Ratings based on 769 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Central Location

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Stylish and modern, great location
Cons: A little bit of TLC in the public areas - a few scuffs here and there. Nothing major and not enough to put us off going back - but you did ask!!
Location: Central and easy access to everything Edinburgh has to offer!
A good hotel for exploring the city - really friendly staff and plenty of space. A lovely private garden which is a nice escape from the bustle of the city. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a great bathroom. The walk in shower was large and had great water pressure. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice - including a good cooked veggie option. I'm not sure how good this place would be for those with mobility issues - there are lots of stairs - I'm sure there are rooms with good access but it's probably worth a check if this is something you need. This is a great place for couples looking for a city break.
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

noice

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: personal
Cons: separate breakfast for groups we did not have a breakfast because the group was taking the whole restaurant we were not allowed
Location: all close by
noise from ball room all night shortage of cleaning stuff room were not cleaned till 4 pm
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Stay

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is lovely and I had a beautiful room overlook the massive roof garden with a view on Carlton Hill. The only downside is that the hotel bar is very small to non existent although the bar area has a wonderful fire place. I think the hotel needs to invest into a proper bar expansion which wold make it truly 5 star.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 stars I think not

Posted Jul 5, 2017
1. No umbrellas in Scotland, I thought it rains 2. Learn the map or you will get stuck in a service elevator - building layout strange 3. Staff does not know the train schedule 4. Didn't make up the room 5. Smoker in our room even though non smoking And this is in 36 hours 6. Bsthrpom off lobby? Who n eds one 7 minute walk Clearly needs work
4 out of 5
by Mary

Nice hotel, too many stairs

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is in a good location, you can catch the tram from the airport and it will drop you off almost right in front of the hotel. One thing you should note is that our room was on the first floor and in order to get to it we had to take the elevator to the third floor and walk down two flights of steps. There is no elevator that would take us directly to our floor. The bell man was great about getting our luggage to our room and from our room upon our departure however if you are a person that has difficulty with stairs I caution you about this hotel. The room was nice, it was a good size however there were no drawers so no place to put ones clothes. There was a small hanging closet with a couple of shelves but with two people staying in that room that was absolutely not enough room for both of us. I basically lived out of my suitcase and would have liked to empty it out and re-organize it upon my departure. But that was not feasible. The air conditioning was fantastic and the curtains perfectly blocked out the light making sleeping very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by LoriEllen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Great hotel but...

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: The location, staff and rooftop garden.
Cons: Bathroom space.
Location: Broughton Street is full of great restaurants and the hotel is located next door to a cinema and theater.
This hotel is centrally located and in a beautiful monument with an amazing rooftop garden. The rooms are nice, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the rooftop garden is an added plus. My only negative was the non-functional layout of the bathroom. There was no counter space for toiletries and no shower caddy for anything but soap.
5 out of 5
by GERARD

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 19, 2017
The hotel is great and I enjoyed my stay. The reception has only check in facilities. To use a toilet you have to go to the third floor where the bar is located. Had twin beds in my room and they were very small single beds that did not fit the quality of the hotel. Very good location.