Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Great hostel for a fair price the location was inside where you can jump on a cab and go. The people working there were very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by KC - Generator Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on the Generator Venice. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Venice in the near future. Kind regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great value, safe hostel

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great hostel, easy to access but away from the hustle and bustle and crowds of the main centre but still in a very safe area. Friendly, helpful and approachable staff, clean rooms, nice atmosphere in the bar/reception/dining area downstairs. This was my second stay here and I doubt it'll be my last - great value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by SARA, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts about your last stay with us at Generator Venice, We highly appreciate our guest's opinions, both good and bad, because it helps us improve our services in order to always guarantee a 5 star stay to our guests. Thank you again and hope to have you again with us in our Venice location. Best regards Generator Venice Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Men in woman's' dorm

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Rude front desk. Didn't care about concerns. Stay away!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Value for money plus almost new facilities

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Location is great - close to ferry terminal. Great almost brand new facilities and the bar/receiption looks great. The only feedback for improvement (to make almost perfect stay) is to have many of towel hangers or at least some close to the showers AND somewhat soundproof windows to alleviate noise outside! I sleep well regardless of its surrounding but my 'one-night' roommates struggled a bit ;) But above all these did not let me down at all. I'd score 4.9 out of 5
5 out of 5
by Rachel

10/10 best hostel I've stayed in

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Staff, view, location, quality, everything is amazing. Would 100% come back again. Stayed for 2 weeks! Such a great spot!!
4 out of 5
by Philippa

Great location and atmosphere

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and atmosphere. I was in a small mixed dorm of 5 beds, which comes with the usual issues when sharing space with strangers - especially when one of them snores like a freight train for two nights! If travelling on your own try getting a private room (or have really good earplugs). As the hostel is located on one of the smaller islands, I'd recommend buying a 24 or 48 hour vaporetto pass so you can take the ferry as often as you like - much cheaper than buying individual tickets.
2 out of 5
by Michael

Bed bugs

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Has bed bugs so in general is a no go! Expensive compared to other place, but located in a nice area with good staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Venice Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Apologies for the delay, but this was due to the fact that the bed bug internal protocol is quite strict and lengthy. Following your stay we have isolated all areas and called in a company that has monitored the area over a period of 15 day in order to certificate 100% the room. The result of the inspection is negative, meaning that during this time no trace, no activity not eggs were found in the those nor in the adjacent rooms. We sincerely apologies for that has caused a bit of inconvenience, having said this, we can gladly say that our premises are not been affected by this bug. Hoping to welcome you back in the future, we wish you safe travel. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida turist

Clean, friendly hotel. Very techy

Posted Jul 19, 2017
This hotel is very oroented to young people. They have open bar and snacks until late so it invites people staying there to share and talk late which may make it noisy for some, in our case we been a family of 5 found it very friendly, staff really nice, it seems that it went thru renovations not long ago. Would recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hostel

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Staffs are all very friendly and e-mail they gave me before check in had good amount of information which is very helpful. For some reason, on first night A/C was off and towel was out... It made my stay a bit harder. Shower room can be more clean. Over all I could enjoy stay in Venice, though.
5 out of 5
by Thajssjla

Love the private suite!

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our specious and new room, specifically the view from our windows, only downside was that there was a small glass window between our room and the room next door, still was very private because the window doesn't open and the ceiling is so high just didn't understand why it existed, but that was a minor thing, everything else was excellent