Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this place

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Tiny room. Bars on window. Noisy street with ongoing construction.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the place for everyone

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The roof deck and the view.
Cons: The whole inn and the staff.
Location: Near the water. Walking distance from food, entertainment, and the cove.
We wanted a little comfort near the water, but what we got was not what we hoped for. When we arrived to the inn we were not able to park in the front to check in due to a delivery truck in the only not red part of the curb on the main street. We ended up having to cart our luggage from the parking garage that was a few blocks away to the room. The hotel staff is hit and miss depending on the time of day and we learned very quickly that there is no management on location to handle any issues. The staff has to email them and wait for a response to which we never heard back from. There is no elevator in the inn for those of you that have a lot of luggage, elderly, or have knee issues and you have to walk down to the first floor to the outside set of stairs to access the stairs to the roof deck. The first room that we were in did not have a working AC and there were no screens on the windows. The bed was nothing more than a basic spring mattress that did not support and left us sore the next day. The rooms are small with small closets. The bathrooms are the only thing that are somewhat updated and somehow they forgot to update the toilet to a normal size one. On the third floor is the two suites and the roof deck. Which we feel is the best and only good feature to this inn. We spent the nights up on the deck watching the sun set over the ocean with a bottle of wine. If you are looking for a basic room near the water with a good view, then this might be the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom OC Baby!

Location, location, location!

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Location...
Cons: Newer mattresses won't hurt!
Location: Close to shops and restaurants.
A charming property close to the beach. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and maintained adequately. Free Wi-Fi and works most of the time. Very close to shops, restaurants and cultural venues. You are walking distance to a lot of places. Two things to think about when booking however: 1) The hotel parking is two (2) away and number 2) The noise level is not the optimum if you require rest or sleep! Parties lasts til about 1:30am on weekdays.Counter productive if you are working. However... overall, this is a place with personality and attitude that if you have even a slight sense of humor and adventure: This will be a favorite and it's not overpriced!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ca

None

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Everything
Location: Niland
Terrible if you want to do the review for go ahead
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Good location.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
No parking at the hotel.Small rooms and not upgraded.Same for hallways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California desert

Quick overnighter worked out well

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Location: Shopping, La Jolla Cove, restaurants.
Nice, older Euro style hotel with smaller rooms ideally situated in middle of La Jolla village.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LA, California

Terrible Hotel in an Excellent Location

Posted Feb 21, 2015
The only good thing about this hotel is the location. You are not going to use your car. Everywhere is accessible by foot. The hotel room is terrible; extremely small, not clean, the furniture and the artificial plants had dust on them, the carpet is worn out and had stains, the bathroom is remodeled though but with minimum effort. If you are planning to spend your day on the beach and enjoy the beautiful La Jolla and go to the hotel only to sleep. So it's ok to stay there. But if you want to relax in a hotel room, this is not for you. Forgot to mention that the price is really affordable. Only $100 / night.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Man in a boat, ca

Just ok

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Was in #8. It was not the worst ever, but very dated and had worn out and stained carpet. The room smelled funky, like mildew mixed with pee. Kept the windows open.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Bad Customer Service

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Rooms were cleaned and it had a roof top.
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE. STAFF quality.
Location: Amazing location and tons of restaurants around. ALso the seals right on the beach was a mind blowing experiece!
we visited the office 3 different times and each time we received "moody/bad attitude" customer service. We figured "ok maybe it was just that one person's bad day...But ALL employees are having a bad day? whats the deal with this place!?" One of the ladies even lied to us....we asked "You know of any places where we can rent bikes?" she replied, "No sir. No where around here. Closest place is about 3-4 miles away. and is probably closed because is a holiday (Presidents day). sorry" After doing some research and asking other people on the street, we found about 3 places within a 1-2 miles away from our room. and then we thought "if you dont know the answer to our question, why dont you just be honest and say I DONT KNOW BUT LET ME TRY AND FIND OUT OR DIRECT YOU TO SOMEONE THAT COULD HAVE AN ANSWER". Is good customer service truly that challenging to accomplish? Specially when this is the only way youll keep your business moving forward? COme on guys, manage your business right or hire new people to represent the company.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom davis

great location

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: location , nice people
Cons: no more breakfast or food or snacks.
Location: beach is one block. all the prospect st. shopping and dining is out your door.
great location, nice staff. lowest price in la jolla