Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

A most gracious privately owned hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2016
My wife and I have stayed in many top hotels across Europe yet I would be pushed to think if one where I have received such a warm welcome or one where the staff were more attentive, gracious and helpful. We were in London for a family celebration and booked a "basic" room for one night to use as our base. The room was comfortable, beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and met all of our needs. The hotel has a bar and lounge area where lunch and afternoon tea can be taken. We didn't have dinner here, but breakfast the following morning was very good and the dining room itself a picture of calm elegance. Above all else, the thing that made our trip stand out was the staff. They could not have been more attentive, helpful and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble. Although only a short visit, it was a delight to stay here and we look forward to returning
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nevada

Old World Refinement and Luxury

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: The staff were beyond compare.
Cons: They have a very small work-out facility; however, they proved their guests with a complimentary free pass to a work out club nearby.
Location: If you do not mind walking, go to Wild Food Cafe and Vegan Hippo, delicious and wonderful vegan restaurants not to be missed in London.
The old world charm of the hotel is only superseded by the old world courtesy and welcome of its staff. I do not think my husband and I have ever had such a personal and warm embracement by all who work at the hotel. They make it a point to know their guests by name and it does make a tremendous difference. They are smiling and friendly in a manner difficult to find these days. It is known as one of the last remaining family owned hotels in London and its luxury is unsurpassed. The staff's etiquette and manners are beyond compare and the entire enterprise is one of refinement. It is small, elegant, and regal--suiting its location near Buckingham Palace. The amenities are wonderful as well. We received a lovely jar of jam as a welcome. Not only that, as a guest you receive a little stuffed sheep named Barbara to take home as a souvenir. It is a wonderful small token that not only children will enjoy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A quiet respite in London

Posted Sep 27, 2016
When we travel to London, we always stay at the Goring. It is well located near Buckingham Palace and Green Park. The staff is warm Ang helpful. The bar is charming and food delicious. We love the rooms overlooking the garden
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks County

Feels Like Home

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Two blocks from Victoria Station and the tube stop, yet on a very quiet side street. Walk to Buckingham or Harrods.
The hotel is beautifully appointed, and the staff is exceptional. From Peter at the door to Hannah and Oscar at the desk or Jordan and Ivan in the restaurant, the people here are the crowning touch. Wonderful, wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elkins Park, PA, USA

Great Experience!

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We thoroughly ejoyed our stay here. The wait staff was friendly and very attentive. Peter the doorman was amazing. He was super personable and made my husband and I feel as if we were at home. Location is convenient as the Buckingham Palace is steps away and anything of interest is always of walking distance. Truly an old school hotel with a modern twist. If we ever visit London again we will most definitely stay here!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect location in London.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
This was the best hotel that I've stayed in thus far. The staff was more than accommodating and went that extra mile you don't see nowadays. I will definitely return, and I highly recommend it to other prospective guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nothing But The Best

Posted Sep 3, 2016
The Goring is immaculate in every way but the thing that will make your stay unforgettable is the the incredible staff. The staff takes personal attention to a place beyond anywhere you or I have or ever will experience (unless you stay here, of course!). Do yourself a favor...stay here when in London. I had a most lovely time and I know you will also.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolute ideal location and amazing hospitality

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Charming hotel with wonderful character. All of the staff were superbly helpful and friendly. Breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner were all sumptuous!
Location: Short walk to Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park and numerous other sights/museums/shopping as well as Victoria Underground and Coach (bus) Stations.
This is the best hotel to stay at for seeing the sights in London and experiencing the best hospitality and food you can imagine. You are in walking distance of many signature attractions including Buckingham Palace, which is practically on your doorstep. Other sights are easily accessible by the Tube via Victoria Station just a block away or the Victoria Coach Station (bus). Wonderfully charming hotel with plenty of character, the staff are fabulous and the concierge was superbly helpful at getting us tickets. The Afternoon Tea is a must and the Beef Wellington was the absolute best dish we have ever had! We will only ever stay at The Goring whenever we return to London.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Class act

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: I loved the patio and garden. It's a great spot to get some work done or have a cocktail.
Location: Conveniently located to great shopping and restaurants.
The Goring exceeded my expectations. The service is impeccable and there is great food on the in room dining menu and in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

shower facility needs improvement

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: location and beautifully decorated
Cons: shower can be better to match the standard of this hotel
everything is perfect, have been looked after very well by hotel staff. only small problem is shower facility is dated, and water did not drain quick enough