Ratings based on 1,216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Good location.. Liked it

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: i
Cons: you
Location: me
Location was awesome. Right in the flight path of the landing planes. Didn't really bother me.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom phoenix

Great location but run down condition

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The ac unit was oddly stuck into the wall above the door and made a terrible noise and a very loud clanking when it turned on and off. The staff rolled garbage carts past the window at odd hours and woke me . It may have just been my room but sleep was very hard to get in all the noise. The location is wonderful for walking to everything you want to do.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Employees

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Didn't like one employee at all snobby and rude the night employee when I was there was very nice not the morning one
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Quite far from downtown but overall are great. Nice breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Phoenix

Close to the Balboa Park and Harbor

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: The courtyard was gorgeous and the location was close to the park and harbor.
Cons: The beds were old. There was only a desk with one chair besides the entertainment center/dresser so it was hard to eat in the room.
Location: Balboa Park was blocks away with museums and gardens & we saw the Raphael painting at the free art museum. The harbor was also about 1 mile away.
Our room and the Hotel grounds were immaculate not a speck of dirt anywhere. The laundry room and little workout room were clean and all very Nice. They even had Multiple vending Machines with everything from soda snacks, burritos to laundry soap. The courtyard was truly beautiful. The fountain was so peaceful and the garden was pretty. Nice view from the upstairs west side. The staff was great,cheerful and very helpful and just Super nice. We are literally 3 blocks from Balboa Park . But....The high speed internet was nonexistent unless you sat in the lobby. The neighborhood was not so great there was no parking whatsoever unless you paid for it at a park n pay lot across the street for $12.00 a day . Bums and burnouts were everywhere and the constant panhandling got real old real fast. We were right in the flight path of the airport so the planes were over head round the clock. We did not go to San Diego to spend time much in our room. The Hotel was clean comfortable and close to downtown and very affordable for the location. I would definitely go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Waltham, MA

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: The hotel is in a great location. Everything that we wanted to do was within a 30 minute walk or drive. They also offer a free breakfast.
Cons: It didn't seem like the maids were thorough. I didn't complain, but there was hair in the shower, makeup on the pillows, weird stains, etc.
Location: 20-25 minutes walking distance to Balboa Park and the Zoo. La Jolla about 30 minutes away. 15 or so minutes to Gaslamp.
The hotel is in a great location, and if you book at the right time, you absolutely can't beat the price. I paid $36 per night in March, so it is definitely worth overlooking the negatives (unfriendly front desk staff, odd assortment of guests, questionable levels of cleanliness) when you are in that price range. If you aren't able to get that kind of deal, it might be worth exploring other options. After reading other reviews, I was nervous about the parking situation, but we were able to find free on street parking each night. They also offer breakfast, which consisted of bagels, english muffins, PopTarts, yogurt, muffins, fruit, coffee, and juice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Las Vegas, NV

Small, but nice. Great location.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: I really liked the location. Its only a few blocks from the gaslamp district :)
Cons: The amenities could be better, and the rooms could be a bit biggger. The heater took up most of my side of the bed. I had to squeeze past it.
Location: Location is great! I had no idea how close it was to the Gaslamp district. It was only about a 15-20 minute walk. And Balboa park is really close too.
The room was small, but comfortable for two. It was only me and my boyfriend, so we didn't need a big space. It was our first time to San Diego, and i really lucked out finding this hotel because it was super close to the gaslamp district and Balboa Park.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Basic hotel, cheap rates, needs upgrades

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: I liked the price and closeness to balboa park (walking distance). It also has a very nice commons area in the center and complimentary toiletries
Cons: Update rooms with better beds, cleaner carpets,
Location: To Balboa park and a corner liquor store.
The staff was hit and miss, some were friendly and others didn't even acknowledge you. The room we had was ok but very basic. The "continental breakfast" was bagels, yogurt, and muffins. The area seems nice during the day but don't go walking out at night unless you carry some pepper spray. It served its purpose but the advertisement was very misleading as the rooms were much more outdated than what one is lead to believe. One thing that really bothered me was the bed. I felt like I was sleeping on a mattress that was 30 years old. It was hard, noisy, and worn out with springs poking through. We asked if we could be moved to another room and we were told they were booked and had no where to move us. I will not return to this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
The service it wasn't that great the people it wasn't that good
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible. Not worth it!

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Nothing
My stay here was interesting. The staff is not professional. Will never stay here again. Use to stay here a lot. But will never again no more. Cleanliness wise it is okay. Need to update rooms and maintain them. My last experience here was the worst experience any human being could have experienced due to a rude bimbo receptionist that did not know right from left. Not even worth getting a refund I will just forget about this place. An on top of it they never refunded my 25.00 deposit that they were "suppose" to.