Ratings based on 910 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Overrated.... No breakfast.... Everything is expensive at the coffee shop
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by JDEAN, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the response. Please look for our new breakfast program rolling out the end of the year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laval

Clean and easy access to the subway station

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The room was clean and the hotel in general in very nice condition. Our TV was having only one channel but everything else was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel...easy access to subway

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Room size, price.
Cons: More bottled water in room...especially in the summer months.
Location: Walked through Harlem to get to the Yankees game. Stone's throw to get to the subway...easy/quick ride downtown. Food/shopping nearby.
Nice hotel...had two rooms. One had lots of windows, but TV didn't work. We didn't care about the TV, but we asked for it to be fixed and by the time we left (two days later) it still didn't work. The other room had a tiny window, felt like a cave. If you stay there, ask for a room with lots of windows! Spacious. Complimentary coffee in room and lobby was nice. Only one block to the subway...or if you like to walk, you could easily get to a Yankees game or Central Park on foot. For those driving to the city for a visit, we found cheap (self) parking near this hotel...ditched the vehicle for three days, stayed in a nice hotel, and walked/subway-ed everywhere we wanted to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by JDean, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is important to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was just right for one night.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The size of the room, location, and very convenient and affordable.
Location: M60 bus right from La Guardia. Magic Johnson AMC, Redlobster, Olivegarden, Showmann's Jazz club, Columbia University, St. Johns Cathedral.
I believe they are pet friendly, since i heard a dog barking next door. Apparently someone must of shut the bark off just in time. Otherwise, I would have requested to be moved. The doors slam shut, so, I'm either very sensitive to noise, or the doors slam really hard and the walls are paper thin. t
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new hampshire

Beautiful hotel in Harlem

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Convenient location close to transportation, friendly and helpful staff, great amenities, comfortable modern rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Close to Columbia University

Posted Jun 28, 2017
I was greeted by very friendly staff, and they offered free water and coffee in the guest room as well as in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Stayed at many hotels in manhatten

Posted Jun 25, 2017
This hotel is much larger and very updated and nice! Same price tho 400.00 dollars but a lot nicer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel w/in walking distance to Columbia

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Service was great -- very nice folks, and very efficient too!!
Excellent hotel within walking distance of Columbia U/Barnard. Very close to subway that takes you straight to JFK. Nice, clean, modern hotel with efficient and helpful staff. Neighborhood is a bit sketchy but we didn't feel unsafe. Would definitely stay there again!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and noisy

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The front desk people were very friendly
Returned to hotel at 930 pm exhausted from moving out day at Columbia. Planned to have a drink and bite at the bar . Full of 20 plus loud drunks. It took a half hour to get served. The bartender was angry because he was serving 5 dollar drinks all night to all these people with special armbands they bought for only 5 dooars. He had run out of Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc etc etc etc He said they were in the basement locked up. UThe bartender is also the cook so he did not have time to make any food. Later offered me 2 kinds of wings. Shrimp cocktail no grilled cheese no. The bartender said all food was gone but yet everyone was only drinking. 3 people at the bar who were talking loudly, very slurred words and definitely intoxicated left to drive home. Wow. I don't know what the laws are in New York City. The bartender said it was their problem. Then he got in an argument with the only other hotel guest in the bar. She did not think it was fair she was the only person paying 12 dollars for a drink in the place and not what she wanted to order because it was all gone. I would have left but It was dark and my feet were worn out. Overall not what I would have expected from an Aloft Hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by JDean Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
I was in NYC with my teenage son checking out colleges so Aloft provided a comfortable space for the two of us. Loved how the vanity and shower areas were separate so we could comfortably get ready together.