Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good for price, somethings not as advertised

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Cons: Better customer service.
The room and hotel was clean and comfortable and good value. We liked the vintage vibe of the exterior, but rooms were nicely updated. The disappointing thing was that they advertised breakfast and when we checked in we were told they recently stopped doing breakfast without any apology. There was also a sign saying the pool would be closed for maintenance until the next day. We had been traveling all day and looked forward to hitting the pool and hot tub for a bit before we hit the road again the next day. When I asked the lady at the front desk if it would be open in morning or closed all day she looked at me like I was dumb and said "I don't even know what that sign says, what are you talking about?" when I told her what the sign said, she just shrugged it off saying she had no idea when it would be open. Disappointing when you plan on receiving amenities and instead get someone who doesn't even care about service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

Easy getting to. Beer/wine shop nearby.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: No problems.
Location: Easy getting to. Beer/wine shop nearby.
Ordinary place. No problems. ~~Oops! Please add a bit more to your review~~. Damn, I really dislike being forced to add unnecessary gibberish to a review
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great place only 1 complaint!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Close to beaches and restaurants also free appetizer cards are available in the lobby
The doors squeal very loudly when other guests are coming in and out through the night it sounds like an old wooden floor board that's loose
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Half Moon Bay

Hotel was decent

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: It was decent to sleep for one night. As I said, it had a hairdryer, coffee, microwave, and refrigerator in the room.
Cons: Breakfast could be better. Add bagels and cream cheese maybe, and fresh fruit.
Location: Location was good but traffic was terrible driving from Cannery Row back to the hotel on a Thursday afternoon. Still, we liked the location.
Having such a well known name as the Clarion we thought it would be better than it was. It was good in that it had a coffee pot and coffee in the room along with a microwave, refrigerator, & hairdryer. Breakfast wasn't much.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Monterey vacation

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Overall the room was price really well however they are pretty dingy and the morning breakfast is not up to par.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Quiet, great price, and clean.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Great price and close to everything. No hidden charges.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything and in a good neighborhood

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Staff was friendly and the room wasn't bad. Good location. Overall we enjoyed our stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff; filthy place. Will not stay again.

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Good: Every person I dealt with here was friendly, I liked the pillows on the bed, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The bathroom seemed clean; the rest of the room did not. Bad: There are obvious stains on the carpet and on the chairs. It's clear that they never give the rooms a thorough cleaning, only run the vacuum through the middle of the room. Edges of the carpet are filthy from months worth of dust and whatever else. At breakfast they didn't have milk for cereal, or cream for coffee. I showed up toward the end of the breakfast period, and everyone's dishes were pulled up way past the busing bin by the fireplace, basically covering the fireplace. There were like four kitchen staff hanging about, not cleaning the dishes. They could have at least pulled the dishes into the kitchen rather than leave them strewn about. I was willing to stay in an inexpensive, un-frilly place, and I had looked around at different 2-star motels (this 2-star rating being separate from crowd sourced ratings). For some reason this was classified as a 3-star Hotel, and that convinced me that it would be worth paying an extra $30 per night to get something a tad nicer. I paid $109/night, where neighboring motels were charging around $59-89/night. I was very disappointed. I don't know how they got classified as 3-star, and why they are able to call themselves a hotel rather than motel, but I felt duped, and I won't stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Pros: over price.... not coming back
Cons: breakfast could be improve. Tear down the building and build a new one ...the rooms stinks
Location: okay
parking is fine... breakfast could be better by adding fresh fruits. this is california... fresh fruits are so cheap.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had to give a 250$ deposit

Posted Feb 29, 2016
When I got there they needed a 250$ cash deposit which I did not have I had to drive to the bank and drive back then when I see my room it was so small and uncomfortable I had to pay an extra $40 to upgrade. When I checked out I had to wait for them to inspect the room to make sure that there was no towels missing