Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Loud

Posted Jul 11, 2017
There was a loud party near our room that continued until 3 am. Lots of door slamming and yelling. Management did nothing to quiet them down. One day we didn't get maid service. I wouldn't recommend.
1 out of 5
by Brenjinelly

Will Never Stay There Again

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
On May 6 our family checked in at 4:30. When we arrived, we weren't greeted, the lady at the front desk just stared at us until we walked up to the counter. On our way to our room, in the hallway were trays of food on the floor and a coffee mugs on top of the fire extinguisher box. I didn't think much of it until my family and I got back from dinner at 8 to notice the same dirty trays and mugs were in the same spot! The room smelled musty, didn't have a mini fridge/microwave, and did not have a safe. I had to walk down to the main lobby in the middle of the night to use the microwave in order to warm up a bottle for my son and get a drink for my father who suffers from several medical conditions not allowing him to walk. The bathroom floor was filthy and the shower had mildew all over it. There were guest that had a get together in the pool area and the next day the garbage they left behind was still there. In the restroom near the pool had dirty towels and garbage all over from the night before. The overall experience was very disappointing and to have out of state family stay there was a total embarrassment. Definitely not what I expected from this hotel.
2 out of 5
by Molly

A struggle to enjoy ourselves

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Mother's day dinner: Took my very ill mom for mother's day dinner in the hotel restaurant. After waiting over an hour for our food, we finally just left. They didn't even bother to bring us water. There wasn't enough wait staff for the "big party" they had in the other room. They couldn't have cared less that we were they, in fact they were annoyed by our presence and made it apparent. The waitress was mean and the management's staffing decisions are to blame. Did they not know it was mother's day? Besides the "big party" in the banquet room, there were very few customers in the restaurant. This may very well have been my mother's last mother's day as she has 2 kinds of leukemia. A total bust for our family dinner! So sad!! On the up side, the pool, hot tub and beds are nice. The common areas of the hotel need to be cleaned & the TV's are too small. I thought the Crown Plaza was a nicer place than it really is, my mistake. Won't happen again. *The breakfast buffet waitress was TERRIFIC! The food was less than mediocre.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by Joe Isernia, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience concerning your recent stay with us. I apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we appreciate your feedback and this matter is being looked into. We hope to have another chance at hosting you should your travels bring you back to Independence Ohio. Joe Isernia General Manager
5 out of 5
by Brooke

Awesomeness

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was great except location. There is not a lot of walking distant places to eat or to have fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Joe Isernia, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. Joe Isernia General Manager
4 out of 5
by Reva

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by nicholas

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Joe Isernia, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. I am deeply disappointed to hear of your displeasure with the hotel. I do hope that you would consider staying with us once again. Joe Isernia General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was great, with one exception the workout room did not have the equipment that was advertised on the website.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Joe Isernia, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence as your hotel of choice during your last visit to Cleveland. We were truly humbled by your gracious comments regarding our hotel service team. We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South when your travels next bring you to Cleveland. Joe Isernia General Manager
2 out of 5
by Derrick

Great hotel, horrible guests

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel and amenities were great, the pool was open until 10 pm which the kids loved. The room was comfortable and clean. The only downside to the stay, and it was a major downside, was we were placed in a room that was surrounded by other guests who were there for a wedding and reception at the banquet hall at the hotel. The staff were great but the other guests were HORRIBLE! They were all out in the hallway all hours of the night running and screaming, waking my 4 year old up multiple times. I called the front desk and informed them and they promptly sent someone up and for 20 minutes or so they wedding attendees would go back into their rooms but would eventually filter back out into the hallway where they would continue to party and make a ton of noise. Staff did what they could to quiet them but didn't have much success. My suggestion to future guests would be to ask if there was any large parties in the hotel and if there are to be placed FAR away from them to avoid experiencing how bad my 2 nights were.
2 out of 5
by Predrag

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels