Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from halifax, ns

Great location!

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Better availability for food after 9pm
Location: Visit the plantation and walk the property. Beautiful gardens and full of surprises
What a fantastic place to spend a couple of relaxing days! Access to the Middleton Plantation is worth the visit. Great cocktail hour between 5-7. Loved our room, though somewhat dated, but a spectacular location . The staff were all somewhat uninterested in what they do, except for the staff at breakfast who were always cheerful and helpful. The free continental breakfast could use some bread and jam. And the menu had a small but tasty selection of options. Our lunch at the Middleton house was perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
The grounds were amazing, and the service was fantastic. If there was any complaint to be had, it would be with housekeeping. The cleaning of the rooms was lacking. And while the hotel was not the most modern, it was maintained and had a certain charm to it. I can not stress enough, just how pleasant and wonderful the staff was. Particularly in the lodge and the lake house.
5 out of 5
by Phillip

Perfect Stay!

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
his was the first time we have stayed at this place, and let me say it was absolutely AMAZING! The inn sits back from the main road, which is a welcome change. To say we were impressed is an understatement. The check-in process was very easy, and the clerk was very helpful. Appreciate having the grounds gated too. Now, about the room-we had a ground level room with a river view. I loved how all the windows are covered with louvered shutters, too! The decor is cozy and you feel comfortable as well relaxed. Normally I do not rave about a hotel bathroom, but this is worth raving about. The tub is HUGE! Great soaker tub for sure, and I loved how there was a glass jar of complimentary bathing salts to enjoy. The bed was extremely comfortable, and we definitely got a great night sleep. The inn has a happy hour at their lodge each night-that was highly impressive. We enjoyed a great adult beverage along with some great appetizers. The wine selection is a little limited, but the craft beer selection was spot on. The grounds-WOW!! We took a stroll around the property in the early evening and was wowed with every turn. The grounds is most definitely a must to explore. The breakfast-it is served at the Lakehouse, and provided a very decent spread. If you wanted a little more, they do have an open kitchen that allows you to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moore, SC

Secluded Gem!!!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: The location and the floor to ceiling windows with plantation shutters.
Cons: Floors should be swept during turn down service and the trash should be emptied as well.
Location: Good secluded location away from the traffic of downtown Charleston. Within 20 - 25 min drive to anything that we wanted to do!
Overall, we had a great experience at Middleton Place. The rooms were nice and inviting. The grounds are very well maintained and stayed clean. It's secluded and right beside the Ashley River which makes for some beautiful scenery. The hardwood floors weren't swept during turn down service. The sand and dirt from the walkway gets tracked back inside the room and makes it very uncomfortable to walk around inside the room without your shoes on. Also, our trash cans weren't emptied during the 3 days that we stayed there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Lori

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
It was a great trip. Very hot for touring the plantation though. Only issue was people above our room waking early at 6:30 and make lots of noise. I'm thinking they were packing and checking out.
4 out of 5
by Don

Vacation 2017

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
It's starting to show its age. Still very nice but could use some maintenance
3 out of 5
by Mary Ann

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
The Inn is very spread out over many acres. Breakfast was in one building, happy hour in another. To get ice I went to another building, down a long flight of stairs to a back corner where I finally found the ice machine. If you wanted to microwave something that happened in another building. The roomy did have coffee makers and refrigerators. The restaurant for lunch or dinner was in another building way far away.