Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dated, but great location and service

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Dated condition. But great location and service. We had 40% off thru Expedia. If we were charged full price, I would not have stayed here due to the dated condition of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Nice hotel close to downtown.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Great place to go to enjoy the nightlife of old town Scottsdale.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Needs some work

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Location to Old Town Scottsdale
Cons: Carpet, pool towels
Location: Great restaurants and night life in Old Town, within walking distance from hotel
I stayed here with a friend who was visiting and had stayed here several years ago and loved it. She felt the hotel had gone downhill somewhat and needed some work. She went to the pool and said her pool towel was paper thin. The ice machine in our stairwell had a sign saying it was broken, but room service did bring us some ice. When we asked the guy where the nearest working ice machine was, he had no idea. The carpet in the room seemed dirty and old, and the patio was tiny. Overall, I am a much bigger fan of another retro-themed hotel just down the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Aging hotel in a convenient location

Posted Jan 15, 2016
The Saguaro has very pleasant, helpful staff everywhere one turns. The groups are beautiful and the lap pool is awesome. So what's the downside? I didn't get much sleep while there for two reasons. First, I was given a room facing a busy street, and the traffic noise was incredibly loud. I asked to move and was moved a little farther down the street -- still just as loud. Second, the rooms need an update. My room had an incredibly uncomfortable bed that made a lot of noise every time I moved and was just super uncomfortable. The hotel is in need of an update. I don't know what can be done about the noise but other things could be improved--the towels and robes in my room were dingy and worn, the water never quite got hot, the deadbolt didn't work, etc. I'm quite conflicted about this place because the beautiful grounds and super staff and convenient location (walking distance to a good food and coffee and shopping) make up for a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

In the center of everything

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Great hotel stay in the center of the action. Would stay here again and again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sonoma, ca

Old town Scottsdale

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: The valet was friendly, the lobby is colorful and fun to look at.
Cons: Everything! The staff is oblivious.
Location: In the heart of old town Scottsdale.
This is really a motel disguised as a hotel. The staff needs to be trained, the rooms are small for the price and there is no attention to detail. We were lacking a TV remote which we told the desk and when we checked out we still didn't have one. The refrigerator was so noisy we had to pull it out and unplug it. They made us wait in the lobby of the restaurant to be seated for breakfast for so long we left. They were 1/4 full. All in all, there are much better choices for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2016
A little pricey but good location. Older motel style building that has been dressed up a bit
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Pretty but . . . .

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: location, grounds are pretty.
Cons: train the front desk person who was new and made several mistakes with us. CHANGE THE CHEMICALS USED IN CLEANING THE ROOMS something green or sustaina
Location: if you are on foot Old Town Scottsdale. Short car ride is Deseart Botanical Garden -- fantastic!
checkin gave use useless key cards and had to walk back 3 times, they didn't deliver new keys. first room was next to pool motor and ice machine,(even tho the hotel was practically empty) -- husband didn't sleep. very harsh chemicals used in room cleaning left me with a rash; room has no microwaves. huge hot tub didn't have jets (I asked the front desk, and the two bubblers are all); most expensive breakfast I have ever had and not for anything exceptional;watch for the "resort fee" charged over and above your expedia price; resort fee to use the pool and fitness room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Pleasantly upgraded

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Great location in central Scottsdale. Stylish facilities
Cons: There is a fair amount of traffic noise from the roads
Location: Fun shops and restaurants nearby
We were upgraded when we checked in. Very stylish hotel...comfy bed, nice amenities, and great location.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels