Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

What a disappointment

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Room was HOT air conditioning barely worked and only came out of small opening on bottom no air from top of unit. They did bring a fan which helped a little.Queen bed felt lumpy TV was on the left so you had to lay on right side to watch.No soap in room had to go to desk to ask for some.When checking in my wife and I felt the receptionist was bothered by having to answer questions. Only thing good was the rate we paid compared to others in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1 night in La Jolla

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: They provided us with beach towels and beach chairs. We love La Jolla and we enjoyed a spontaneous overnight in their cozy rooms.
Cons: It would be great if they made use of the upper deck with a happy hour, or wine and cheese or even a breakfast snack or anything.
Location: perfect corner location, ocean views, and city walking, shopping, and restaurants
I stayed here for one day and one night with my husband. We spent the afternoon on the sand, and in the ocean. We enjoyed the view from the rooftop deck. We also enjoyed our own small private balcony. It was a small room but very comfortable!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location wonderful but staff not great

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location is really great. You're really close to the beach and a lot of restaurants.
Cons: Staff friendliness -- this is, after all, the hospitality industry.
When I checked in, the woman who checked me in couldn't have been less friendly. She didn't give me any information about the room, services, or amenities of the hotel. The room was a little bit small but that was sort of expected when I saw the rooms being described as "European style". The bed wasn't comfortable at all but I felt like I had everything else that I needed. What really bothered me was the continental breakfast. In the hotel's handbook, it says that free breakfast is provided either on the sundeck or brought up to your room. I was incredibly excited about this and called down to the front desk my first morning. I was put on hold for 20 minutes and forced to listen to an advertisement for the hotel that specifically noted how great their breakfast was and how you could also get a complimentary newspaper. By the time I actually spoke to someone, the same unfriendly woman informed me that they don't do that anymore. I asked why that information was still in the handbook AND in the hold ad and she just said "Well, it's new. Don't know what to tell you." Additionally, on our last night, some drunk guy was banging on the gate at 1:00 AM screaming at the top of his lungs to get into the hotel. Not really the hotels fault but it wasn't taken care of for at least 45 minutes. On the whole, it doesn't take much for me to be okay with a hotel. This place had potential but I was really put off by the unfriendly nature of the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Marcos CA

Appealing on the outside-not on the inside

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Too much to mention here.
Location: Good location in the heart of La Jolla, lots of restaurants, shops and the beautiful ocean.
We purchased a room with a view. The sliding window had a nice view of the ocean, but during our stay it was hot and the sun hit that side of the hotel all afternoon. Much too hot to open and enjoy. The balcony was also way too small and they crammed two chairs and a small table on it with the seats facing the room. Totally cramped and no way to see the ocean the way it was set up. The worst part though was the room. We knew we were getting a queen bed, but the bed sagged on my side and I felt like I was going to roll off during the night. The pillows were awful, we should have brought our own. Also, the wall air conditioner was noisy, so we turned it off during the night and opened the sliding door. There were two other air conditioners above our door outside that were doubly noisy. We hardly got any sleep that night. Fortunately, we only were there one night. This hotel is in a good spot, close to the ocean and town, but the rooms all face the street where it was noisy late into the night and early the next morning(6:30 AM or so). Believe me, I was awake for all of it. We also felt that the price for the room was too much for what we got, but being in the center of La Jolla they can charge pretty much what they want. Needless to say, we will not be going back there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Not horrible but definitely not worth the money

Posted Aug 21, 2014
I booked this somewhat last minute and thought I had looked at the reviews but apparently had not. I stayed here one night, and then had reservations for less than half the price at a much better hotel near Little Italy. The remote for the AC unit hanging on the wall didn't work until I turned the batteries around and it spilled dried battery acid dust on me. Then I noticed that the door opening to the adjacent room would not latch properly, so all the neighbor would need to do to break in was open their side. In the morning, the front desk told methey dodon't have breakfast but they used to, even though the description said they had a continental breakfast. I got locked out of the room and they did not request ID to get back in, another security issue. All that said, the place was cozy and they came through with the promice of an "ocean view" room, with a balcony, though it wasn't the greatest view. The hotel staff was also courteous. I would heed the warnings of reviews and would not recommend it, although I did not experience many of the issues others did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy bed, really clean room!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
The bed was super comfy, the view was beautiful & the rooftop was spectacular. It was the perfect place for our special weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sophia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by sh from santa cruz

hotel claimed they did not get reservation

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
we arrived at 11:30 PM and they did not have our reservation or a room for us.the receptionist told us at 11:50 that she was going to close the lobby... not we were on the phone with hotels.com....trying to make other arrangements...not happy... hotels.com found us alternate lodging just blocks away and also gave us a partial credit...we were happy with the way they handled it...
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Location Is Everythiing

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Amenities are quite limited. No on site parking is a real shortcoming; guests must either park on the street or drive to a garage two blocks away. Noise from singer at restaurant just outside our window. Room was clean. I would chose this hotel again only if I could get a good price compared to the surrounding places.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach. That's the only positive.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: We had a nice view of the ocean from room 22.
Cons: Total renovation. Parking garage was 3 blocks away and cost $8/day.
Location: Close to everything in the Village. No need to use your car.
Old, tired hotel. Street noise at night, trash pickup and delivery truck noise early every morning. Air conditioning was broken and never fixed. Rooms are very small. The negative reviews are all accurate.