Ratings based on 325 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Potential

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Central location but poor welcome: if you look foreign, don't bother making the effort to speak Italian, it will not be appreciated. Overwhelmed, unprofessional, unwelcoming young receptionist, biased to local visitors. Overpriced basic facilities, attractive historical building yet it looks neglected.
3 out of 5
by flemming from frederiksberg

fin beliggenhed i historiske område

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
desværre regnede opholdet væk med styrtregn hele døgnet. men hyggelig læsestue og fin restaurant
4 out of 5
by Paula from Göteborg

Vacker miljö.

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Litet rum mot gården men i det stora hela ett vackert gammaldags hotell i fin miljö.
4 out of 5
by Birgitta from Göteborg

Svunna dagar.

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Gammaldags vackert hotell i fina Lucca.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a place I'd recommend"!!!!!!

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
Would not recommend this hotel. WiFi only works occasionally, but you have to be in the hotel lobby. Chairs in breakfast room had "horribly stained" seats. Really "turned our stomachs" and unable to enjoy breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Jens from Sogn

Sentralt og billig

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Bra
4 out of 5
by karen from Oregon

A charming comfortable mix of old and new.

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely old hotel in a great location in the walled city not far from an entrance gate and only a couple of blocks from the train station. Parking was outside the gate but only a 10 minute walk away (5euro/day). The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was fine. The recently renovated rooms ( a second room was occupied by my brother and his wife) were very spacious with new and comfortable furnishings and a great shower. I would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Terry from Tennessee

Find somewhere else

Posted Oct 2, 2015 on Hotels
Very small room. Strange decorations. Bed not to bad. Staff unfriendly and not helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the train station and easy to find

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed in a single room for 1 night. I arrived at the hotel 1.5 hours before the check-in time of 2pm so the receptionist told me to come back at 2pm then my room will be ready. When I came back at 2pm, the room wasn't ready and I was asked to wait for another half an hour. I found their service unprofessional. The hotel is located close to an entrance to the city near the train station and very convenient. The room was very old but it's an old building and I did not mind the old style decor. The room I stayed had a lovely tiled bathroom with windows. The TV in the room did not work and I did not get the Internet connection in my room. my review of the hotel is mixed but because of the location of the hotel I rate it 3 stars.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorchester

A Norma Desmond of a hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: The location and the excellent Ristorante Giglio next door.
Cons: Urgently, the plumbing. Then most of the electrical fittings. Then the furniture, especially in the breakfast room. Then the carpets...
Location: Lucca is small and has a perfect enclosing wall. Glorious churches, impressive towers in marble, brick and stucco. Also full of elderly tourists.
The location is brilliant, commanding the Piazza Giglio and only 15 minutes easy walk from the station. The first impressions are encouraging with its Belle Epoque charm. Once inside the reception, though, it begins to look dowdy, with heavy furniture and a worn carpet. Our welcome was no more than perfunctory. The lift was just big enough for one passenger and two modest bags and except for arrival and departure we used the stairs, which have a nice shallow tread. Our room had plenty of space, the beds were comfortable and the air-conditioning, though a bit noisy, worked well. The bathroom, however, left much to be desired - like enough water to have a proper shower or to run a bath in less than 20 minutes. And the extractor fan roared like a small aircraft. The television set (not that you need one in Lucca) was vintage 1970s, linked by odd cables to somewhere in the wall and produced only classic black and white snowstorm, however many buttons you pressed. Breakfast was adequate - good croissants, cheap fruit juice, machine coffee - but the furniture is depressing. This could be a great hotel with some better management and some much needed refurbishment. At the moment it's like a movie star who's seen better days.