Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Nice pool and short walk to the beach

Posted May 20, 2015
My friends and I had a fun time and overall good experience. Not very family oriented - more for groups of friends who want to party. We loved the shows at night and they provide fun activities to make your vacation enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Good experience for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom u

it was ok

Posted May 19, 2015
had ants in the first room upon arrival, but was switched to a better one. older crowd and children allowed in resort also smoking allowed almost everywhere even in restaurants. pool close at 7pm.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reading Pa

Close to beach, family friendly

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: location of beach and pool
Cons: information, food, room cleaning
Location: Catalina Island was great
Family of four for a week. Food choices were mediocre. Not enough information in room in regards to hotel accommodations. Pools nice, people nice. A lot of vendors all day long trying to sell products.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new hamshire

Rude staff, harassment

Posted May 1, 2015
Staff is rude, rooms are disgusting, food is awful, impossible to get clean towels, not a private resort.. The local people bother you the entire trip, beach is far away.. Never going back
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Marietta, OH

Review nothing like hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The expedia rep Houston Salivor was the best part.
Cons: Staff attitude, less begging to buy stuff.
The online info stated that it was ocean front-NOT true. I booked a king bed and they gave me two doubles and the beds were hard as a board. Hotel staff spoke NO english at all and the cleaning lady used her key to walk right into our room. We had to dead bolt it to keep them out. Food was not good and flies were all over the food. People everywhere begging you to buy stuff. Every time you leave your room 3/4 people swam around you begging you to buy their excusions. The Expedia representitive was the only kind person we encountered. Houston Salvidor was our only person that helped us get things resolved. He was a great asset. I was very dissappointed in this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Located on a beautiful beach.

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Clean. Friendly staff. BEAUTIFUL beach. Lots of entertainment. Nice pool with swim up bar. Soccer, ping pong, volleyball, tennis and the gym were great for my son's. Lots of water sports!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Typical 3 star

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Beach was great!
Cons: Food needs more flavor and variety.
This is a 3 star resort- keep that in mind. All of the staff was very nice... except the people that clear the tables- they are serious about their jobs. one took the fork out of my husbands hand because he apparently should have been eating that item with a spoon. Check in was chaotic and rooms were not ready, had to wait for a room. The resort was full due to Spring Break. The beach is very large, sandy and smooth. We didn't know the reef was so far from the resort and that the area was super busy with boats..... snorkeling in the swimming area was disappointing. The food was OK, kind of blah, not much flavor. Caribe restaurant was TERRIBLE! Our housekeeper did a fantastic job. I would go back if I was going to the Dominican on a low budget again. For what we paid, it met our expectations.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Do not book!!!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Absolutely disgusting food! All four restaurants and the buffet no flavor at all. We complained to the manager and he had the nerve to say theres nothing he could do. I would never recommend this place to anyone!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan, U.S.A

A Nice Hotel at Bavaro Beach

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: White sandy beach front, beautiful palm trees and Decent Food Choices
Cons: Air conditioner was running too loud.
Location: Horseback Riding trip was very impressive!!
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort is a good choice for Spring Break trip. The all-inclusive options were fantastic. The buffet food was delicious as well as the four different style restaurants (reservation-only for dinner). We were upgraded to the superior hotel room (#4239) which is close to beach and more centrally located for entertainments. My family enjoyed the beach, the swimming pool at the Villas and night shows as well as variety food options provided daily. The restaurants were clean and the foods were very tasty. Caribbean (Gribe) was the best one. However, the internet connection were poor even if we paid for the service.