Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Urban Inn ...in the middle of everything Plaza

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pleasant stay...staff was exceptional...great place if you're wanting to be on the Plaza
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A lovely spot from which to visit KC

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
This place is a gem, in the Plaza District of Kansas City a short walk from the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art which is very nice, the JC Nichols Fountain which is one of the most famous of Kansas City's amazing number of fountains, and The Plaza which is a big outdoor shopping mall that held no attraction for us but undoubtedly does for others. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Our room was really small and the furniture was arranged in such a way that you almost had to shuffle sideways to go around the bed and get to the bathroom. Beautiful inn and great location; just not as comfortable a room as we have experienced at other places.
4 out of 5
by Sarah from Fleetwood, NY

A great stay

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Went to KC to visit friends who just moved, so no staying with them. This B&B was the closest hotel to their new house. It was lovely, clean, and also close to attractions. I didn't spend much time in my room, but I had three great breakfasts, and it was convenient to get to my friends and back each day. The living room was also widely used by myself and other guests for daily cookies and wine, chatting with an extra cup of coffee after breakfast, reading the paper, etc.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Best location

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Location perfect and gourmet breakfasts. In middle of everything and quiet. Even at 100 degrees the room was cool as was the main area.
Felt like I was in a garden. Almost never noticed the near buildings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by stuart from OKC

Best place to stay in Kansas City

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
The staff is fa-nominal- They care about you as a customer / Patron and go the extra mile.
5 out of 5
by Hillary

Adorable, amazing B&B

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
What a complete treat this was! This is an adorable B&B, tucked into a residential neighborhood near Country Club Plaza. The breakfast was a gourmet home-cooked set of three courses. There was even complementary sherry in the room. I can't even rave enough about it. The only thing is that it was a bit hard to find, so look out for the building being a bit set back from the street. Would gladly stay again!
5 out of 5
by Michaele

Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
very pleasant,attentive staff--great breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Lovely BnB with breakfast to die for.

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Customer service, proximity to shopping and restaurants, outstanding breakfasts, and lovely setting.
Cons: Be warned that the walls are thin as it is an old home. Things, can be, well, entertaining. I'm not sure that they can do anything about this.
Location: You are within walking distance to the Country Club Plaza area, which is brimming with shops and restaurants.
We stayed at the Southmoreland for a couple days on the way to Colorado. The entire experience was quite pleasant. The staff and owners are very friendly and accommodating, and the hotel and grounds are well maintained and beautiful. I would have to say that the breakfasts were the best I have had at a BnB. Mark, the owner is an excellent cook, and his dishes were as creative as they were yummy. His wife, Nancy is a charming woman, and you can tell they both deeply care about the satisfaction of the guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Apr 21, 2016
The location could not be better for the plaza. Wonderfully clean house, great breakfast (the kind where you want the recipe), and all amenities. Made me wish our trip was longer. Really.