Ratings based on 322 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Refined elegance--highly recommended

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Outstanding hotel in every aspect. Outstanding suite w/ kitchen. Well appointed, expresso maker, washer/dryer, coffee, tea, beautiful fruit tray on arrival and fruit in our room every day. The staff was remarkable and worked to spoil us. We ate breakfast at the hotel every day--outstanding food and service. We also tried the adjoining Indian restaurant, which was superb. A few blocks from Buckingham Palace and other key sites--outstanding in every aspect
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Fantastic location and excellent for families!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Cons: If one had rented a car you would be in a pinch since the Taj really has no parking. Given its central location though we really found no use fora car
Being a family of 5 means difficulties finding one room arrangements to fit us all. The Kings suite with 3 bedrooms and a full kitchen/living room at the Taj was ideal and worked out essentially the same as booking two rooms in a standard hotel in central London. This was my first time booking through Expedia which saved $ and also scored free breakfast each day for our entire clan. (Moreover, this is the first time I have ever left a hotel review!). To be honest, I had never even heard of the Taj chain of hotels before I began my search on Expedia, usually preferring Fairmont hotels. In the end, the Taj food, service and amenities were all superb as were all of the staff. The central location facilitated our adventures if not by easy walking distance to sights such as Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar square, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey and Cathedral, Churchill War Rooms, London Eye etc., then the nearest Tube station was about 1 1/2 blocks away. Nearby grocery stores allowed us to stock up our kitchen and in a pinch, there was always the butler service which we found we really didn't need. The courtyard of the Taj was an excellent oasis to pause for a cup of tea or for some quiet reflection time. The workout facilities were spacious and outfitted with the latest high end machines. Sadly we did not get a chance to use the spa services so are unable to comment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Nice Luxury Hotel in Good Location

Posted Sep 7, 2016
This is a luxury hotel of all suites. The suites are true one and two bedrooms, not the phony suites of one small room divided into two smaller rooms. This hotel is part of the complex with anothrr adjoining Taj hotel. The suites are large and well appointed. Staff is friendly and professional. Taj is a well run and growing chain of luxury hotels and resorts and does a great job finding and retaining motivated staff. Room service was highly professional. The concierge we used, Alex, was very helpful. Professional and helpful Bell staff, as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel in London

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Excellent location, amazing staff, do not hesitate and book your stay at this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff makes the difference!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Everything! Great hotel with accessible rooms for handicapped.
Location: Close to all of the best sightseeing. Buckingham Palace nearby and walking distance to Parliament, Big Ben, etc. St James Park is excellent diversion.
There are many lovely hotels in London. The Taj 51 Buckingham Gate is close to all of the best sightseeing, has large rooms which are impeccably maintained, and has the amenities expected of a hotel in its class. The difference is the staff. We experienced a level of service that was personal and exceptional. During our stay, the staff handled a medical emergency with skill and compassion. The concierge staff was capable and prompt in their assistance with every need. The front desk accommodated our large party with grace and competence. The dining staff was always ready to handle each particular need including sending my husband pastries each morning during his hospitalization! Housekeeping was great. All in all the performance of the staff raised the hotel above many of the lovely hotels of its class in London. We will return!
5 out of 5
by Don from San Francisco

will definitely return

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed in the junior suite with kitchen. This was a very nice room, essentially an apartment. Comfortable, very clean, like new condition. We were there only one night this trip to check it out, but it'll be on our list for next time.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Great Hotel With Exceptional People

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
I travel a lot for business. This was one of those lucky trips I got to bring my wife and son (18 mo.) with me. I have probably stayed at 30 different hotels last 9-12 months or so. TAJ 51 stands atop the list. Everything about this place was special: the location, the room sizes, the amenities. But what sets this place apart is the people. They are determined to make you stay a special one. They did it for us. Every day we were there, they were on standby to serve and assist.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

This is the perfect home from home in London

Posted May 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I am struggling to think!!
Location: It is sick in the heart of London beside St James Tube station and there are Cabs always waiting outside
The staff deliver old fashioned impeccable British service in modern luxury. Nothing is too much trouble and each day your room is represented in fully serviced check-in standard cleanliness.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Truly the nicest and best hotel I've ever used.

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Truly everything.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: Half a mile or so to Biuckingham Palace. Victoria Station is close as well. St. James Tube nearby as well as plenty of pubs.
This hotel deserves a ten out of five! It truly is the best and nicest hotel we've ever stayed in. From the staff to the facility itself, Taj is truly tops! I reviewed over 200 hotels before booking Taj 51; it was clearly the best from reviews and from our experiences. Honestly, I was a bit dubious because the reviews were so positive, but it did not disappoint. Our "junior suite" was a four room suite, with full kitchen, living room, and bedroom. The bathroom was so large I include it as a room. Since we arrived on an early flight from the States, we thought we would check our bags at the hotel and go out. They provided us complimentary coffee and tea, with biscuits in a "recovery" suite, which was like a library. Andre, the Concierge, was the best. He showed us everything in the room and explained it all. Fresh fruit to espresso machine, etc., etc. Free happy hour was also very nice, and the staff were superb, and very personable. We just could not believe this hotel was so nice, AND in central London, about half a mile from Buckingham Palace, and very close to St. James Tube stop. I could go on and on, but have exhausted all my superlatives!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing short of amazing!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Taj 51 is nothing but amazing. From check in abs during our entire stay we were blessed with nothing but friendliness. We would definitely stay here again.