Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Wonderful weekend getaway!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Food was good, rooms were so cute!
Everything was perfect! Complimentary breakfast, hammock on rooms patio, cabanas on the beach, the drinks, the service! You could really come here and never leave the hotel! We rented bikes and went down the road to have dinner one night, which felt safe. All and all a perfect weekend away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Small, Close, and Charming

Posted May 19, 2014
Arrived late at night along the beach road, which was an adventure. Being unfamiliar with the area, it was dark, busy and scary. Arrived at an open air reception area, and walked across sand to the cabana style room. Mid May, high 70s temp, no AC. But, comfortable with a strong breeze. Dead tired from traveling, OMG; what have we booked? But with the dawn, we were in a tropical paradise. Right on the beach, lush and green, clean and well maintained, pleasant and inviting staff, good food. Restaurant always open with lounge areas. By the 2nd day we were ready to venture forth. Taxi's up&down the road constantly. By 3rd day we felt comfortable walking the road & going to town. The Tutum Ruins were very interesting, and we took the Public Bus to see the Coba Ruins. We don't speak Spanish, and had no problems either at the hotel or in town. By the end of the week, we were ready to come back. But, beware the Time-share Hustle at the Airport, and be sure to leave coins for Von the hotel cat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nici from Texas

Modern and beautiful Cabanas

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Free breakfast, free wifi, the beach, the staff, the location, the hotel grounds
Cons: AC or having a beach-facing room with a breeze; happy hour
Location: Several restaurants within a 10 minute walk. Indian restaurant, taco place, hotel restaurants, pizza place.
The cabanas are pretty and the beach is beautiful. I think we must have been in the "cheap" room because we didn't get a patio/balcony room. Most of the rooms had patios with hammocks or patio furniture, but ours did not. The hotel doesn't have AC, which is probably fine if you're facing the beach, but our room faced the road, which made it loud and warm. We had to keep the windows and curtains open to cool it off, but that meant waking up with the first light of dawn and the jungle birds making lots of noise. The service was great. Very nice hotel staff. The beach was everything you could want. Breakfast was included with the room. Fresh juice everyday - orange or watermelon. The restaurant faces the beach. The hotel is a little bit further down the road, so it isn't as close to some of the other hotels and restaurants, but there are still some in an easy walking distance. They have a gated parking area and 24 hr security. Free wifi. No TV. Really, you probably won't spend much time in your room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jr from Berlin

WOW!!!

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Add a TV.
Location: The Hotel is right on the beach really Cool.
It was Amazing stay a night or or two its pricey but worth it all the way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Delightful beachside cabana

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach
Cons: Would be nice to have AC
Location: Sian Kaan park, cenotes, Tulum ruins
We stayed 3 nights at Hip Hotel in April and it was wonderful. This was our 3rd trip to Tulum and have stayed at Cabanas Tulum and Cabanas La Luna previously. All are very similar, but to me the staff at Hip Hotel really shined. Everyone was very friendly and provided a high level of service. Be aware if you are going to Tulum, this is not a "resort" area. The hotels are small, few have AC, and the rooms are simple. But if you want to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean, Hip Hotel can't be beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A true tropical organic house: your choice

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Cons: Please fix mosquitos problem. We stayed two nights at Playa de Carmen, no problem.
Location: Maya ruins and Akumal beach snorkling are the best.
The hotel is on a vice beautiful street "Boca Paila", "km 8" (aka 8km) is the street number for the hotel. It is about 15 minute drive from the beginning of the street. The hotel is right next to the beach, nice ocean view. So close to the beach you will hear ocean wave all night long. The hotel room is with Palm tree leaf. Most of material is organic including soap and shampoo. Everything is perfect except sleep. We had major problem with Mosquitos. We had two or three in the room, oh my. There is no AC in room except a ceiling fan. Hotel staffs are very friendly. The breakfast is included it is in a picture perfect ocean view restaurant. In short, Look excellent and live/use so so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Craig P

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great facility was welcoming,as were the staff

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Everyone was helpful, welcoming, and the breakfast was delicious
3 out of 5
by Jeremy from Boulder, CO

Mostly nice with one huge issue.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Great view, rooms are typical for Mexico - good enough, but not especially "nice". The staff was very helpful and nice.
Cons: See above!
Location: Location is good, close to lots of restaurants, great beach.
Beware that this hotel books wedding parties that go until 11 or 12 pm. Depending on how close your room is to the restaurant area (which is in the center of the place) you will not be able to do anything in your room except listen to pounding bass. We were severely disappointed to arrive to this situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hip hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Peaceful, well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. If you have a car, there is secured parking on property behind a closed gate. Bike rentals available on premise. All units face the water which is great for the wonderful ocean breeze through your room. Not all units have ocean view, but landscaping is well done and kept - and when you step off your porch, you are on the sand. Would return to Hip Hotel.