Ratings based on 177 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom tel aviv israel

Perfect location, large and very clean room,

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The location was perfect. Next to the pantheon. Around there is plenty of stylish shops, cafe etc. the room was quit large and very clean. The staff was amazing and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good location

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Nice hotel good location Needs tea and coffe in room
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

3 star experience for a 5 star price tag

Posted Oct 20, 2014
What a disappointment! This is a 3 star hotel experience - I don't know why it has a 5 star rating ! The rooms were dorm like and pedestrian certainly nothing luxurious about them. The mattress was perhaps cheapest and most uncomfortable we have ever slept or should I saw unable to get a decent sleep in Italy. The only saving grace is its location close to the Pantheon and the roof top terrace for a cocktail. Defiantely won't return or recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, close to everything

Posted Oct 16, 2014
This is a hotel "with a history", however all the hotels in the tourist center of Rome have history ;) It is within a close walking distance to all the main tourist attractions (including the Vatican City). Lots of restaurants and caffes all around, many of them even don't close for "siesta", but mind that these types of restaurants in most cases are more touristic and not that delicious as the "traditional" ones. We stayed there for 4 nights with a 9months old baby in the mid of October. So, our experience showed that in this time of year it is really COLD in the room (outdoors the temperature was about +25-30C, while in room about 18C), aircondition didn't help as it was blowing only cool air; though as far as we know this is a problem of almost all the hotels in Rome in non-summer season. Deluxe room was really big, had a huge bed, spacy sitting area and descent bathroom. The hotel is 'tired': worn towels, bathrobes... but everything is clean. Breakfasts are pretty poor for the price of 32€ per person, there are lots of other nicier options in the neighbor area. Wifi is free but poor and it was almost impossible to video-skype (this also applies to the majority of places in Rome). There is a taxi station just at the hotels' entrance, so to catch a cab is not a problem. In overall we would recommend this hotel to our friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canberra

Posh hotel - well located right next to Pantheon

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Room was great.
Location: Right next to Pantheon
Check in was very efficient and speedy. Very nice room. Didn't try the breakfast as it was very expensive and not included in the rate. Nor the wifi as you had to pay for it. Put the bags in the storage room as we had a late flight, and went sight-seeing. When we left for the airport we just wanted to collect our bags and order a taxi ourselves - the taxi rank was just outside - but porter/concierge insisted they organize taxi even though we said we weren't ready, which meant we were rushed getting stuff out of our bags/going to toilet etc and the taxi driver was kept waiting. Hotel was very nice but expensive. Would be ideal for business travelers on an expense account but not so good value for money for holiday-makers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New York, N.Y.

Great location, not 5-star quality

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location, generally helpful staff
Cons: Should have a real lobby bar, and complimentary morning coffee should be put out for guests in one of the many lobby-level meeting rooms.
Location: Right near Pantheon and walking distance everywhere
Stayed for 5 nights. In the center of everything, and walking distance to everything you would want to see. Not a huge problem, but room furnishings could use updating to warrant five stars. Also, while the lobby is lovely, the lobby bar was open only until 6 p.m., and the much-promoted a Rooftop Bar had private parties going on both times that I attempted to go there. I would rate it 4 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom lincoln UK

Great hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Everything it was clean a a real experience we even managed to get a room with a balcony which was a lovely added bonus too can not recommend enough
Cons: not alot, all staff except one were brilliant, sat in the wrong seats (and was very rude about it but we complained and the hotel dealt with well
Location: perfect location next to the pantheon and other attractions in walking distance
From the impressive lobby, right to the moment entering the room for the first time everything was a wow moment, the room exceeded expectations and started the trip well seeing my girlfriend so happy with the room, then when we realised we had the balcony room too that was a proper added bonus! while the room wasn't ready (as we were slightly early) we went to the roof top to have a meal which was amazing too (the only disappointment was the restaurant on roof was closed on the sunday evening) The staff more than accommodating. A real experience from start to finish thats the proper way to see rome too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was walking distance

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The rooms and service are top notch. Great starting point for the day.
Cons: The restaurant. The rooftop view is nice but the food is subpar.
Location: The hotel is centrally located. You can literally walk in any direction to start exploring.
The Minerve is centrally located and made walking around Rome very easy. The rooms are nice and spacious. They have a fitness center. I'd avoid the rooftop restaurant. However, there are several great options for breakfast and dinner close by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

State of Neglect

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Location is great
Cons: A total make over is required
This hotel is not what it used to be and is certainly NOT a five star! The hallways have old and dirty carpets, walls are full of ware and tear marks, the staff is only so so...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, TX

My night at the Grand Hotel De La Minerve.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: I loved the location and the staff.
Cons: Maybe the beds.. my back is weak and I like a great bed.
Location: The Patheon and the Lago Argentina are super duper close.. the hotel is very centrally located.
It was great.. I was there only for a night since my family arrived the next day and had already reserved an apartment else where.. but, I will only stay there in the future. It was a great location with great views. I loved being so close to the Patheon but yet not able to hear the noise. The staff was delightful! I arrived early in the morning an they were able to give me early check in at like 10 instead of 3 and I was able to do a late check out at 2 instead of 12.. that was fantastic. The breakfast was delicious as well.. all really good!