Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Amazing place where you feel part of the nature

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The room, cenotes, zoo, the people
Cons: More restaurant options would be nice
Location: Close to Tulum(pyramids), Playa del Carmen (night life), beautiful beaches
Gorgeous nature, the rooms are in the middle of a zoo, you can kayak and dive in a Cenote with manaties!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Esther from UK

Affordable Paradise

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: - massive swimming pool - really good cocktails - phenomenal beach down the road - beautiful animals - good to great food - lovely people
Cons: Perhaps the restaurant and rooms could be modernised, but this is no major thing at all!!
Location: Getting to Xpu-Ha beach is very easy, a short 5 minute bus ride. This beach is phenomenal. White sand and clear water - take me back!!!
This was hands down the best holiday experience we have ever had. We are a couple in are late 20's and usually go for all inclusive deals to the likes of Turkey. We wanted to head away in March this year so residing in the UK knew that we would have to go slightly further afield to get the hot beach / pool weather we desired! Literally from the moment we stepped off our transfer bus at 11pm and walked into the breathtaking reception area of Bel Air Collection, we looked at each other knowing that this was going to be a good holiday! We were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist & we had complimentary cool drinks in our hands within minutes of beginning the short check-in process. We just missed dinner so were offered complimentary room service which was a really nice touch. Bags loaded onto the golf buggy and a short drive to our room for our next look of 'this is going to be a GREAT holiday' The rooms are very spacious, a massive bed, quirky hot tub and large balcony with hammock and sunbeds. Out from our balcony we could see the tops of trees and the sound of the wildlife, bliss. The rooms have such character, and whilst parts perhaps look a little tired, the space, feel and thatched roof was like nothing we have ever experienced so we were in our element. Lying in bed at night we would look out our massive window (at the point of the roof) up into the starry sky. Truly lovely.
2 out of 5
by Ryan from Boulder, CO

Old and dilapidated

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The zoo aspect was cool but once you saw the animals once, it lost its appeal. I hope they treat them well.
Cons: It needs a massive remodel and management needs to get the staff to be more prompt and follow through, ask questions if they don't understand.
You check in at the gate and head to the check in area. We were greeted with some mimosas and talked to a friendly check in agent. Gold carts come every "10 to 15 minutes" but were more like every 45 minutes. Lots of property, but not a bad walk during the morning/evening when cooler out, but mid day in the heat without a breeze it wasn't pleasant. Broken grounds: Lots of stuff on the property is broken. Path lighting is broken and left laying there in pieces, fountain by beach is broken, speakers at pool are broken. Beach: While the resort is "on the beach", the usable one is a 5 minute shuttle away. Once you're there good luck getting back in the "30 minute" time schedule they claim. Small area of beach with low quality snacks. Medium quality sand, some reef close in, watch your feet for sea urchins. Alcohol: Want a mixed drink? You won't see any alcohol in it, just water. Beer/wine are your only choices for alcohol. Pool: Not bad, kids enjoyed their pool and the adult pool is fine. Is an old pool, don't expect glamor here. Food service: Slow! Friendly, but ask multiple times for stuff all the time. Food quality: Only the Mexican dishes were good AC: Worked in our room great, friends room not so well.
3 out of 5
by Blake from Maryland

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Didn't realize that when I purchased my trip for all inclusive it actually wasn't all inclusive and had to pay out another 1200 USD just to make sure that my spouse and I could enjoy our 10 day stay. Make sure to bring lots of bug repellent or you will be miserable the entire time. I would say that for anyone who stays here, limit your time to 3 days maximum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by hugh from san francisco

Adventure park/zoo

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not a bad place. Didn't realize it had animals like lions, monkeys and crocodiles. It was literally a zoo. Odd that the place was a bit deserted for high season. I might have been one of ten guests. That doesn't bode well. nice bungalows with hammocks though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mexilady from Memphis, TN

Beautiful place, lots to do, nice rooms, avg. food

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Animals, rooms, porches, trails, lagoon, beach (both of them), service, comfy beds, riding bikes, kayaking, snorkeling, breakfast, wine.
Cons: Having to sign for everything when you've paid for all inclusive and they have your room number. Menu should always be available for dinner.
Location: Perfectly located on Xpu Ha (where the beach club is). Close to everything, we went to Xel Ha and loved it. Close to Tulum, Playa, many cenotes, etc.
We really loved the resort. It is beautiful and there are all sorts of fun things to do, including beautiful zoo animals (they appear to be building more habitats), animal and bird shows, crystal clear cenotes, lagoon for kayking and snorkeling, beach club is great, the rooms are exactly as in the photos, awesome double jacuzzi, breakfast bar was always great, custom omelets, etc. The sushi bar was good especially if you like shrimp. The Italian/Mexican place had great food on the menu, but sometimes the waiters would say "no menu tonight" only buffet, but we found out you can have the menu anytime, so don't fall for that. We never ate lunch there, except for some nachos and hamburger at the pool. The wine is great. Great kids area and pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel was nice, front desk lacked service skills

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Kayak and snorkeling in cenote was nice. A sunset champagne by the cenote. The pool size was good.
Cons: Front desk!!!!! (you only get one chance to make a first impression) and all management. FOOD. Just the lack of options.
Location: Playa del Carmen is like 15-20 miles away, a relatively cheap taxi ride. There is much shopping, restaurant choices, even a beach. Cozumel is close.
Hotel is spread over a spacious area, allowing big rooms and balconies, as well as, a sense of privacy. However the room did smell like mold, everything had a musty smell. It was clean and there was daily maid service. Also a big size jacuzzi in the room was a nice touch. The biggest disappointment was in fact upper management staff, front desk. No sense of hospitality. (eg.: there was a mistake on our reservation-they did not try to help us fix it; my husband hurt his foot on the premises and they showed no urgency in providing with a first aid kit). The food was also very bland and very small selection. No fruit. As for the zoo on their ground and encaged animals-if you have not been to other countries, honestly you might feel heartbroken for the conditions, but if you consider yourself well traveled-it will not be surprising. We did get to see turtles mate and a manetee swam beside our kayak, so there are plus sides. Pool is big and clean but all activities close at 5pm (pool bar, towel service). It might be a good choice for families with kids (2-8yrs old). Teenagers would probably be bored out of their minds, plus there is no entrance to a white beach, very rocky. The hotel provides a shuttle (10min drive) to a beach with white sand and a little bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adrian from miami, fl

Excellent choice for a getaway

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Excellent stay (4 nights), very romantic and lots of things to do. Staff is amazingly corteous. Go for the all inclusive. It's the best deal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beach is a bus ride away

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: rooms are nice and more quiet than standard hotels
Cons: beach ,food, have some staff that can speak and understand English
Location: close to Playa de carmen and other touring trips. Can take shuttle for cheap.
beach by hotel is rock. Have to take a shuttle bus to main beach and minimal food for all inclusive available there. Food overall was maybe average and minimal variety. Same offerings every day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No help from staff

Posted Feb 18, 2014
We called the front desk the day we were leaving to confirm our return shuttle time. We asked if it was at 5. They said yes. We went about our day. Around 4 I realized it must be wrong and went to the front desk. They knew immediately why we were there. They said "oh we were talking about how you were going to miss your flight". Instead of sending a a message over their wallow talkies to tell us they decided just to wait until we missed our shuttle. They let me use the hotel phone but that was the only help they offered. Pretty much ruined my opinion of the staff. The maids who I never saw kept our room perfect. There were lions and other large wild cats in cages which was disturbing. The rest of the hotel was on beautiful grounds.