Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom omaha, ne

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2015
We went at the end of April and were concerned about the no air conditioning, but our ocean side room had a cool breeze all day and was very comfortable. The restaurant was nice and reasonably priced. The beach had large waves, but was fun for swimming. Our room had screens on all the windows and we had no issues with bugs in the room. We had electricity with several normal outlets for charging cell phones. Lovely stay and very relaxing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Lovely hotel in a great spot

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, decor
Our stay at Hip Hotel was great while we were in Tulum for a wedding. Our room was oceanfront and was huge compared to the rooms our friends had in other hotels. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It was oceanfront so we woke up to a fabulous view every day. No a/c is needed as the breeze at night was great and the room was meant to have all the windows/doors open to let it in. There was a variety of beach furniture including cabanas, lounge chairs with hut shade, couches, tables and chairs, etc. The restaurant was great and the staff was lovely and accommodating. The hotel is in a better part of "the strip" in my opinion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Great Visit

Posted Mar 25, 2015
The place was great. Had an inviting warmth through the staff and amenities. Don't expect a hammock just because it's in the pictures. I'd go back in a second.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom south wales

Small comfortable hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: It's location right on the beach, the fact that it was a small quiet hotel
Cons: The bar area and restaurant lacked atmosphere we found it ok for breakfast but preferred to eat out
Location: The hotel is in a good location with its own private part of a shared beach. There are many organised trips available but would recommend hiring a car
My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at the Hip Hotel Tulum which was lovely. The room was very clean and spacious and looked out on to the beach. Breakfast was included and set you up for the day,was much more than the continental breakfast I was expecting. staff were very friendly and helpful. Internet access is limited to use in the reception area and dining room which can get quite busy. There are a lot of restaurants and bars within easy walking access and many more if you are willing to drive. If you like small intimate quiet hotels then you will love the Hip Hotel. We would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Beautiful Views right on the Beach

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Great Location, Excellent Staff. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating to all needs.
Cons: They only give you one bottle of water per day, which is just not enough for 2 people staying when you are trying to avoid the local water.
Location: There are plenty of food/bar options (cheap to expensive sit down places) that are walkable from the hotel. Cabs are less than 100 pesos to get around
Spent 4 nights here at Hip Hotel in the Superior King - Ocean View Room #14. The hotel sits on an amazing part of the beach. There is no A/C in the rooms, but if you have an Ocean View Room, there is a breeze that comes off the water at night that keeps you cool enough for sleeping. It was gorgeous to wake up to the sunrise each morning, and to be able to see the sky change from dark red to morning light in view of the water. Having no cell service, no tv's, and spotty wifi was just the exact type of vacation i was looking for. Plan for an amazingly relaxing vacation if staying at Hip Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vegas

Tulum Wedding

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was pretty good and included with the cost of the stay. Nice beach chairs/recliners. Great front desk folks.
Cons: The always present sanitary smell somewhere in the garden area as we went to & from our room.
Location: The town itself is small enough to walk to most things. Must try: Casa Banana and even if you kinda like seafood, try 'Simple'. You'll Love It!!
Although the staff at the Hip Hotel are truly very nice, especially front desk-Cinthia, Durcell and Maria, what you pay for and expect, is not always what you're going to get. I paid for a 'superior' room, which according to their website would've included a deck, hammock and some kind of a view. What I got instead was upstairs unit with none of the above, and a view of street/construction. I said something right away but the answer I got was, they were completely full, and that since the hotel had not yet been paid by expedia, they couldn't do anything for me. Not a good way to start. Also: Have plenty of Pesos in smaller bills with you. You CAN use U.S. dollars, but that comes with it's own constant issues. Some events and restaurants are cash only. LOTS of ATM's, but didn't use so don't know the charge/risk. Local food is above average, but always comes at U.S. prices. If you want to experience the 'cenotes' dive, (recommended) skip the one called Tercer Cielo. You'll pay $250P and not want to get in the water. Take mosquito spray and ointment. You'll be glad you did.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Beach was fantastic, facilities so-so

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Location was good.
Cons: Better lighting, better food, more choices in juices.
Location: Location as said was good and other places , e,g, hotels, restaurants, easy to get to by foot, bicycle, auto or taxi.
We were only there 3 1/2 days and our room was so-so, towels were very good, water pressure was excellent, lighting poor (as it usually is in Mexico). Overall a rather ordinary hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carlfrom New York

Hip Hotel was outstanding in a awesome Tulum

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
People at the hotel were very friendly and accommodated every request with no hesitation. Setting on beach was amazing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by erinfrom NYC

Not so hip hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Had a fine stay at the Hip Hotel. The rooms are pretty simple and there is definite room for improvement, especially with the prices they charge. The bed linens, towels, and lighting are all subpar. Simple upgrades could make the experience that much better. The restaurant also needs improvement as I felt quite ill after my lunch there. Overall it was a fine stay as it was very central to all the other great locations and the beach, but for the price, there are definitely better hotels on the strip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elisabethfrom Mölndal

födelsedagsresa

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
efter 8 dgr på playa Carmen va det skönt att komma till stillhet, lugn i Tulum allt till belåtenhet med hotellet kunde dock sakna ett kylskåp/fack i rummen