Ratings based on 1,011 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by ron

scale on 0 to 10, a -0.

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is under total construction. No workout room no free breakfast, hard when the breakfast room is closed for construction. This was a total mess and as I told Hotels.com customer service, why didn't your reservation clerk know of this when I booked.
1 out of 5
by Ellen

All ripped up and nowhere else to go

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
They were remodeling and everything was a mess! The only floor open for stay was the 3rd floor. The pool and the fitness area was closed. No breakfast was offered,as they were to have it. Paint buckets and materials were stacked around along with matures. The walls were stripped down and the floors were a mess. The furniture was whatever they had to put in there to rent it out. Not to mention there were 3 or 4 kids running up and down the hallway. Not at all what we were expecting! After a long day at the hospital and checked in around 7 just wanted some rest. Not very happy at all with this trip to erie.
1 out of 5
by jenn from erie, pa

under construction and no help or assistance

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
uncomfortable and a mess
1 out of 5
by Harry

Worst Experience

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
This was the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. So bad it should be taken off of this site. The hotel is under construction. The lobby and 2 of 3 floors are tore up and not accessible. Emenities such as continental breakfast, pool and workout area were not available. All I wanted was a quiet stay, and had to be next to a family with loud children. Desk staff very rude, combative, and felt that no compensation was needed for any of the inconveniences. If this room wasn't non refundable, I would have been way gone. Stay far away from this hotel, rude staff and all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

It's all under renovation!

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: Being honest and considerate to customers
Location: Splash Lagoon/casino
I had seen the review and saw just the dining area was under renovation, so I called Orbitz to confirm the situation, placed me on hold & they supposedly got in touch with the hotel (which I then realized it was a lie) was told it was just the dining and they have a temporary location for breakfast. When I arrived, the outside looks nice, seems it was recenlty renovated, but when we entered the doors to enter, it entirely being renovated. Strong construction smell. Attendant welcomed us, very friendly and asked us if we knew about them not having breakfast! I was like umm I spoke to orbitz and I was told there was, he looked pretty confused, meaning orbitz never got a hold of them. He mentioned the entirely hotel was under renovation. Attendant mentioned the 1st and 2nd floor were closed, only floor available was the 3rd. Elevator wasn't working, had to use the stairs. Even though 3rd floor was still being use for customers, the walls were being worked on. I think thuis hotel should not be in service at all. People with asthma or other health issues shouldn't stay here, not healthy, not until hotel is completely done. Pretty sure it will look great great once done! Staff was pretty nice though. But once you book with Orbitz, there was no refund! Plus hotels nearby were are sold out-which wan't helpful at all when you are traveling hours away from home. No discount offered by orbitz either!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Not pleased one bit

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing, there were nothing positive to this hotel
Cons: I understand renovations...but be upfront and tell them before they arrive. Also, Fill your soda machine, and check shower curtains.
Location: across the street from splash Lagoon
You should disclose that the hotel is under renovation before you book there.. Upon arriving the desk is not finished or anything, walls are not done.. the guy who signed us in then told us we are under renovations there will be no breakfast. and we are on the 3rd floor and the elevators do not work.. SUPER!!! Enter the stairway...nothing but drywall...not painted...and mold coming through in places...I took pictures..its gross.. Next we get to our room, its a good size...looked clean, I jump in shower, and there are two blood spots on the shower curtain, Previous person must have cut themselves shaving or something and brushed up against the curtain, DISGUSTING...My wife was absolutely furious at this. Wanted a soda, soda machines are empty... Nothing about this would EVER make me or tell anyone to stay here!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Hotel staff was very friendly!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We really enjoyed our trip to Erie. The staff at Solstice couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. However the hotel was in the middle of renovation so there was no breakfast, elevator or pool. We booked the hotel thinking we would have these amenities, pretty disappointed we didn't. We didn't know about the renovation till we got to the hotel to check in, really wish this information would have been available sooner to us. We would book this hotel again, just as long as renovation is completed.
1 out of 5
by John

Only the price of the room was good

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
The bed was like sleeping on lumpy concrete. They did not plow parking lot after snow storm. The hotel lobby was a mess because of construction, the construction workers were swearing at each other. The place is run down and the construction dust just makes it worse. They never came and cleaned my room in the 3 days I was there.the rates were reasonable but other budget hotels in the area are a lot nicer and the beds are not like sleeping on railroad tracks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western PA

When renewing, say so!!!

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Once refurbished, this hotel will be a decent buy. As of February 11, 2017, it looks like a war zone!! Fine employees, but neither pool nor breakfast is available to guests. Call before making reservations or be disappointed!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and close to shopping

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
It was under construction during our visit. No noise but lobby was a mess. Room was good, beds comfortable.