Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

BED BUGS. Please check your rooms before sleeping!

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
We had booked 4 nights (September 28th-October 2nd, 2016) and when we got there the receptionist was very nice and showed us a map with descriptions of everywhere that was very helpful. She then took us to our room (#209). That night as we were getting into bed we noticed a bed bug crawling on the curtains and 3 on the walls next to the bed. We also saw signs of bed bugs under the strip of wall paper. We packed up and told the night receptionist who showed us a plug in bug deterrent for mosquitoes (he also spoke no English so we had trouble communicating). We left the hotel with a note saying we wanted a refund and that we were staying elsewhere. We got a full refund with no hassle after coming back two days later, as we were booked to be out of Florence the entire day. The employee said they inspected the other rooms and found no bed bugs, but they closed the room we stayed in and called the exterminator. Whether or not that is true is unknown. Please inspect your rooms thoroughly!
5 out of 5
by Micah from Nashville, TN

Awesome hotel and service!

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was located very close to the SMN train station. It was convenient to the bus stop and within walking distance of many attractions. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and very helpful- they helped us with train tickets, directions, etc. and they let us keep our bags there after check out since we were touring more that day. The room was spacious (we had a triple room) and it had an incredible view of the city. Everything was very clean. The breakfast buffet was nice to have in the morning since Italian breakfast is usually just a cornetto. They have cereal, fruit, yogurt, cheese and meat, cornetti, and more. Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Hotel Andrea and we would come back again to stay there when we visit Florence again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff. Very sweet hotel.

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely, warm staff. Great breakfast. Clean, cosy room. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Decent but smells like an ashtray

Posted Sep 11, 2014
So, I wanted to stay somewhere more classically European. I loved the old elevator and stairs up to our room. My travel mate was not so impressed and labelled this place a hole. I thought it had charm, though it reeks of cigarette smoke (as did most of Europe in my opinion). I would only steer you away if you like a more modern hotel or have pretentious tastes. Otherwise, give it a try.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is great, room a bit old

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
Staff is very helpful, location is great, price is fair. The rooms are quite old though.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good as expected

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Bath room is really narrown and small , no holder for soap or shampoo in the shower room . Breakfast start at 8 am which is really not good enough .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view and close to train station.

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Traditional Italian decor and great location.
Location: Walking distance to train station and Doumo, as well as nice restaurants.
Nice hotel staff and wonderful view from our hotel room to oversee the Doumo.
5 out of 5
by Jim McAfee from Cupertino, CA, USA

Great location

Posted Jul 6, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel is basic, but the service is outstanding and the staff is extremely helpful. Very clean, but small room with wonderful view of downtown area. Location is within easy walking distance of all main museums and attractions.
4 out of 5
by Dave

fine stay

Posted Jan 27, 2013 on Hotels
Delightful and courteous staff. Hotel is a charming mom-and-pop operation--my single room was clean, quite small but with an updated bathroom. Very convenient location a 5 minute walk from the Santa Maria train station and a 10/15 minute from the Duomo. Entrance is a bit unusual: first you get buzzed in through a gate and then take an old-style elevette to the 3rd floor for the hotel check-in desk. Free breakfast and WiFi were much appreciated. Hotel was undergoing renovation to its lobby when I stayed.
2 out of 5
by Vess

Don't stay there!

Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Andrea in September 2012. When we arrived they put us in an extremely small room. The bathroom was extremely tiny and it was literally difficult to actually take a shower due to the size. The room was small too, the bed took the entire room. Basically they had taken a room and built a very tiny bathroom within the room. I have never seen something like that and I was born in Europe and am used to the small size of things. The air conditioning was not working and the receptionist said, just to open the window. There were no mosquito nets and when asked about that she said, just plug in the anti-mosquito device. Like they work! She was very rude and even said that we are young, so we should be able to deal with this! We complained the next day to the manager and they offered us two other rooms. Both of the other rooms were much better and we moved to one of them. I should point out that there is a huge difference from room to room in this hotel, so you may have a good experience or an awful one. Finally, breakfast was not great. The bread was old and hard and the variety of food was very poor. I definitely don't recommend staying there, unless you have the option of choosing your room, which I don't think is going to happen.