Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Picture on web is deceiving.

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Very disappointed. Had to get our room changed due to broken fixtures, no cable & paraphernalia in room upon arrival. Also picture on website is not at all what room actually looks like.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mississauga, ON, CANADA

Convenient with great restaurants nearby

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Convenient for my purposes
Cons: Microwave in every room as well as air conditioning (at least for the summer months).
Location: Near the corner of Folsom and 7th ... Rocco's Cafe serves a great breakfast (try the French Toast) with several other eateries nearby.
I stayed for six days in late October 2014. I was able to walk and/or Uber my way around the city to the areas I needed to be with relative ease. Granted there was no air conditioning and the rooms with microwaves were sold out(?!) but it was still a good stay. The temperatures were just about perfect for leaving the window open to keep the room comfortable. The staff were very helpful when asking for directions and we're always at hand ... and don't forget to bring a bottle opener, I was surprised by the room not having one and the front-desk did.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montclair, Ca.

Good area for walkers

Posted Oct 27, 2014
We enjoyed the chance to walk the neighborhoods on our way to the sites. The food options were amazing and the locals very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin, Texas

Basic hotel, low price

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Good location, less than 10 minutes walk to the Muni and close to a few good restaurants and a small convenience store.
Cons: There is a loud bar at the end of the block, so expect some background noise with your windows open (more on the weekends).
Location: Check out Brainwash, the coffee shop accross the street, for an excellent breakfast.
Hotel staff were exceptionally nice. The room was clean and we were surprised by the satellite TV. No AC but the room was comfortable in the fall. The hotel had coffee and pasteries for breakfast in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay in SF

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Great spot to stay. Lots of restaurants close by. Other than finding a place to park throughout the day, this place was great. The location was a bit hidden and made it a little hard to find at first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn

Good place

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Nice and clean It is little more expencive as total condition but i enjoyed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newbury Park, CA

Perfect for FSF!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, perfect location for FSF. Room had microwave and fridge. Great bathroom!
Cons: No off-street parking, but street parking is free if you arrive early. TV remote is a bit strange.
Location: Folsom Street Fair, Metreon theater, Buca di Beppo, short Uber ride to anywhere in San Fran!
I don't normally leave five star reviews because they tend to be overlooked by sensible people as propaganda written by the hotel itself. However in this case I feel it is deserving. For the price, you would be hard pressed to find a better place to stay with a staff that is friendly and accepting, free parking on the street, updated rooms and within a block of Folsom Street Fair. While other nearby hotels chose to gouge fair-goers to the tune of almost EIGHT times their normal rate, this place stayed classy and remained very close to their normal rates. Pros: Great room (I had a corner room) with microwave and empty fridge, great bathroom, comfortable bed, nice view, parking on the street is free overnight if you get it early. Flat screen TV in my room. Cons: No off-street parking. Honestly that's the only thing I could think of. Oh, and the remodel of the front lobby is not as warm and inviting as the old pictures. Still nice though. The satellite TV was a bit strange, seemed to have maybe 30 channels that repeated over and over up to channel 9999. Remote was not very responsive. Now I'm just nitpicking. Overall a great hotel if you need a place to stay for FSF. They allow checking in around 1-2pm and checking out around noon at the latest. I will be staying again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville, SC

Heart of Folsom

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Close to great places to eat, bars and very affordable.
Cons: Pillows were a bit flat.
Location: Close to Folsom St fair, plenty of clubs, restaurants and public transportation near by.
No frills stay in the heart of Folsom St. Plenty of hot water, friendly staff and a lot of very good places to eat within a few minutes walking distance all at an affordable price.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

Posted Sep 9, 2014
There was a party going on outside till like 4:00am in the morin yelling laughing we had a half marathon the next morin did not get no sleep
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Victorville

Good price, disappointing living conditions

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Courtesy of hotel staff in the morning.
Cons: At least make the breakfast something that children like. There was no cereal, milk, or bread with a toaster to make toast with butter and jelly.
Location: Fisherman's Warf - 10 minute drive; Golden Gate Park - 15 minute drive; Zoo - 15 to 20 minute drive; Golden Gate Bridge - 10-15 minute drive.
We got this last minute hotel on expedia.com. Hotel sounded good, great location and somewhat close to everything. Got to hotel just to find out that there was no A/C, fan was not working, and had to have staff come up to get the TV working. Clean, but not really comfortable - reminded me of being in a cheap hotel in the Philippines. $45 dollars a day for valet parking where one of the staff drove our mini-van off to a location that you had to wait for 30-45 minutes to get the vehicle back if you needed it. Staff during the daytime was courteous, night staff had no clue. All I can say is that I am glad that we only stayed one night - next time I will not take the entire family and have to get 2 rooms because I had 3 five year old kids making the numer of people in one room to many. Good selection of pastries in the morning, but that was all there was; pastries, coffee, and juice - not set up for children whatsoever and is off the beaten path. Recommend finding other hotels.