Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by noel b from Los Angeles

Good hotel and location, great price.

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant, the rooms were very spacious (the biggest we had in Europe), and the building is kinda cool because its built in 1507. Breakfast was included and was better than the breakfasts we'd paid for at other places. My only complaint was that the hot water was very difficult to use. In the sink and more importantly, the shower/tub, it was VERY difficult to get hot water. Cold water, and barely warm water would come out, but even when we had someone come to the room and "fix" it, it still wouldnt turn hot when we showered 20 minutes earlier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by karen from Blue Mountains Australia

Heritage building in ancient Rome

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: central location
Cons: breakfast laid out in same room as dining. Better tea making facilities in room
Location: Close to Vatican and river walks. Many other sites near by.
central ancient Rome and close to Vatican. quite close to good shopping and red bus (hop on Hop off) route. Older property but lots of Character.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2014
It was a pleasant experience and very quiet.
2 out of 5
by CÖY from İZMİR TURKEY

PINK PLASTIC TRAYS

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: Location,all touristic attractions within at most half an hour's walk,we didn't need any kind of transportation during our 4 days.
Cons: Hangers for trousers,some tv channels in English,cold tea & coffoe & omelet for breakfast,not having a breakfast table
Location: Great
On a tiny street full of parked cars and motorcyles,a bar next door makes noise during late hours.Just 7 rooms and saw 4 workers during our 3 days accomadation,Problem of the safe was solved by the receptionist,TV has hundreds of channels but not CNN or BBC or Euronews,we tried to translate Italian teletexts.The cupboard didn't contain hangers for trousers,the bathtube didn't have a water seperator.Breakfast served to room as there wasn't a room in this tiny hotel,while expecting 4 star quality we had pink plastic trays with tepid bread and tea and coffoe and omelet,thanks to wife carrying lots of teabags for the room's hotpot.I had to remember my dormatory days and put our suitcases on other's top to have a breakfast table.Not for this price.......
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Do not believe the 4 star rating.

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
As I sit here on the 3rd day of my stay, a repairman's ladder sit's in the middle of my room for the second time, while he works in the attic. I am not sure what he was doing yesterday. Today he is trying to get hot water to my room. It is after 7:00PM and I have not been able to shower today. Although wifi was represented it has not worked during our stay. The attendant first stated it was due to the rain. It has been dry today but still no wifi. Seeing this hotel rated 4 stars leaves me feeling misled. I will definitely not stay here in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but improvement required...

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: Location I think was the only thing giving favour to this hotel as well as the size of the hotel room.
Cons: Water pressure as well as water temperature, and bed mattresses. Offering a choice for breakfast instead of wasting food.
Location: Location is perfect if you want to be close to Vatican City. Everything else is within walking distance - quite a redeeming feature.
The hotel gives a medieval feel about it. The first day we got there we failed to have hot water. We were informed at the time that it was a problem in the street which clearly wasn't true as just the night before I had resorted to having a shower in the staff bathroom. Half an hour the next morning of arguing about checking out (after being charged upfront when we first got there), we were moved to another room where there was lukewarm water, but unfortunately horrible pressure to the point you had to shower for half an hour trying to get clean. The buffet breakfast consisted of two trays of food delivered to your room with everything on them, instead of offering exactly what we wanted...this forced us to leave a lot of food on the trays which is a waste and under ordinary circumstances you wouldn't put what you didn't want on your plate at a "traditional" buffet breakfast. The location was good, and the space of the room we stayed in the only couple of redeeming factors....
3 out of 5
by Bob from SF, Calif / Paris, France

I want to love this hotel. But I don't.

Posted Sep 28, 2013
Pros: In the 'heart' of the historic center. A short walk to Navonna, Pantheon, Fiore.
Cons: Water pressure, lighting, addition of a table for breakfast, English language TV stations.
Location: A short walk to Navonna, Pantheon, Fiore. A shorter walk brings you to the River Tiber.
Here is a once proud building, located a short walk from Piazza Navona and The Pantheon. There is an element of grandness to the hotel; its furnishings, the circular stairway, the 'open' elevator. A short block or two and you are at the River Tiber. There is, however, a need to restore the building's non-aethetics. There is NO water pressure (and yes, the hotel management is aware of this; 'The building is old'). A shower is impossible. To fill the bathtub; a good twenty minutes. The rooms are dark. There are many light-fixtures but none strong enough to illuminate the surroundings. The bed is large but uncomfortable; a back-ache each morning. Breakfast is superb; a literal buffet BROUGHT TO YOUR ROOM. Eggs, cereal, croissants, juice, coffee, pastries. But in the room there is NO TABLE. Instead a dresser-top with only one knee-hole. The second diner, most uncomfortable. The TV provides 500 stations; but NOT ONE in English. Though the hotel faces away from busy Via Emmanuel, the sound of buses and trucks is continuous; in fact through the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alan from Virginia, USA

Great Location for Everything!

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The hotel is intimate and stylish with a delightful old-world aesthetic. The employees are responsive and helpful.
Cons: The only suggestion I would make is to have a larger supply of ice on hand. Aside from that small matter everything was great!
Location: We felt secure and safe in the area (except for the unavoidable pickpockets on the buses - guard your wallets) and close to all key attractions.
You must remember this is NOT an American style hotel. Once you understand that you will find it charming and ideally suited to your needs for a great location in Rome. For example, you are a short walk to the Vatican and the main bus line that connects to the most desirable tourist attractions. Unrelated to the hotel - be careful on the 64 buses for pickpockets! That aside, we found the staff to be wonderful and warm providing you are respectful and polite. We witnessed some rude fellow-Americans staying in the hotel who were unnecessarily abrupt and demanding. Simply put, just be considerate and the staff will delight in providing you with a wonderful stay. One cultural difference is that the rooms are dark with the shutters drawn during the day to keep the rooms cool. Once you understand the reasoning behind this you can appreciate this Italian practice. Remember, you didn't journey to have a room in Los Angeles or Boston...as they say...when in Rome...one should do as the Romans do! Each morning we were provided with a lovely breakfast that kept us filled for most of the day. Moreover, we grabbed some oranges and apples from the daily replenished fruit-bowl to snack on during our touring adventures! My wife and I would be delighted to stay at the hotel again. We had a beautiful marble bathroom and the air-conditioned room was sufficiently cool. One word of caution for almost any European hotel. Bring a portable smoke detector for your room! We loved this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Quentin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Good location in the charming, historic, un-touristy residential quarter of Rome. Old fashioned but particularly nice staff, and good value. Water pressure poor, bathroom dark but room like a fridge - not to be underestimated in a Roman summer.