Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
1 out of 5
by bRENDA

Got charged for a night a didn't stay for.

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: it was close to my visit.
Cons: they check for any addiditonal reservations under your name and check if u need them or not, if u say you want to check out and you don't need the 2 o
Location: the steamtown maLL IS NICE.
i checked out on the morning of the 18th of aug and they charged me for an additional night stating that i failed to call and cancel my reservation, i told the front desk i was checking out and would not need the addidtional night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Todd from NJ

Cheap, convenient, quiet

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Price
Cons: Just about everything
Location: It is right in Central City Scranton, but that says it all. The only reason to go there is if you are a University parent or visitor to Steamtown
This was our third stay. It's in an area of town that many people would avoid, but we have never had any kind of unpleasant incident there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JW from NJ

Inexpensive and close to downtown

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: Within easy walking distance of downtown attractions - "Steamtown" was about 10 minute walk.
I was only in the room a very limited amount of time - mostly spent sleeping. Nothing outstanding, but no real negatives either. Area was quiet, not much activity. Dunkin Donuts and gas/minimart on the next block.
1 out of 5
by MBNJ48 from NJ

Center of Downtown Scranton

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: AC Worked, Bed fairly comfortable
Cons: Rooms need complete updating, Easy chairs covered in black dirt and falling apart, Table repainted several times, linens terrible
Location: College
Room was Dirty, Bathroom door would not shut, ceiling coming down in bathroom, no working fan in bathroom, chairs black with dirt, and falling apart, TV reception terrible, Candy wrappers on floor, not vacuumed, burn holes in sheets and blankets, outlet covers loose and falling off, peeling paint in bathroom, wallpaper pealing in main room, ac worked good...bring your own sheets for sure if u stay here! Towels were extremely abrasive and it hurt to dry off with them
1 out of 5
by Keith's wife from Pennsylvannia

DON'T STAY HERE!!!!

Posted Dec 23, 2012
Pros: NONE
Cons: the dingy smell & unfriendly staff
Location: run down with shady people walking around the parking lot asking for money & smokes
It was run down & out of date. Front desk clerk did not have explanation of services properly & they charge you $10.00 safe fee for a safe that is in the room even if you don't plan on using it. Kinda in a run down area with shady characters walking around outside. Water pressure sucked....was glad I only had to spend one night there!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from New York

Good downtown location

Posted Sep 14, 2012
Pros: Convenient
Cons: Not able to get good internet
Location: Really good
Convenient to downtown and hospitals. Wish they had information in the rooms on the internet access and how to get on it. No information on services available either. Free breakfast could be better then just cereal and mini muffins. They are trying to keep things painted and fixed. In all it wasn't too bad
2 out of 5
by JM from NY

Not for us again.

Posted Aug 27, 2012
Cons: appearance.
Location: Not the best, like the back street off the main shopping area.
The room did not smell fresh when we entered. It said no smoking, but the counter area around the sink had been damaged by a cigarette burn and painted over. The bathroom sink was cracked. Towels thin and small. Had to ask for a fifth pillow, we were five people. I could not believe that someone had tried to even paint the ceramic tile and tub, but the painter that did was sloppy. So paint was sprayed onto the once nice ceramic tile floor. The tub and ceramic tile paint was not holding up up well, so it started to peel off, making it feel unclean. My grand daugher did not want to take a shower but I convinced her it would be OK. So it was not that it was not clean, just a shabby job. The continental breakfast was two cereals, white bread, whole wheat bread, one pre wrapped sweet roll, glazed donuts, milk (borderline on fresh),and Orange Juice this was good. Tea, coffee, hot choc, oatmeal bags, apples. The room needed the lights turned on, but we sat next to the window to compensate. The pool water looked clean, but small pool, with white pool furniture that looked like it needed cleaning, as it had started to peel it's finish. The four young children I was with looked at the outside of the hotel and surrounding area, and were concerned if we were safe. Not the nicest area of Scranton. We stayed, but not again. Red Carpet most likely will never see my money again. This place cost me $30 more than the previous hotel the night before in Columbia, PA at Comfort Inn. JMH
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by richard from DC

great find

Posted Aug 23, 2012
Pros: location
Cons: only 2 pillows for a king size
Location: scranton isnt that bad. check out steamtown while you are there
Went up to Scranton for a wedding. Reception was downtown and the main party was at the expensive hilton. This place was 3 blocks from either and a third the price. Rooms were clean if old. The air conditioner was loud but worked well. The bathroom was well appointed. We awoke the next morning to the sound of the couple next door making love, so the walls are not very thick but what are you going to do?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karla from Pa

worth the price

Posted Aug 6, 2012
Pros: has a pool, staff was great
Cons: the TV channels were fuzzy
Location: convenient to many things, dunkin donuts, Fat Daddy's (GREAT FOOD!!)
We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to Montage Mountain, where my husband & I were attending a concert. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Everything worked including the hair dryer in the room...the TV channels were fuzzy for the most part, but it was not a big deal...the pool area was under construction, and you can tell that the place needs some updating. The continental breakfast was nice, nothing to rave about. There are plenty of places to go for food, a dunkin' donuts within walking distance(a big plus for us). The price is worth it, we are planning to stay again next year.