Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from aust

For the price, excellent. Close enough to town

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Price
Location: Close enough to do most things
Good for price close to everything"..............loved the restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice Motel, close to town. The restaurant is great

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Close to town, friendly helpful staff, restaurant great meals at reasonable prices
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kelowna

Disappointing

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Close to toursit attractions, walking distance. Room was clean.
Cons: Hotel staff to deal with noise complaints in a better way
Hotel room was what you would expect for the price, no complaints. Hotel is walking distance to the typical tourist attractions (ex: Inner Harbour), very convinient. Verry disapointed with the hotel staff: allowing a group of very hyper, immature guests to stay below and beside our room, they partied all day/night, made noise, aaaaaand even after we complained and begged many times for something to be done............nothing was. Very dissapointing and frustrating. Would rather spend a bit more money next time and hopefully avoid a hotel that may attract people like this (in our experience) OR at least a hotel that might do something about a situation like the one we had.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Cheap, but not comfortable

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: wouldn't recommend
Cons: Decor, pillows (please replace them every 10 years!), gauges and chips in sink and tub, shampoo the spots out of the carpet, replace the drapes
Location: Walking distance from Chinatown. Longer walk to downtown area. Coffee in restaurant is very good.
This is an old motel, with flat pillows, hot rooms, chipped sink, dusty fan, gouged bathtub floor, noisy shower that either burns you or freezes you at whim, one towel per person, dated bedspreads and room decor. Tried to call the front desk two nights in a row, and it rang and rang for almost 15 rings before I finally hung up, got dressed and had to walk down there. The front desk is only manned by one person, so if they are helping someone else, no one answers the phone! The housekeepers were nice and the front desk staff were pleasant, but they have such a sad property to represent. The carpet had so many spots on it, we wore shoes the whole time--even in the middle of the night. We ended up having to stay the entire 4 nights we reserved because most of Victoria was already booked by the time we saw the error of our ways. Came home exhausted! The website made it look so cute, but it was a "bait and switch." I guess you get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

OH!!! for Air Conditioning

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel was ideal for walking around Victoria, good parking ( FREE ) and pretty noise free too.
Cons: Fitting Air-Conditioning would have made nights much more bearable, plus a little smartening up d├ęcor and carpet wise would not go a miss.
Location: The Hotel was in a quite part of town, but easy access to China Town and the Harbour a good base.
After exactly 5 years we came back to this Hotel some things had changed the Front Desk staff were top class, friendly and very efficient, but rooms very jaded a bit run down feel with 2 air circulating fans pushing the hot air around gave us fitful and sleep interrupted nights. The attached Restaurant was top class great food and prices staff very friendly and helpful
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Bad but cheap

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: Read what I wrote on top.
Location: The location was great. It is not far from town.
First of all the carpet was filthy, and it smelled like cigarettes. We were told that we will be in a non-smoking room and that did not happen. I have asthma so that did not go well. Then we were placed in a room for 3 and everything was put in for 2 people. They put a bar of soap only at the sink area and non for the shower area. One bottle of shampoo and one bottle of conditioner for 3 people. Towels for 2 people not three. The air conditioner did not work so they had a small fan in the bedroom and it just happened that it was a hot weekend. The shower was hilarious for me, who designed it I have no clue. Imagine you are 5 feet 4 inches and the shower head is shorter than you, then the tub does not drain right. There was no closet to put your stuff. The remote on the TV worked intermittently. So for one night stay it is fine. It is cheap and it is centrally located. The cafeteria that they had is great, the service was excellent, the food was delicious and the price was great. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpful but the hotel definitely needs to be upgraded and fixed. I hope they will remodel it because it has some charm and possibility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: good price and available
Cons: no air conditioning
Ok. A place to sleep for the night. Got the room last minute.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Not comfortable

Posted Aug 7, 2014
The room was clean,but the couches had stains on them and they had a funny smell. We stayed for 3 nights. First 2 nights we barely slept coz of other guests making noise and talking most of the night. Also there are plenty of birds nearby that make noise atime odd hours of the night. The hotel restaurant was good though, very friendly staff, good homely food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, BC

Very close to downtown.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Close to bus transport, tourist spots and restaurants. Good in-house grill, has senior specials on Tuesdays. No extra amenities, no air conditioning, no pool, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Within walking distance to inner harbour.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Location to restaurants and shopping.
Cons: Updating the rooms would make a stay worthwhile.
Location: Within two blocks of chinatown and five blocks to inner harbour.
The room was in a very quiet courtyard area but in need of updating. The food in the restaurant was medocre but there of plenty of good choices close by.