Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Hilmar

Holiday at the end of the world

Posted Oct 28, 2013
The hotel is far abroad of everything. The next shop is 3 kilometres away. So you are basically dependent on the hotel. The prices for meals are expensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from USA

Posted May 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Seashell, now owned by locals, has very reasonable prices for a beachfront burre. The hotel was damaged in the cyclone last December and is waiting on the insureance settlement to begin renovation. Staff were great, food was good. Not much of a beach to use and you can't really swim in the lagoon. Good access to Cloudbreak though. If they gave a price break to non-surfing passengers on boat trips to the surf, we would have used that service more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nightmare. Robbed. Stay away.

Posted Jan 22, 2012
We left the resort to go shopping. When we returned to the room we found the side compartment of our suitcase was open. The belt with our passports in it was lying on top of the clothes. The cash inside was gone. The Fijian guy at reception told me the manager just left and was un-contactable. When I demanded he call the police, he had the manager there in five minutes. Then the manager starts lying telling me I had the only key to the room. They obviously had a master key and the cleaners had their keys too (which he couldn't deny). When I told him to call the police he tried to stall saying "they are very slow and probably won't make it out tonight". When I asked him for the emergency number he said Fiji didn't have one! (the emergency number for Fiji is 917 or 919). Thefts like these prey on the fact that travellers won't notice or if they do,they won't do anything about it. The staff always seemed nice and friendly which makes it even more sickening to know that one of them robbed us. The place was crawling with bugs. Terrible location.The place is so remote you are left relying on the poor overpriced food/drink. It has no beach, just mud. Our stay at the seashell at momi tainted an otherwise perfect holiday in Fiji. We didn't feel safe after the robbery and were quite ecstatic to leave (it was like getting away from a horror film plot eg. Texas chain saw massacre,Hostel,the Burning Man ect.). I write this review so that others won't make the same mistake we did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jonsan from Auckland, New Zealand

Xmas at Momi.

Posted Jan 2, 2012
Pros: Friendliness of the staff
Location: Great , quiet and peaceful with a great ocean view.
We spent a relaxing time with a great view from under coconut trees to the ocean and other islands. The staff had Fijian friendliness all over and were pleasant to deal with, the food was great and clean, the xmas buffet was beautiful and pefect. The resort was far enough away from town but close enough to Nadi for a day trip and outings. From the experience of visiting other resorts in some of the outer islands Momi stood out overall. It comes down to the attitude of the staff and their services. David and Pete were both great with their staff and customers with their unique sense of humuors. We will definitely go back at any time. Thank you very much , David, Pete, Vili, Mosese, Bua, Nai, Bau, Sai, Emos, Lino, Baku, Ben and everyone else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

It's about the people!

Posted Aug 16, 2011
Thank you Seashell team. All of you did a great job. My friends and I had a wonderful stay. I also had a unforgettable birthday. Thanks Keni for my flowers and Ben for the amazing island hopping trip. We stayed in Garden view apartment. It's clean coz the cleaners came to clean everyday. Even made our bed again everyday! The food in the restaurant is DELICIOUS! they change the menu everyday. Cotinental breakfast is included for our room type. Like the previous guest suggested, do ask the driver to stop at the store to buy some water or snacks on the way to Seashell cause the store is 45mins by walk away. There are local buses to town too. thanks once again to all the cheerful and helpful staffs. you all make Seashell different!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Seashell @ Momi - on Fiji time!

Posted Apr 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
Not quite what I was expecting it was very quiet when I arrived (maybe 5 people in total) & no beach to speak of, but as it turns out it is the place to go if you like to surf or scuba dive....Facilities were nice enough but service was a little slow & everybody seems to be running on Fiji time. All in all I had a nice relaxing stay but nothing spectacular & not much else to do.....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GUAM

Surf camp (in a good way!)

Posted Aug 12, 2010
The hotel was a bit further than I expected. But the dive was not too bad. we drove through beautiful country side of Fiji, so peaceful. When we got there, it was mostly what I expected. It is quiet, isolate location, over all property was kept nice and neat. Staff at the hotel are very nice and welcoming. Samll enough know most of the guests too. We stayed in garden view apartment which has one bedroom, small kitchen, two single beds they used for sofa in livingroom. There were enough bed for famly of 4. My family was very happy with this hotel. Comparing to Sofitel Nadi that I have also stayed before, Seashell cove is not a luxury resort, it is more like surf camp. No amenity(just soap), towels are not bleached white, water we shower is also yellowish. They have surf boats leaving every morning, they also have other activities such as island hopping, diving. If you are active person and hotel is just a place to sleep, this is the perfect place. resonable optional tour, private. Food is excellent!!! Not much choice though, taste good and every inexpensive. Free breakfast is good but we always order something extra. Some tips: ask your driver to stop by a store to buy your water, soda snacks before you get there. There is no store near by. Bring air freshner or candle, somehow the bedding has funny smell. If you go there with your surfer dude and you don't surf, bring a lot of books or entertainments of any sorts. Don't be shy, make new friends. Great entertainment of all!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Auckland NewZealand

CAN BE BETTER!!! EVEN BEST!!!!

Posted Jan 11, 2010
our stay was gd,only the breakfast could have better,and better access to the beach would have been great as we only choose this hotel for the beach.definatley needs a good review on food they provide other wise it was an awesome stay.dont mind coming back again.very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Loved it so much we are going back.

Posted Aug 22, 2009
Having got 2 months to spend in Fiji we thought this would be a good starting point, not too far from Nadi but down the coast. By the end of our week there we didn't want to leave. The seashell is isolated, perfect for if you want to relax. Although they do have a dive school and activities if you are feeling active. The hotel itself is quite basic, there is a small bar and the restaurant has a few things to choose from for dinner but there is a wider choice at lunch. Our bure was clean and very comfortable, it had a sink and a fridge and a hob. We didn't cook there because the price of the restaurant was very reasonable and I'm not quite sure where you would get food to cook. The bures are spaced out so you have lots of space to yourself and you feel isolated, but in a good way. It's very easy to lie in hammock and read all day and say hello to the people that walk past. While the hotel is basic the people here really made our stay. Within days of being there everybody knew our names and were always happy to stop for a chat. John in the restaurant and Ben the activites man, especially, made us feel welcome. If you have a family then I feel that this is a safe place to take them. Everyone knows each other so if your kids start to wander they would always be under watchful eyes. So, the result of our week's stay is that we've decided to stay another 2 weeks there before we leave and can't wait to catch up with everyone there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Stavanger, Norway

Fantastic resort

Posted Oct 25, 2008
The resort was beautiful, the staff were so kind, friendly & helpful and we had a fantastic time there, cannot fault them for anything. The resort also offers lots of different activities at very reasonable prices so you are never bored !