Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alycia from Calgary, AB, Canada

Beautiful location

Posted Aug 6, 2012
Pros: The view all around, how quite it was and how close to nature we felt.
Cons: No hot tub, lost keys for canoe so had to make sure they were unlocked
Location: Beautiful Canadian scenery all around. Wooden cabin, mountians right in front of you, a lake behind you, and a lush forest all around.
Beautiful location, very quite and peaceful, however was informed hot tub was not working for last 2 months, boardwalk around lake broken and in poor condition. We did get a Free canoe rental for afternoon, saw amazing loon display (2 males and 1 female during mating season) made up for everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Edmonton

Peaceful and beautiul

Posted Jul 10, 2012
What a great place for a wedding! We were not part of the wedding, but, thought we would recommend Nakoda Lodge to couples planning a wedding. We stayed one night and enjoyed eating our meal in our room. There is no restaurant, simply room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice experience with a pity

Posted Jul 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was a wonderful trip, the hotel is my favourite style with a beautiful surrounding view, there is a pity, however, that when my family and I arrived there, the receptionist can not find my reservation record. It kind of made us nervous. Fortunately, the receptionist found out that the agent forgot to fax my case. This made me loose my lake-view room which I booked and gave me a forest-view one. Another thing is a big fly's body showed in bathroom. Anyway the overall experience is good and thank you for your service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
gREAT PLACE FOR LEISURE OR BUSINESS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sylvan Lake, AB

New Year's Eve...

Posted Jan 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
My husband surprised me with a little getaway to Nakoda on the Lake (for New Year's Eve)...it was super fabulous! We took the shuttle to the Casino and had a blast! The Luau was fantastic...we hope to go back again! It was so peaceful & quiet while we were at the hotel...the room-service was fab too...would so recommend this gem to anyone! Thank you so much!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nakoda

Posted Jan 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately for us the Hot tub was not operating and that put a damper on our planned New Year's celebrations. The TV in the room is an HD/Widescreen unit but the Lodge does not actually receive HD. The Fitness Centre had three cardio machines, but the Treadmill was not working. These are small things, I know, but they add up to the overall enjoyment of the stay. I expect EVERYTHING to be operational when I pay big $$$ to stay at a Hotel/Lodge.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
Beautiful view, not worth the price!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orangeville, Ontario

Nakoda disappointment

Posted Aug 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Nakoda had plenty of good reviews when I did my pre-booking research, and I was looking forward to a night at a mountain resort with my son and two young grandchildren before flying home to Ontario. Check-in is at 3PM, but I stopped in on our way by at 11.30 to arrange for a playpen in the room and to see if there was a possibility of earlier check-in. The desk clerk said the room should be ready by 1. We then continued into Canmore where we had lunch and looked around, returning to the Nakoda at 2.15, We were told 5 more minutes, and, yes, there would be a playpen. Half an hour later I asked again. Several others had checked-in in the meantime and received their keys, as we stood by and watched. She said that it wasn't 3 o'clock yet, as if they were making us wait til the last minute. Finally, at 3, we got our room. No playpen. I asked again and was assured it was coming. An hour later I asked again...she had forgotten all about it. Before we went out for dinner I asked again and was told it would be there by the time we returned. It was...but it was disgustingly filthy. It didn't come with any bedding, so I used our towels (of which there were 3, for 4 of us) and our own change pad and receiving blankets, before putting the 5 month old to bed. There was no stopper in the bathtub, but that turned out not to matter...the drain was so slow it took 20 minutes for the tub to empty after my shower. There were long, black hairs in the tub and on the floor, and the toilet didn't have a lid. Little things make a big difference! The beds were very clean and comfortable, with nice, white sheets and duvet covers. My son's bed also had a top sheet...mine did not, so it was the duvet or nothing. The thermostat was loose on the wall and had no reading, but I found the room a bit on the warm side. Except for the hairs in the bathroom, the room was clean. The pool and sauna were good, the included continental breakfast was better than most. The Sunday brunch in the next building was outstanding. There was a comment card on the desk, which I would have filled out, except that it was the one from the previous guest and already used. In fairness, I should mention that there was a wedding going on the afternoon we arrived, and the people getting rooms ahead of us were likely wedding guests. The lone desk clerk was very busy and trying to keep her cool. However, for twice the price of a 4 star in Edmonton, I expected much better service and amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nakoda Spa and Lodge

Posted Aug 8, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Hotel itself was wonderful as was the staff. The big but is that we hope you don't want or have to have a meal there as the service was terrible and the food was nothing to write home about either. Would recommend eating in Cochrane or Canmore before getting to the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Airdire, Alberta

Peaceful Retreat

Posted Apr 27, 2011 on Hotels.com
Beautiful quiet location. Serene setting. Fabulous, helpful staff. Beautiful room facing the lake. Very clean pool and fitness facility. Delicious continental breakfast. Would absolutely stay there again and again. : )