Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison,WI

One day from renovation

Posted Oct 9, 2017
We stayed the second to last night before the hotel’s much needed renovation. Nevertheless, location was perfect ( we were going to stay in Rapid City but chose to push on a bit further to facilitate seeing Mount Rushmore, Custer, Needle and Crazyhorse the day after our stay). This allowed us to easily make Devils Tower and eventually Buffalo for the night en route to the north entrance of Yellowstone. the beds were the best we had slept in ( Family of four with 8 year olds). Breakfast was fine. Staff were friendly. While the pool, carpets and furnishings were outdated, the hotel was slated to shut down after one more night for full renovation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Estes Park ,Colorado

Worse stay I’ve ever had

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Fumes coming in from outside, kids knocking on doors at all hours of the night, was moved to another floor, which the wait staff commented “your probably going to like this room either, got to the room with putting things away walked into the bathroom to put our toiletries there and behind the door there was a pile of hair along with in the tub. The swimming pool and hot tub area looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in months the hot tub was really disgusting with a gray Film across the top
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW Australia

Trip to Mt Rushmore

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location to MT Rushmore
Cons: Parking
Location: A good base for exploring Mt Rushmore and the Crazy Horse memorial
The Hotel is in a great location overlooking Keystone. The room was good. Parking was difficult and I had to park over the opposite side of the hotel from our room. But overall a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: proximity to mount rushmore
Nice dinner recommendation from staff after long drive and nice location to Mount Rushmore
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We had to change rooms because the first room was not in condition for the amount of money we were paying to stay there. The bathrooms need to be updated with more economical bathtubs or just have walkin showers. The breakfast was just metiokre. The biscuits were cold and the gravy was in a crockpot. Just need to do some updates there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Clean, nice affordable place/

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: clean/affordable/tasty breakfast
Cons: room size, earlier start to breakfast.
Location: Mt Rushmore is minutes away, the little town of Keystone is pleasant!
Breakfast was good, everything fairly clean. The double bed room was really tight for 2 adults and 2 kids of ages 1 and 3.
4 out of 5
by Hailey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by GAIL

Horrible

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
First off, when I got there, late at night, they couldn't get me checked in and blamed it on Hotels.com. I waited for a half hour. I stayed there for 3 nights. My room was not cleaned once. I had to go to the front desk to get fresh towels every day. I complained about it and they wrote my name down on a list, because I was not the only person complaining. The girl at the desk said they were compensating people for it and that I would have to call Hotels.com. I called and the gentleman called this hotel and they acted like they didn't know what I was talking about and pretty much called me a liar. Hotels.com compensated me for the inconvenience. In general, the room was lousy. It was so small that there wasn't anywhere to put your luggage, you couldn't hardly turn around in it . The pool area didn't look very clean. Not enough seating in the breakfast area. My stay was 100% terrible.
5 out of 5
by linda

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very close to mount rushmore And other attractions
3 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Inattentive staff, slow check in process. Continental breakfast was in a too small of a room...not enough seating