Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Howard from Syracuse, NY

Hotel Not Adequately Staffed to Handle Customers.

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: The location was convenient to the Airport
Cons: See experience, hire adequate trained staff.
We (a party of 6 requiring 3 rooms) arrived at the Best Western Carib Beach Resort at approximately 3 PM on March 31 hoping to get rooms a little early since they published 4PM as check-in time. We were told that the rooms would not be available until 4 PM as published. This was OK since we knew that some rooms would not be available until close to published check-in time. We then asked directions to restaurant-bar and were told that it was not open but a sister Resort about 1/4 mile down the road did have an open bar so we went there. We came back to the Carib Resort at 4:10 and were told that the rooms were still not available but were giving room keys for use when rooms were available and told that their bar was now open so off we go to their bar. We came back at 5:15 and the reception desk was unmanned with several customers awaiting service. After several minutes we walked down to our potential rooms and saw that the cleaning staff had not completed making up beds. We then observed that the reception agent, having abandoned her duties at the front desk, was in rooms completing required tasks for customers. My room was ready at 5:35, and my companions shorty after.The above occurred on or arrival in the US Virgin Islands. We went to the BVI on the following day and came back to the Carib Resort on Apr 11 since we had booked rooms for both dates approximately two months earlier. Summarizing the visit, the restaurant was grossly understaffed and unprofessional.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for an overnight stay by the airport

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpful. Close to airport, can walk if you don't have much luggage. Not much else around though. Would need a taxi to go anywhere else. We used it as a place to stay for the night to catch the plane early next morning. That worked well and no complaints from that perspective.
2 out of 5
by Brenda from Canada

Airport Hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Many things can be improved including caring for the customers, with check in times, food service. And the walls are thin. It is very over priced.
Location: Airport hotel. Nothing around. No food.
I had a very early morning flight so had to stay here one night. Even though I emailed the reception before my trip and told them I would arrive early so said they would let me check in and they stall and really only want people to check in at 4pm and could not care a less about your travel plans. The hotel was noisy, thin wall, rude staff. I would not stay here again or a Best Western again. And terrible food. They want you to take a shuttle to their other property to eat. Very disappointing stay and way over priced for what it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan from Edmonton

Great Stay

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Very nice rooms with great views of the bay. Nice deck with sliding glass door to relax on.
Cons: Location is not ideal for those wanting to be in town. But only a short drive away. Wi-Fi didn't work outside the lobby area.
Location: Private beach and bar onsite. Nearby public beach on the bay.
We loved the resort. The room over looked the bay and the outdoor restaurant was steps away. Would definitely stay again. Note the hotel is walking distance from the airport but with only a few flights a day we hardly noticed the plane noise in the time we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close and cosy

Posted Apr 7, 2014
While anxious at first about staying so close to the airport, we soon found this hotel to be a lovely place to stay. Very pleasant staff, and a short walk from the airport and to a tree-lined white sandy beach. A good place to start a USVI/BVI holiday - and very reasonably priced.
3 out of 5
by GK from Wisconsin

Would not recommend

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Cons: Maid service was EXTREMELY slow and the management did not seem to care.
Arrived at 3:30, check in was at 4:00. Our room was not ready until 7pm. I asked to speak to a manager but was told she was gone for the day. I asked the clerk to please call her. She did and I was told I would have to wait to talk to her the next day. The room it self was nice but the facility left alot to be desired. The shuttle between this hotel and the sister hotel across the bay only ran on the hour, which we found incovenient when using their facilities. If you like island views, this is not the place to stay either. Also, maid service did not get to our room daily until between 4 and 5 in the afternoon, which is about the time we were coming back in from the day. Definitely will spend the money on a higher class hotel next time.
1 out of 5
by bonnie from california

Worst hotel ever

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Nothing. Clerks were rude, too.
Cons: Tear it down, fire everyone
Phone did not work, or alarm clock, no screen on slider, so had a stuffy room, shower head would not put out enough water, lights missing, overall the room was a joke. I read this in other reviews right before we were to come here, but it was too late to cancel for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vicki from wichita falls, TX

Super convenient

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: This is a super place to stay when you have early flights.
Cons: We were in a newly acquired villa and the staff wasn't too informed about it. For instance, they didn't know it didn't have a phone or alarm clock.
Stayed here because it was so close to the airport. We just walked! Were pleasantly surprised that it had a beautiful ocean view too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally from Traverse City, Mi

Close to the airport

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: They now have a very nice restaurant with good food and drinks. Much better than the Mexican cantina style.
Cons: We have asked for a " Wake-up" call all these years and have gotten one " ONE" time.. Please train your people to do this. It's important to travelers
Location: Location is perfect. We get a cab and go " downtown" and shop. It's real close and your staff are helpful to assist you.
We have stayed at this hotel for the last 12-14 years for one night in March. We vacation in St John and have to leave early in the morning from St Thomas to catch our plane for home. This hotel is the most conveinent there is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ashley from PA

Close to beach and airport!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
We loved it here. Our room had a private entrance with a beautiful view of the water! Staff was friendly and accommodating. Food was good. There is a sister resort that you can either walk to or use the courtesy shuttle to get to and use their amenities as well. You will need a taxi for all other travel on the island.