Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Cheap and perfectly close to everything

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: The staff, hands down. The sweetest people in the world, they were amazing and so caring and helpful.
Cons: The location, but that is not the hotels fault. I wish it was a few blocks away from the outskirts.
This hotel is a cheap no frills option when wanting to stay in the center of Getsemani - it's on the edge of the area where the street its on feels a little unsafe, but we didn't have any bad experiences with safety, it just felt more 'rundown' then the more centered part of the area. The breakfast was great and the room was clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Recepcion, Hotel Management
Gracias por tus comentarios, siempre tratamos de mejorar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Minimal, but well placed

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Great hotel. The people are the best part.
Cons: I'd still like a little hot water in the shower, even if Cartagena is so hot most people probably don't care.
Location: It is in the center of things. Kind of down a sketchy looking street. But walking distance to everything.
The bed is comfortable. The location is excellent for seeing the sights. The area feels a little sketchy with people hanging out on the historic city wall (just across the street from the hotel) at all hours. Sometimes they like to yell things. I walked down this street quite a few times and no one ever bothered me. That is both at night and during the day. But it looks sketchy. I am a man. I'm not sure how I'd feel walking down this street at night if I were a woman. I don't think I would. Staff is wonderful. All of them are as kind and helpful as you can get. No one speaks great English, but they do speak some. And they will try to help in any way they can. You will not feel like no one wants to help - they are SUPER NICE here. Breakfast is always different and quite good. The rooftop area is a great place for a cold drink and to look out over the town. Drinks (coke, beer, etc.) are available for purchase and are very reasonably priced. Internet is not strong everywhere, but it is pretty good. No hot water in the shower - be prepared. But it is hot in Cartagena and this is not as a big a problem as you may think. Rooms have good air conditioners.
4 out of 5
by Alison

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really helpful owners

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: great owners
When we lost our bags the staff went the extra mile to make sure we got them back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Incredible Employees

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Orbitz
The staff at this hotel is incredible; over the top level of service and really cater to guests' needs. Example: I was being a fussy brat, pouting about how I wanted fruits which were more exotic than those they were serving. Instead of telling me they would pick some up for the next day's breakfast, they sent an employee out and he ran back to the hotel kitchen from the market in less than 5 mins with special fruit for me! Wow. But the best example happened another day of my 5-night stay. I am a solo female world traveler. A rough local market doesn't scare me. I read about the huge and especially lively (i.e. unsafe) market and wanted to experience it. When I asked the hotel staff how to get there, they begged me not to go. They said I might get robbed, etc. When I insisted, they relented and gave me heaps of advice on how to stay safe and be savvy in that environment. I admit, it was far more rough than I ever imagined! I took a taxi there at 10:30am and stayed for an hour, after which I went straight into town and joined some friends I met in Medellín. When I finally came back to the hotel around 11pm, the manager and another staff member were waiting for me in a panic. They immediately asked me where I had been and if I was ok and told me how relieved they were! Of course I was fine, just out having fun! When I checked my email, I saw they had even messaged me saying they were very worried about me. Like having a family to look after me! Very charming.
5 out of 5
by Juankarlos

Great stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing service, walking distance from everything and the hospitality was great. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very comfortable hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: The location and the coziness of the place.
Cons: I don't believe anything needs improvement.
Location: Locals nearby sitting on chairs in front of their homes. Seems people like to sit outside to enjoy the breeze that was constant
We are a family of four, with two teenage girls.We arrived on a Sunday afternoon Esperanza and Leo were at the hotel entrance to welcome us. Our room had four single beds which makes it very comfortable for our family. As we settled in we immediately wanted to tour Cartagena. German the young man working the desk gave us a map of the city and proceeded to show us where the good restaurants were and how the city was laid out. We truly enjoyed the plaza that was near the hotel, it is not in the center of the tourist area but had good restaurants and a local grocery store. The first night in Cartagena there was a large Zumba class in the plaza where locals and tourist enjoyed. That was a lot of fun. The hotel has a great breakfast, and the staff goes out of their way to assure we are comfortable. Cartagena is a beautiful city which is rich in history
5 out of 5
by Victor

THANK YOU HOTEL PATIO

Posted Mar 24, 2016 on Hotels
Best stay in an economical hotel in a very long time. All that worked at the hotel could not have been more genuinely friendly and helpful. rooms were great, clean, and has everything you need. only a few blocks walk from the bars and 10-15 minute walk to downtown. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
5 out of 5
by Kendrick from Miami

surprisingly wonderful

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: 10 mins from clock tower and all the main areas Cons: in a poor neighborhood so it does have that scary Street feel but staff assures me the area is safe to walk in. I walked at night, alone, and it was OK. Tip: if you're a light sleeper as for a room on the other side of hotel it's literally inches from a main road and traffic runs all night so you won't get sleep. Back rooms are much quieter Wifi: excellent coverage and speed even inside the rooms BIG plus if you need to be connected. The staff I cannot congratulated for treating me with superior service from moving me to another room to even great tour recommendations and places to go, they made you feel like you were staying at their home and provided tons of suggestions on what to do and where to go. Even the tours they offered were cheaper than the guides on the street. If you do not want to take taxis to get to centro and save money this is your best bet. After you get over the feel of the neighborhood and you only have to walk 3 blocks to get over it, all works out great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

great budget place

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Pros: Terrace, good A/C, friendly staff
A great value, really impressive. Quiet A/C, king-size bed, small but modern bathroom, very clean. Roof terrace is lovely. Staff were very nice and the breakfast of coffee, fresh juice, fruit and a small cooked-to-order entree such as scrambled eggs and toast is perfect. Fun area with lots of locals out in the streets.