Ratings based on 617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobbs, NM

Decent Hotel for $$

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff Good Location Easy in/Out
Cons: Restaraunt Grounds Vacant/Not Available Rooms need to be cleaned up and not looked junked up
Location: Good location, right on highway. Close driving dist to anything in taos.
Experience was ok for the $$. Nothing was really bad, but I did expect a little bit more.....it's obviously a very old faciltiy and needs lots of attention, the grounds as well as the room. Overall, it was not a bad experience, I just expected it to be a bit more appeasing top the eye and not look so run down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The grounds were nice with grass and trees. Rooms are in groups and didn't have long corridors or typical motel arrangements to traverse.
Cons: Furniture and decoration. Upgrade lobby, restaurant, and lounge areas.
Location: Location is good and convenient to Taos and other areas nearby.
Hotel needs upgrading, newer furniture. Information about restaurant and lounge misleading - restaurant was not open for dinner our first night, and lounge had no bartender. Grounds are nice, and room was clean but rather drab. Had no clock.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Expedia needs to update their site for this hotel. There are NO smoking rooms available. The bar was not open during the hours as advertised. The restaurant was not open during the hours as advertised. The handle on the toilet in our room continually fell off. Had to take the lid off the tank to get it back on the lever. The water would continually run unless one jiggled the handle. The hotel staff did not know when the bar would be open. The person in charge of the bar left with the keys to the cabinets to go to Sante Fe. When we went to go eat dinner at the restaurant, the staff said it was closed but the bar was now open... The breakfast was very disappointing. The pancakes available were dry and rubbery. Plates were not available, had to ask for them. Plastic wear was not available, had to ask for them. Butter and syrup not available, had to ask for those. Don't plan on being able to check in any sooner than 3:00. Not even 30 min.'s. NOT worth the money!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK place.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: Close to town.
Cons: Check to see if the phone works.
Location: Close to restaurants and grocery stores.
Wi Fi would not connect. Telephone did not work and another had to be supplied. Breakfast items were in short supply.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service and condition

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Walmart was across the street, got our ice there.
Our room was FAR from the only ice machine. Bath tub was grubby, hair dryer didn't work, no microwave or frig. Room daily clean up and supply was poor. Staff at the desk were poorly dressed and curt. Breakfast was cold and poor quality.
2 out of 5
by Ces from albuquerque, nm

Beautiful hotel with a disappointing bed

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The appearance.
Cons: The quality of the mattress itself and the linens.
Location: Fairly convenient location in southern Taos, across the street from Wal Mart. Easy parking, close to Art galleries.
The hotel itself is quite beautiful, southwestern tile, clean and inviting. I was disappointed in the room however. The king sized bed was old and hard, the pillows flat, the sheets cheap. Bathroom was forgettable. Street noise was loud, had to run the air conditioner all night in order to mask the noisy street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephanie from Roswell, NM

Good for a low budget hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
You get what you expect for the price. The room was clean and didn't smell. TV worked well. The heater worked but only blew hot or cold. The toiletries were nice and bonus for being organic. Worst part was how hard the mattress was. I have a bad back and hardly slept. Had a lot of back pain/stiffness in the morning. Breakfast was minimalist but tasted good.
2 out of 5
by leasha from Amarill TX

Needs remodeling

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: I loved the full breakfast!
Cons: They could modernize the rooms, add microwaves, and get nicer staff.
Location: Taos ski Valley! Go ski its the best!!!!
The room I was in had wallpaper that was bubbling up and coming off. also the bathroom floor grout was gross. the bathroom counter was clearly put in by/for short people. I am 5'10 and it came to my thigh. The bathtub was skinny lucky for them I am too. If I had been over 150lb's showering or bathing would haven been difficult. The room I was in obviously was a smoking room before. Of course if you don't change the filters to the heating/air unit that could make the room remain stinky like smoke. My biggest complaint is that the room did not have a microwave. SO I had to go to the lobby and then I had to ask the staff for help. which by the way really did not want to let me use their staff microwave but finally did. I was not real impressed by the hotel for the price I thought it would be more updated and rooms in better condition. I might stay here again but not unless its a last resort.
3 out of 5
by amanda from oklahoma

I got a good price for very last minute

Posted Mar 17, 2014
We booked 1 week before spring break so I was surprised we got the rooms (2) in the first place. It was supposed to be 2 non smoking rooms, but 1 was definitely smoking. The hotel was booked full and they ran out of towels, but the staff bought more and brought brand new ones to us late in the evening. The heater worked well but didn't reach the bathroom which was ice cold. Staff was very friendly, but visibly stressed over the occupancy. If I had seen the hotel in person we probably wouldn't have stayed there. Probably won't go back, but for the last minute price we got, it was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Biogal from Texas

Best "Cheap Hotel" ever!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfy rooms, great showers, wonderful staff, good food.
Cons: For this hotels price point-absolutely nothing!
Location: Good location in the city of Taos, close to restaurants, grocery stores and a short drive to the Plaza.
We ( 3 adults, 2 4 years olds) stayed here for a Spring Break ski trip. I had called the hotel to inquire about some of the older reviews that indicated poor upkeep, and was assured that those issues had been taken care of. My expectations were very low, but we just needed an inexpensive, central place to sleep. Boy was I surprised! The hotel had more of a bed and breakfast feel, primarily because of the hospitality of the entire hotel staff, from the manager to the cleaning staff. Without exception, everyone we saw smiled and spoke to us. Our room was very comfortable, and spotless. Great beds, and a super- hot power-shower. Breakfast was hot and tasty (great coffee!), and varied from morning to morning. With everyone trying to get to slopes early, the breakfast room was usually full, but they never let the amount of food run low, nor did you have to wait for anything (important when getting two 4 year olds fed and out the door).The indoor pool and hot tub were clean and well maintained. The thing that surprised and pleased me the most was how quickly management took care of an issue we had with a group of spring break partiers beneath us. After our first call someone from management was there in just a few minutes. The second night when the late night door slamming started, someone from management was there within minutes to relocate these people, allowing us a peaceful night sleep. I would recommend Don Fernando to anyone staying in Taos.