Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mexilady from Memphis, TN

Beautiful place, lots to do, nice rooms, avg. food

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Animals, rooms, porches, trails, lagoon, beach (both of them), service, comfy beds, riding bikes, kayaking, snorkeling, breakfast, wine.
Cons: Having to sign for everything when you've paid for all inclusive and they have your room number. Menu should always be available for dinner.
Location: Perfectly located on Xpu Ha (where the beach club is). Close to everything, we went to Xel Ha and loved it. Close to Tulum, Playa, many cenotes, etc.
We really loved the resort. It is beautiful and there are all sorts of fun things to do, including beautiful zoo animals (they appear to be building more habitats), animal and bird shows, crystal clear cenotes, lagoon for kayking and snorkeling, beach club is great, the rooms are exactly as in the photos, awesome double jacuzzi, breakfast bar was always great, custom omelets, etc. The sushi bar was good especially if you like shrimp. The Italian/Mexican place had great food on the menu, but sometimes the waiters would say "no menu tonight" only buffet, but we found out you can have the menu anytime, so don't fall for that. We never ate lunch there, except for some nachos and hamburger at the pool. The wine is great. Great kids area and pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel was nice, front desk lacked service skills

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Kayak and snorkeling in cenote was nice. A sunset champagne by the cenote. The pool size was good.
Cons: Front desk!!!!! (you only get one chance to make a first impression) and all management. FOOD. Just the lack of options.
Location: Playa del Carmen is like 15-20 miles away, a relatively cheap taxi ride. There is much shopping, restaurant choices, even a beach. Cozumel is close.
Hotel is spread over a spacious area, allowing big rooms and balconies, as well as, a sense of privacy. However the room did smell like mold, everything had a musty smell. It was clean and there was daily maid service. Also a big size jacuzzi in the room was a nice touch. The biggest disappointment was in fact upper management staff, front desk. No sense of hospitality. (eg.: there was a mistake on our reservation-they did not try to help us fix it; my husband hurt his foot on the premises and they showed no urgency in providing with a first aid kit). The food was also very bland and very small selection. No fruit. As for the zoo on their ground and encaged animals-if you have not been to other countries, honestly you might feel heartbroken for the conditions, but if you consider yourself well traveled-it will not be surprising. We did get to see turtles mate and a manetee swam beside our kayak, so there are plus sides. Pool is big and clean but all activities close at 5pm (pool bar, towel service). It might be a good choice for families with kids (2-8yrs old). Teenagers would probably be bored out of their minds, plus there is no entrance to a white beach, very rocky. The hotel provides a shuttle (10min drive) to a beach with white sand and a little bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adrian from miami, fl

Excellent choice for a getaway

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Excellent stay (4 nights), very romantic and lots of things to do. Staff is amazingly corteous. Go for the all inclusive. It's the best deal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beach is a bus ride away

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: rooms are nice and more quiet than standard hotels
Cons: beach ,food, have some staff that can speak and understand English
Location: close to Playa de carmen and other touring trips. Can take shuttle for cheap.
beach by hotel is rock. Have to take a shuttle bus to main beach and minimal food for all inclusive available there. Food overall was maybe average and minimal variety. Same offerings every day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No help from staff

Posted Feb 18, 2014
We called the front desk the day we were leaving to confirm our return shuttle time. We asked if it was at 5. They said yes. We went about our day. Around 4 I realized it must be wrong and went to the front desk. They knew immediately why we were there. They said "oh we were talking about how you were going to miss your flight". Instead of sending a a message over their wallow talkies to tell us they decided just to wait until we missed our shuttle. They let me use the hotel phone but that was the only help they offered. Pretty much ruined my opinion of the staff. The maids who I never saw kept our room perfect. There were lions and other large wild cats in cages which was disturbing. The rest of the hotel was on beautiful grounds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything far, Staff rude, Animals in captivity

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Do not stay here. Food has zero quality, staff is rude and aggressive. The worst is they keep animals (monkeys, coyotes, lions, pumas, panthers, etc, etc, etc) in captivity.
1 out of 5
by phil

Moldy smelly room without wifi

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Good location as a base for hunting for other hotels
Cons: Dry out the rooms and remove the mold Then fix the wifi
Location: Great location for getting to the nearby facilities
Small beach covered in rocks. Rooms located in cabins miles from reception. Long walk to the room and infrequent golf bugy transport. Rooms had a very moldy musty smell. Had to wash all clothes on arrival home due to inpregnated smell Animal park had the animals in very small enclosures. Felt very sorry for lions and pumas just walking up and down. Very hard to get hold of reception Small bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Satya from Boston, MA

Very unique resort with a zoo and great staff

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: The service was great, the golf carts take you around the hotel. Sunset Champagne was a classy touch. Kayaking, Snorkeling and the pool are clean.
Cons: Room service was slow
Location: centrally located to visit all parks and beaches
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Greta Hudak from Philadelphia

Rio Secreto Cenote was excellent

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our daughter really enjoyed the animals at the hotel. The animal show (mostly birds) was great. All the staff was friendly and helpful. The Jacuzzi tub took up a large part of the room, so that was wasted space for us. Linens and towels were a little "tired". Overall stay was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not going back

Posted Apr 2, 2013
The hotel staff is nice and friendly but the food is terrible. Especially breakfast. There are very few choices and only one place you can have it at. Pretty much it is either eggs or pancakes. The lunch menu is nice and dinner menu is okay. Lunch and dinner food is very good quality but has very few options. Alcoholic beverages have almost no alcohol in them. As to the various animals being kept there, they certainly do not live in the most ideal conditions. It is actually quite sad to look at them. The lions, the pumas, the monkeys and the wolves (or maybe they were grey foxes) have very little space to roam. They are very frustrated and they move back and forth in their cages. Same goes for the birds and for the crocodiles. They now have a lion cub and a jaguar cub. They don't really let them run around but try to convince you take pictures with them. The keepers hold them in their hands all the time and the poor things get tired from being exploited. This seemed like animal abuse to me. The music from the night entertainment is very loud and if you are staying by the Lobby Bar, you might get annoyed since this is happening every night. Again the music is blasting and the animal spaces are right next to the Lobby Bar. I can't imagine them being comfortable there.