Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.6 out of 5
33% of guests recommend
1.9 Room cleanliness
2.2 Service & staff
1.8 Room comfort
1.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Normal, IL

tear it down

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: only saving grace was its location close to the university and downtown.
Cons: everything
Location: close to SUI university, downtown Carbondale.
bed sheets had not been changed from previous guest's stay, un-repaired damage to walls, doors, furnishings, towels changed once during our 3 night stay, no complimentary coffee as advertised. will not stay in this chains hotels. overall motel needs a total renovation or demolition and start from ground up.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The first description in your scale....terrible

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Break it down and rebuild.
No good words to describe. The place was dirty, staff unfriendly, breakfast terrible. AC too noisy and many more
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katrine from Oslo, Norway

Never book Americas Best Value Inn, Carbondale

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is horrible.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chi town

Good only if you can't anywhere else

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Old, worn down. As soon as you walk in wallpaper torn coming down (do we still use wallpaper ?)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from youngstown ohio

Horrible room

Posted Oct 27, 2015
The door was broken the bathroom was small light fixture and vent in bathroom were falling off the wall. Never again will I ever stay there!
1 out of 5
by Amanda

RUN! unless you collect different cockaroach species

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Orbitz
im not a picky person, but the reviews arent half of what this motel is. breakfast is expired milk, knock off cereal no coffee no bread. WIFI does not work. one worker was very nice (blonde lady) managers wife is very rude, complained about the cockaroachs and she said she couldnt do anything about it. i asked for bug spray and she handed me wasp spray and filty wash clothes. didnt even insist to help. if u have no choice do yourself a favor BRING YOUR OWN SHEETS, BLANKETS AND TOWELS. everthing is dirty and old and nohing like the picture
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jacob from Wisconsin

It was ok.

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Not terrible for the price.. I was disappointed our room did not have a refrigerator..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is the worst hotel I ever stayed in.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: close to campus
The door frame was broken so my security was at risk. It's a dangerous part of town. There were a group of thugs drinking outside my door and yelling at eachother in the middle of the night. No towels. No toilet paper. No coffee pot. Thread bare.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

The worst hotel ever! Didn't even clean the room

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Expedia should definitely take this hotel off there list. I have pictures to prove how bad it was!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place is a dump!

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Rebuild
Worst hotel I've ever stayed in, room was old and dingy, carpets had burn holes, hardly little furniture, pillow small/flat, delapidated.