Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Nothing and I would not stay here or recommend it.
Cons: Every aspect of this hotel needs to be improved and updated. It is a really awful property.
Location: It is located on the end of a road that leads into Ponto Ischia and is on a bus route.
This hotel has one of the best views of the castle (which is what I looked at when booking)but is the poorest condition of any hotel I saw on the island or in all of Italy for that matter. One person working there when we tried to check in. Not very nice. Even taking into account that it is not the main tourist season, this place is in terrible disrepair. Dirty, unkept grounds. Broken light fixtures in the hallways. Terrible stale cigarette smell in the rooms. The location is at the end of the road high on the hillside and the bus route to Ponto which is on the south end of the island near the castle. It is a long walk into town with both up and downhill portions. Bus route was not very timely. I was very surprised that Expedia allows this property to be listed on their site because of the total disrepair and run down condition. We moved immediately and I would not recommend this property to anyone, especially if you don't smoke or if you have small children. Practically any hotel on the island would be a better choice. We moved to Porto and stayed in a totally non-smoking property with many amenities and close to all the open shops and restaurant. On the waterfront and easy access to the ferry for the same price. Expedia was not much help getting moved so be careful and be sure you really want to stay here before you book it. I ended up having to pay twice for a hotel in order not to be stuck here. But it was a small price to pay not to have to spend the night here.
5 out of 5
by James from Cynthia Greenberg from San Anselmo California

Paradise found

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
A gorgeous seaside retreat with amazing views, a private beach, a restaurant, pool, a spa with warm thermal bath. Mara gives a fantastic massage. There is a taxi boat to town and the staff was helpful at arranging ground transportation. A friendly fun, Italian retreat. Tony was great and the little dog Bella made us feel at home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vienna

Relaxing in Ischia

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: inexpensiv luxury
Cons: the toilett seat should be modified in room 102
Location: walking,roundtrip on the island and in summer time go dowstairs to the rocky beach.In front of the hotel there are two big pools and many space to sit
It's a place for people who like the spezial.Hot spring inside,silent surounding with lookout to the see.breakfast,lunch and dinner are just for gourmet.I stayed only two days but I will turn back again asap.
5 out of 5
by Jan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great View

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: THE VIEW
Cons: THE ROOMS.........THE BREAKFAST
Location: ON THE TOP OF THE MOUNTAIN. GREAT VIEW. NOT A GOOD LOCATION
WAS BUT IN A ROOM DOWN THE HILL FROM THE HOTEL. RAINED ON THE SECOND DAY AND WOKE UP AT 6AM AND WAS ANKLE DEEP IN WATER. THE PICTURE ON EXPEDIA IS NOT THE ROOM WE WERE GIVEN
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

this hotel sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Oct 4, 2012 on Hotels
disgusting and dirty hotel nothing like the website.........didnt even stay 1 day had to pay for another hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Brunswick, Canada

Hotel Delfini Should be rated a 5 star .

Posted Nov 5, 2011 on Hotels
Beautiful location , Ocean Front Amazing View , Room was large with king size bed , glazed moziac tile floors and ultra modern high tech digital massage shower . An awsom experience . 3 night stay , wished it could have been longer .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basel, Schweiz

Hotel Delfini - stay clear of it!

Posted Jun 20, 2011 on Hotels
Our first room was clean but AC, high-tech shower and lights didn't work properly. I don't book a 4-star hotel if I would accept bad or insufficient rooms. The hotel did mix up our departure date what led to an unhappy situation: when we returned from a trip, staff had moved our belongings and was very unfriendly. After having seen our written confirmation of the hotel’s administration (with the correct dates), we got another room which was totally inacceptable: dirty, pubic hairs in the shower, an AC as loud as a jackhammer and (most inconvenient) no window! The hotel manager in charge was very unfriendly. Firstly, he tried to bully us. Having no success with this, he tried to trick us by a strange rate for the second room which was even higher than their public offering in the internet. After we complained about the rate (and room), he wanted to mollify us with a "special price" which was still over their ordinary standard rate. Staff speaks only Italian and we were happy that my wife is fluent in Italian. They don't speak English, French or German what is really stunning for a hotel that has 4 stars. And despite our troubles, no one ever apologized for our inconvenience (what would be the absolute minimum of professional behaviour)! You could argue that the location itself with the private beach (includes a marvelous view to Castell Arogonese) would be worth the troubles. But it is not: the private beach is dirty, garbage is dispersed over the area and the gangplank along the shore is not only rusty but rots away and maims the view. Just to make this point clear: we speak about 30 square-meters or so… We are both frequent business travelers and hobby backpackers. By booking Delfini, we intended to go for a classy hotel. Nevertheless, we had a stay which was below the ordinary backpacker standards we experienced at Italian hotels with only 2 stars. We’re sorry but we cannot recommend this location!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Staff and Best Views in Ischia

Posted Dec 28, 2010 on Hotels
I loved this hotel. Its quaint and charming and has the most beautiful views of the ocean and the castle. The staff are all quite friendly (although speak very limited english) and helpful to extreme. Sam the mini-bus driver is the best! The rooms are perfect for couples or friends and have very hi-tec showers.We had a lovely vacation and highly recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Bad Service...for some...great location

Posted Nov 5, 2009
Ischia is beautiful --go. The Hotel Strand Delphini has substandard service. After traveling 24 hours I was shown to a small, dark, dirty, ragged room. I barely had the strength to complain, but after trying to get me to stay in the tiny hole they finally agreed to another room -- definitely not four star. The hotel did not like having a single woman in the restaurant, and the only bad food (quite bad) and bad service (surly and churlish waiter and waitress) I had anywhere on the island was in the hotel restaurant. I had a long stay at the Delphini -- eight days. When very cold it took me 2 days to get a blanket like cardboard. I had the feeling, reinforced by an Austrian woman I met, that the Italians at the hotel were getting much better rooms and better treatment than single women from other countries. I paid for a double room -- cold and not terribly clean. Shower stall was moldy. For all its rot though it was most spectacular location and view on the island. It's a hike to town, so if you don't like to walk a few miles ... Ishchia was heavenly, and I do want to return someday...but never to the Delphini. They were rude and dishonest. I do not speak Italian perhaps a contributing factor... the staff didn't really speak English, but I really don't think that was the problem. Every other establishment I went too treated me beautifully. Ischia is the Garden of Eden, but avoid the mean nasty Delphini.