because the beach is a ten minute walk or more depending on what area of the grounds you are staying on. Vendors are constantly harassing you as they are on the grounds when you wake up until the end of the day and on the beach as well. If you souvenir shop the prices are exorbitant. We were moved to a second room and they were teeny tiny bugs crawling around near the coffee makers in both rooms, this in itself is unacceptable!!!!! People don't spend money to stay in rooms with any type of bugs. The ala carte restaurants are also sub-par and not all of the menu items are not included in the all inclusive. You have to pay a premium. Also I ordered the lamb chops and they were nothing but fat with a sliver of meat on them, disgusting that they would present/serve that to a customer. Also the hotel caters mostly to the under 35 crowd which is why basically the rates are so cheap. there's nudity on the beach, some people assume that others want to see the chest area and baring themselves to others and/or other peoples children. If your over 40 & can afford another hotel, do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo

excellent hotel for beach hotel staff and food

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Pros: Beach, food, hotel staff, animation
Cons: They could put another little bar on the beach only to get something to drink because the bar and restaurant is on one side of the beach
Location: Swim with dolfin, visit the natural pool, every kind of sport
I have been in this hotel more times in the last 8 years and always I had an excellent stay. The hotel syaff is kind and efficient, the beach is really beautiful and so big that you can choose your beach stile: read a book in complete silence or do some sport or listen latin music and dance. The food is good and every day you can eat something different....but the best is eat italian pizza near the principal pool at Pikalo bar open 24/7. It is an hotel for every type of turist: single, family, couple. I love it