Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1.6 out of 5
20% of guests recommend
1.9 Room cleanliness
2.2 Service & staff
1.7 Room comfort
1.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not America's Best

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location to university
Cons: see above
I'm sorry to say I cannot recommend this hotel. I was in C'dale for Family Weekend and usually stay at the Saluki Inn. It was sold out so I thought I'd try America's Best, and should have known better by the reviews. The front desk reps could not find my reservation at first, but upon showing my email confirmation, did locate it. We were not told about any continental breakfast, which was part of the fee, and we never did see it the 2 days we were there. There was a strong smell of weed upon taking the stairs to our room. The hallways were in disrepair and not very tidy. The room was actually OK, very basic. The bathroom really needed rehabbing--dirty tiles, peeling paint in the shower, etc. When you turned the shower on, no matter what you did with the bathroom door, the shower curtain blew into the stall and you couldn't move. There were also no other toiletries besides soap provided. Towels were small and sandpaper-like. Please clean up your act as there are other America's Best hotels which you give a bad name.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grayslake, IL

Not a nice place to stay...

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Location near my nieces dorm
Cons: Nothing... Tear it down and start over.
Location: It's on a one way street so you have to do crazy circles just to get around. Luckily there is a nice shopping and restaurants area close to go to.
I stayed here because my sister-in-law thought she was bringing her dogs with and she ended up not having to. It's a very dated hotel that needs to be torn down and started over. It was nice and close to my nieces dorm and that's all the only positive thing about this hotel. First the door was so hard to open I had to use my foot to get in and out of the room. Then once in the room you can tell that other people were having the same issue because the door was so dented on the inside from it being kicked. The carpet was sticky... I had to go buy a pair of flip flops just to walk around in there. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever seen...and the smoke alarm went off during my shower.The TV channels were awful too. They only had antenna and if there was a inactive channel it didn't want to you to go past it...it would reset you to a channel 5 numbers before and put you in this horrible loop that you could never get out of. I will never stay here again. I think I'm going to go and get my tetanus shot updated.
1 out of 5
by Richard from Glen Burnie

Don't pay to stay here

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
For $70 a night, this was awful. If I had seen this place first they would have had to pay me to stay. Sink leaked. Carpet soaking wet. Room stunk (and not from cigarette smoke). Comforter had a large burn hole. Towels thread bare. Bed uncomfortable. Just awful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away, not safe

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
A Nightmare! That hotel is a biohazard and disgusting. They put me in a room with a comforter with stains and cigarette burns. Then I was approached several times by a man lingering around. He stood at my door when I ran out to the car for something. I was terrified and checked out within 20 minutes. I found out from the reception desk that they allow people to live there. That was the worst 20 minutes of my life.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel did not reserve the rooms we requested despite using this service. We had to go somewhere else at 10:00pm.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Stay Here!

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Orbitz
Made this stop as an overnight stay on a road trip. Amenities were not as advertised. Signs were up inside our room telling us to make sure doors were locked, cars were locked and that they were not responsible for stolen items. Cable was iffy, no HBO even though it was advertised. Could not log into WiFi even though free WiFi was advertised. Shower dripped constantly. Heat was either way too hot, or too cold. Continental breakfast consisted of spotty brown bananas. On the positive side, there is a fantastic Chinese restaurant right nextdoor that allowed for a little escape from the gloom of this room.
2 out of 5
by Craig from Northern Illinois

Scary room

Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
Scary room but I guess you get what you pay for. I should have known better than to get a room for $45 a night and next time I'll check the reivews. Management was nice and that's the only positive I can list. There wasn't even coffee in the room or lobby.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Normal, IL

tear it down

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: only saving grace was its location close to the university and downtown.
Cons: everything
Location: close to SUI university, downtown Carbondale.
bed sheets had not been changed from previous guest's stay, un-repaired damage to walls, doors, furnishings, towels changed once during our 3 night stay, no complimentary coffee as advertised. will not stay in this chains hotels. overall motel needs a total renovation or demolition and start from ground up.
1 out of 5
by Lindsay

Take it off hotels.com

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
Called to see if we could check in early and lady said no because they were super busy the night before. Upon arrival the hotel was empty. Room was disgusting even after waiting until the check in time. Couldn't even use the shower. There was no water pressure what so ever and the water wouldn't even get warm. Had to go to Walmart to buy a blanket because the bedding was disgusting. If I wasn't in a hurry and didn't trust the hotels hotels.com allow on their site I would have never ever in million years stayed at this hotel. Very upset hotels.com even has them listed as a choice. I have stayed at a bunch of cheaper hotels and have never experienced this. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Never again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not on hotel standards!!

Posted Dec 21, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel needs to call exterminators for the roaches, the locks on the does not lock properly, and the remote control didn't operate the tv at all. Also the hotel needs more than one iron for the guests, last but not least the hotel has old microwaves, etc laying around in the stairwells which can be a fire hazard.