Ratings based on 258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location and price.

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Everything was minimal and fine. Cannot expect more considering it is priced low for this area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, okay room

Posted Mar 7, 2014
The staff was very nice. The shower would not get hotter than room temperature. There was no mini fridge. Beds were moderately comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Location: Just outside of downtown Springfield.
I didn't stay here due to only having smoking rooms available. After trying to get a different room, I asked to just cancel it. I did this before 4pm that day. I booked through Expedia so I have needed to work through them to get a refund. They have had a terrible time trying to get a hold of the manager and I have yet to receive a refund. The front looks deceiving. It looks like a hotel but has the feel of a motel. The doors are all on the outside. They have tube tvs, not flat screens.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horror at.@ Howard Johnson's

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Beds were a uncomfortable breakfast. was bad would not stay there even if thay payed me room wad grossely over priced aswell
3 out of 5
by Mary from California

Ok as long as you don't need service

Posted Jan 17, 2014
The place itself is fine but not the better of the Howard Johnson line. Looks very nice on the way in but I think they are more catering to events than actual hotel patronage. No one was at the front desk when I arrived. He'd been outside. The room was either freezing or roasting and the bathroom water never got hot. Tried to call the front desk to get the code and password for the internet, the voice mail was actually full. So we had to go back to the front desk to get it straight. We had two key cards, only one worked. It was too much after a long drive and you just want to order a pizza and take a shower. In the morning as we were leaving a man was shoveling snow off the ledge of the upper floor... Ended up on us. It just wasn't like the previous HJ's I've been to.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by unhappy from springfield IL

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
not again
1 out of 5
by Morgan from Orlando fl

not recommended

Posted Dec 25, 2013
staff was okay but room unclean with a ton of dust plumbing in shower and stink woukd not drain tub unclean and stink cracked carpet was not vacuumed properly so loads of dust in every corner and edge of room not enough blankets
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could not even fix the basics

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Room needed a handyman severely. Toilet paper roll was not attached, shower curtain rail hung on by a thread. Would not recommend to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by CLS 8888 from Champaign, IL

Nothing fancy but does the job

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: It is a great price without being nasty.
Cons: Better lighting or signage for the access road off the main road. It is difficult to find at night.
Location: Right across from the Cemetery with Abraham Lincoln's tomb--easily within walking distance. Just a few blocks from Springfield's Memorial Hospital
This is an older facility located across from the cemetery where Abraham Lincoln's tomb is located. There was some peeling pain in the bathroom, a cracked bathroom sink, and some ridges on the walls marking the location of plaster patches. Those are really the only three flaws I can come up with and certainly not worth complaining about. The staff was courteous and helpful, the room was clean and spacious with no funky odor and great temperature control. The bed was comfortable with plenty of comfortable pillows. Everything worked just fine. This is NOT fancy--but neither is it expensive. I felt as though it was a bargain. The room entry is in the back and it is very well lit. The only complaint I had was that at night it is difficult to determine exactly where to turn in to the facility from the main road. They need a sign or even a reflector as the road is not well lit and not intuitive. I would not hesitate to stay there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark from Marion

Falling apart

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
This motel (read motel NOT hotel) is disgusting. The paint was peeling off the wall. There was mold in the bathroom. The lock was falling off the door. Do not stay here!