Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Disgusting hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Not only were the carpets and bedding stained, there was no air conditioning and the room had a foul smell of mildew and urine. The shower did not drain and the hotel had the nerve to charge $10 for a Bic razor. I cannot believe this "inn" is even listed as an Expedia partner and the worst part is that the lowest rate was $250!! I want my money back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Do not recommend

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: It was centrally located and near the water.
Cons: Everything could be improved. Update the facility. Front desk should be open all night for late or early early morning check in, for starters.
Location: The location is the best thing about this hotel.
The accommodations are very very outdated. The rooms are very very small. There is mention on the website about spending a million dollars for renovations. Could not tell where that money was spent. The decor was from the 60s, and it smelled like an old unkept house. The carpet seemed just as old. Beds were uncomfortable and squeaked at every move. White towel had either a stain on one of them or it was dirt -- didn't use the dirty one. Housekeeping didn't change our sheets and sloppily just pulled the top blankets back over the sheets without smoothing out the bumps or making the top quilt lay where the bottom hem was even. Housecleaning also left a plastic bucket on our table -- could've been a cleaning bucket, but looked like a sand bucket that didn't belong to us. Could hear the creaky floor above us with every step. The library leather couch was old with rips in it. Overpriced for the accommodations -- even at a discount. 3.5 star rating is absurd. It was worse than a Motel6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Pleasant Small Hotel With View of Ocean

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Its small size & warm and homey appeal. High & low loft sleeping pillows available and no air freshener's used.
Cons: More healthy snack choices available within the rooms.
Location: Excellent location! Beach, museum and great Italian and Himalayan restaurant Gelato shop and other shops just outside the door!
The staff was pleasant and helpful. When we had not yet arrived, 45 minutes before check out closed, they gave me a call on my cell to remind me. since my reservation was non-refundable, the hotel would not have benefited from making the call. We arrived just before midnight and found the desk clerk reassuring, upbeat and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was only there for a night

Posted May 21, 2015
It was fine. There was scraping from anther room started at 10am and I wasn't to check out till 11am. That was a bit annoying but overal fine besides that
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from blythe, ca

The room was terrible. I was on my honeymoon

Posted May 5, 2015
I was on my honeymoon and the room was nothing like the add on the website. If I'm going to pay 166.00 dollars a night I want a nice room. But the hotel put us up in a different room the next night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Really gone downhill

Posted May 4, 2015
We go back to the days this place was called prospect park...it was always a very nice place to stay...not so much anymore..it was more like a hostel...no wifi...maid service spotty...nothing was cleaned...terrible TV...we will not be going back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this place

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Tiny room. Bars on window. Noisy street with ongoing construction.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the place for everyone

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The roof deck and the view.
Cons: The whole inn and the staff.
Location: Near the water. Walking distance from food, entertainment, and the cove.
We wanted a little comfort near the water, but what we got was not what we hoped for. When we arrived to the inn we were not able to park in the front to check in due to a delivery truck in the only not red part of the curb on the main street. We ended up having to cart our luggage from the parking garage that was a few blocks away to the room. The hotel staff is hit and miss depending on the time of day and we learned very quickly that there is no management on location to handle any issues. The staff has to email them and wait for a response to which we never heard back from. There is no elevator in the inn for those of you that have a lot of luggage, elderly, or have knee issues and you have to walk down to the first floor to the outside set of stairs to access the stairs to the roof deck. The first room that we were in did not have a working AC and there were no screens on the windows. The bed was nothing more than a basic spring mattress that did not support and left us sore the next day. The rooms are small with small closets. The bathrooms are the only thing that are somewhat updated and somehow they forgot to update the toilet to a normal size one. On the third floor is the two suites and the roof deck. Which we feel is the best and only good feature to this inn. We spent the nights up on the deck watching the sun set over the ocean with a bottle of wine. If you are looking for a basic room near the water with a good view, then this might be the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from OC Baby!

Location, location, location!

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Location...
Cons: Newer mattresses won't hurt!
Location: Close to shops and restaurants.
A charming property close to the beach. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and maintained adequately. Free Wi-Fi and works most of the time. Very close to shops, restaurants and cultural venues. You are walking distance to a lot of places. Two things to think about when booking however: 1) The hotel parking is two (2) away and number 2) The noise level is not the optimum if you require rest or sleep! Parties lasts til about 1:30am on weekdays.Counter productive if you are working. However... overall, this is a place with personality and attitude that if you have even a slight sense of humor and adventure: This will be a favorite and it's not overpriced!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Worth the price

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
For the price it's nice. Older place in the middle of party town.