Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Comfortable Accommodations; Friendly Staff

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. And the full breakfasts.
Cons: The bedroom window didn't open - and it was rather warm when we visited.
Location: The B & B is located in the western Pacific Heights area. They provide a list of nearby restaurants on check-in. We tried two and they were very good.
The Monte Cristo is expensive - it is important to get that out of the way. But the service is excellent, the rooms comfortable if not lavish and the breakfasts are very good. It is located just a block from Bus Route 1, which will take you downtown as far as The Embarcadero. There are not a lot of restaurants nearby, but those that are in the vicinity are quite good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

A gem of a bed and breakfast

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Interior design, great hospitality, the breakfasts were outstanding.
Cons: Better instructions on how to use the TV.
Location: Presidio Park, Shopping on Fairmont, Shopping on Union Street
This review may be a little biased because I love historic buildings. The Monte Cristo embodied much of the charm of an historic building, but without the dinginess that is often associated with old buildings. The building has been recently remodeled with all the modern-day conveniences needed for travel. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was beautifully designed with Carrera tile, integrated beauty vanity lighting in the mirror, and a toto toilet with built-in bidet features. The most unexpected perk was chef Nick. He made the experience extra special and hospitable with providing homemade breakfasts. His omelet-making ability is top notch; one of the best omelets I've ever had.
5 out of 5
by Joyceann

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Caleb from LA

An experience above all.

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
The Monte Cristo Inn set the expectations high from the start. I loved that the entrance is guarded by a rustic style iron gate which is opened by a key you receive at check in. The overall feel of the Inn is very comfortable and warm. The rooms have key code locks on them which I thought gave the building a modern feel. Once you are in your room, the first thing you notice is the high level of class involved in the design. The bed is huge and extremely comfortable memory foam with soft sheets and a big screen TV to compliment. The bathroom featured a bidea, seat warmer, towel wqrmer , dual sinks and a very large marble shower with an overhanging showerhead. Before our departure we took part in breakfast that included several frwh fruits, granola, yogurt, pastries and items available to be prepared by the kitchen. Its clear that the owner/manager and team take great pride in the satisfaction of their patrons. I will be back and recommend to all my friends who visit San Fransisco.
5 out of 5
by Pam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Turlock, CA

Quiet location, close to everything

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast, quaint,comfy
Cons: Maybe a little more help with parking
Location: Close to everything but in a quieter location than downtown financial or the wharf
This B & B is very pleasant. The staff was helpful & friendly,rooms though small, were well appointed, bed comfy, pillows comfy, plenty of towels, gorgeous remodeled bathroom. No elevator so pack light or ask staff to assist you with the luggage. Parking on street is easy unless it is street sweeping night. Watch signs for that. Parking a block away at college parking lot is easy and cheap. Special shout out to the chef, Nick! Friendliest, great breakfast & snacks, helpful with directions and dinner spot ideas! My kids live in the city & have a small place so staying at a hotel is a must when I visit. I will definitely make this my hotel of choice in SF!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valparaiso,IN

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: Great charm and staff was very friendly and helpful!
Cons: The lighting in bath room could be brighter...helps when putting on makeup!
I was in SF to visit my son. The Monte Cristo Inn is just a few minutes away from his place. The Inn's staff was very friendly! In addition, the Monte Cristo was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. In the afternoon coffee, tea, and snacks are available, This is a charming place and I would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Lovely property in quiet neighborhood

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Location, breakfast. Didn't feel like I had someone hovering over me at every turn waiting for a tip.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Restaurants and small local shops
Jack greeted me very cordially upon my arrival. He carried my bag upstairs and told me about breakfast. The property is lovely; early 20th century decor. It was very clean a quiet. Excellent breakfast. Nick will cook what you want if there is nothing out that you like. After getting back from work it was like coming home. There was tea, coffee, water available in the breakfast room along with coffee cake, fruit and a few other goodies. Neighborhood was quiet with restaurants and some small shops nearby.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Orlando

Always love the MC!

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
The proprietor is super helpful.