Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NORTHERN CA

The hotel was close to our medical appointment.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: clean, friendly staff, quiet,
Cons: Not much, we had a little hiccup because we were later than the check in time, I called left a message of our arrival and had a returned phone.
Location: Union Square, Chinatown,
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We have told our friends to be sure and check this hotel out. We will stay there again if we are in the area. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay area, CA

Excellent -- highly recommend

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Great service, clean; friendly staff, wonderful snacks and breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel and location

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Location, friendliness, rooms, hotel character.
Cons: Breakfast can start an hour earlier.
Location: Presidio, Golden Gate Park, Laurel/Pacific Heights neighborhoods.
The B&B has a warm feel with updated rooms and bathrooms. The room size is sufficient and the service is excellent. We got a message from the hotel asking us our arrival time to make sure someone would be there. Breakfast was nice, however it would be great if it were available about an hour earlier. The location is also great - a cab/Uber can get anywhere quickly and cheap. We've stayed at another hotel a block away that was twice as much and not nearly as nice. We will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from California

Atmosphere, quiet, oldworld with a modern bathroom

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Quiet, decor embodied the hotel name creating atmosphere, friendly staff.
Location: Close to the University of San Francisco for a workshop, close to picturesque hills, neighborhood for walking, close to the sitcom house "Fullhouse".
I arrived late in the night by airport shuttle and the staff answered the door right away. I felt cared for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California's central coast

Better than the average hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2015
Pros: The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. We also liked the Victorian charm.
Cons: Our room was a little over furnished which made it a little difficult to get around the bed.
Location: There were 2 good restaurants within 2 blocks that provided good meals. The Marina was an easy drive away.
On a recent visit to San Francisco, we decided to try something different from the ordinary and usual hotel. The Monte Cristo provided all that we needed and more. The rates were good, the ambiance gave us a feeling of local history, the location was convenient, and the accommodations were clean,safe, and comfortable. The staff was courteous and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marion, MA

Charming B & B in San Francisco

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: See above. There were several couples on their honeymoons staying there when we did.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: See above. There are two nice restaurants nearby and a diner as well. Something for all tastes.
The charm of an old home with the amenities of a European B&B. Very comfortable and the breakfast was varied and fresh; for example, quiche, fresh raspberries, and home-made breads. The coffee was right on target. The prints of chasing the hounds in old England were perfect for the building. The location is central, literally, and getting around is realtively easy. Jack and Jerome were delightful hosts. And that is what the experience was like: visiting your favorite relatives in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Trey from Fort Worth Texas

A gem of an Old San Francisco hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Throughly enjoyed my stay at the Monte Cristo. I was in the Bay Area for business. I found the location to be very convenient, and outside the bubble of major traffic within San Francisco. This hotel has charm coming out its ears. I was on street side and the first night there was definelty traffic to be heard from time to time. What I realized the next day is, that was my fault, I left the Windows open. The next night was perfectly quiet and I slept like a baby. The Windows are doubled. Not just double-pane, two complete Windows in the room I stayed in. Greatly enjoyed the Old San Francisco charm, cleanliness, and overall comfort of this hotel, and I'm looking forward to returning with my wife soon so she can share in the experience. On a side note, I ate at a restaurant nearby on California called Cafe Europa, if you enjoy German/Polish food, WOW, highly recommend. Thank you Monte Cristo for a excellent experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melanie from Tucson

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast was delicious. Our room was small but charming. The hotel staff was accommodating of all of our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels