Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel in London

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Excellent location, amazing staff, do not hesitate and book your stay at this hotel!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff makes the difference!

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Everything! Great hotel with accessible rooms for handicapped.
Location: Close to all of the best sightseeing. Buckingham Palace nearby and walking distance to Parliament, Big Ben, etc. St James Park is excellent diversion.
There are many lovely hotels in London. The Taj 51 Buckingham Gate is close to all of the best sightseeing, has large rooms which are impeccably maintained, and has the amenities expected of a hotel in its class. The difference is the staff. We experienced a level of service that was personal and exceptional. During our stay, the staff handled a medical emergency with skill and compassion. The concierge staff was capable and prompt in their assistance with every need. The front desk accommodated our large party with grace and competence. The dining staff was always ready to handle each particular need including sending my husband pastries each morning during his hospitalization! Housekeeping was great. All in all the performance of the staff raised the hotel above many of the lovely hotels of its class in London. We will return!
5 out of 5
by Robert from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Great Hotel With Exceptional People

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
I travel a lot for business. This was one of those lucky trips I got to bring my wife and son (18 mo.) with me. I have probably stayed at 30 different hotels last 9-12 months or so. TAJ 51 stands atop the list. Everything about this place was special: the location, the room sizes, the amenities. But what sets this place apart is the people. They are determined to make you stay a special one. They did it for us. Every day we were there, they were on standby to serve and assist.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth

This is the perfect home from home in London

Posted May 8, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I am struggling to think!!
Location: It is sick in the heart of London beside St James Tube station and there are Cabs always waiting outside
The staff deliver old fashioned impeccable British service in modern luxury. Nothing is too much trouble and each day your room is represented in fully serviced check-in standard cleanliness.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Truly the nicest and best hotel I've ever used.

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Truly everything.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: Half a mile or so to Biuckingham Palace. Victoria Station is close as well. St. James Tube nearby as well as plenty of pubs.
This hotel deserves a ten out of five! It truly is the best and nicest hotel we've ever stayed in. From the staff to the facility itself, Taj is truly tops! I reviewed over 200 hotels before booking Taj 51; it was clearly the best from reviews and from our experiences. Honestly, I was a bit dubious because the reviews were so positive, but it did not disappoint. Our "junior suite" was a four room suite, with full kitchen, living room, and bedroom. The bathroom was so large I include it as a room. Since we arrived on an early flight from the States, we thought we would check our bags at the hotel and go out. They provided us complimentary coffee and tea, with biscuits in a "recovery" suite, which was like a library. Andre, the Concierge, was the best. He showed us everything in the room and explained it all. Fresh fruit to espresso machine, etc., etc. Free happy hour was also very nice, and the staff were superb, and very personable. We just could not believe this hotel was so nice, AND in central London, about half a mile from Buckingham Palace, and very close to St. James Tube stop. I could go on and on, but have exhausted all my superlatives!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing short of amazing!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Taj 51 is nothing but amazing. From check in abs during our entire stay we were blessed with nothing but friendliness. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Lebanon Pa

Impeccable! Couldn't have found a better place!

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Courteous, friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Kanako

Will definitely return. We loved our stay.

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Service was impeccable.
5 out of 5
by Julie from England

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
We love this hotel, I travel to London a lot and wouldn't stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
by James

I will be back

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent rooms- felt more like a flat than a hotel room