Ratings based on 364 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Almost excellent, but not quite!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The location, breakfasts, room appointments, and accommodating staff.
Cons: Eliminate the missteps that occurred.
Location: Close to Buckingham Palace and St. James Park. Nearby taxi stand and underground stops were convenient too.
We had a decent room as far as appointments, features, accommodations, and space. However, we overlooked an alley and in seeking a better view we were not accommodated. We had the staff perform a few functions for us. these generally were carried out with enthusiasm, but didn't quite make the grade (a show shine that was not done properly and an arrangement of a tour that was mishandled, costing us some extra money). A wall switch that operated the towel bar heater failed and had to be replaced. The hotel manager sent us a fruit basket with chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne to make up for the mishaps, but I'd frankly have preferred nothing to have happened that required such a gesture. Still it was an acknowledgement that was appreciated. After checkout, days later, we were credited with the tour package cost that had been mishandled, so in monetary terms the hotel made good on the issue. Still, while the hotel did the right things to make up for these issues, it would be preferable to not have even experienced them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Best hotel I have ever stayed at in London. Huge, well appointed rooms with incredibly helpful and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Convenient location near Buckingham Palace

Posted May 12, 2017
Excellent accommodations, great service. The suites at 51 Buckingham Gate are spacious and comfortable. A wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Amazing service

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Beautiful series of buildings around a courtyard, with large suites. Fantastic, personal service.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Close to Buckingham Palace and the park. Not far from the tube which takes you anywhere in London.
The hotel is lovely, and our two bedroom suite was enormous. What sets it apart, however, is the service. Every level of staff made us feel special. The food on site and at Quilon, their Michelin starred Southern Indian restaurant was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kiev

Excellent

Posted May 5, 2017
Friendly stuff, perfect accommodations, fast wifi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Huge 1 bedroom suite

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Size of room and location.
Cons: Top notch already
Location: Buckingham Palace, Victoria Station, shopping along the avenue behind the hotel, pubs, and pastry breakfast shop across the street.
The room was enormous and had all the amenities. Right behind Buckingham Palace and close to Victoria Station and St. James underground. Staff very attentive and friendly. We had a fully equipped kitchen/washer dryer/Nespresso and bathroom fully stocked with products in case you forgot anything! Neighborhood so safe. Try the two local pubs right down the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mattresses and linens luxurious, very comfortable.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Amazing hotel. Will look to stay at other Taj Hotels when we travel in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Perfect hotel, I would recommend it to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Gorgeous hotel with lovely staff.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Great location. Very clean. An calm and comforting oasis in a busy city. 2 bedroom suite is perfect for families. Fabulous concierge staff.
Cons: Our one complaint was the loud pump noise we heard whenever we turned on the sink or the shower. We notified the staff but nothing could be done.
Location: Right in the heart of London...easy to walk to all major sights. Near the best park in London...St. James Park.
We loved our stay at the Taj! The staff is so nice, helpful and courteous. Our room was beautiful. room service was quick and delicious. Housekeeping services were impeccable.
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels