Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Amazing staff!!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
The staff was amazing. Very attentive cheerful and ready to assist you especially Manolo, Daniel, Bennie & Narvama. The place is beautiful but built very tight so the pool chairs are close together. Need to be at the pool by 7 am to claim a chair unless you work out an arrangement with staff. (Tips help) The swim up pool rooms in the adult VIP stay in the shade so don't book if u want sun. 3 restaurants and the disco are in the non adult side which seemed to have more going on. Order wine so you get special Italian 4 course meal- excellent! Easy 1 mile walk into town but a lot of the beach had landscape rock ( for erosion) so wear tennis shoes. Had issues with strong mildew/ mold smell in room that got into our clothes- other guests had same problem. We slept with our door opened and that helped. Overall good experience for all inclusive and attentive wonderful staff which work very hard to make your trip a great one.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Perfect for a Honeymoon

Posted Nov 22, 2016
We stayed in the preferred club and enjoyed the hotel very much. I have never witnessed such hardworking employees anywhere- everyone was friendly, welcoming and more than willing to help. The hotel and its views were beautiful. The hotel is located super close to the airport and downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. louis, MO

Great property. Good service, clean, fun, relaxing

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Right on the beach. Walking distance to shops, tours to satisfy shopping and curiosity.
Excellent room, comfortable, and large. Amenities galore with friendly service staff. Breathtaking view with easy accesses.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Campbell CA

Foodies should SERIOUSLY avoid this hotel.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Don't get me wrong, the hotel is beautiful, the service was better than most, and if it was not an all-inclusive resort, I would have given it a 4.5 rating. BUT... the food is built into the cost, and everything we ate was CLEARLY from a freezer. Even the sea food!!! A fact that made ZERO sense to me, other than the fact that it is cheaper than fresh. The food was a pathetic attempt at the culinary arts, and the alcohol was cheap, unless you wanted to pay extra. To add insult to injury, culinarily speaking (culinarily is probably not a word), the room service offering were unfit for human consumption. Sorry to rant, but in an all-inclusive resort, the food and drink is KEY. If it was just a hotel, it would have been great, but when you throw in the food, I cannot recommend it.
Cons: EVERYTHING involving food and beverage services needs a visit from GORDON RAMSEY!!!! I will never enjoy food that looks and tastes like it just came out of a freezer. Also, being that close to the ocean, there is NO excuse not to have fresh sea food!!! ZERO!
Location: Go downtown!!! Very fun, very safe, and a great little town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel with great staff.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing to complain about.
Location:
Enjoyed the hotel the restaurants and the staff who went above and beyond to make your stay comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Service

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Feel like you are the only one that they have to please
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Everything was wonderful here!

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The view, the service, the food, the room, the cleanliness.
Cons: Our air conditioner was keeping the room very cold, but we figured it was better than being hot!
Location: Malacon, Vista Grill, Boca, Yelapa.
My wife and I an 6 others went late in October 2016 for 6 days. Room was perfect, yes it had a slight musty smell, but not overwhelming. Our bags were brought up to our room by Armando and he noticed that we needed more hangers for clothes, more Coronas for the mini fridge and an iron. All were brought to our room within an hour or less and there was a follow up call to make sure it happened. Turn-down service was everyday and everything was cleaned, straitened up and replenished. There are no bad views in this hotel! ALL ROOMS FACE THE OCEAN! We were on the 7th floor and our view of the ocean and the grounds was great! Almost all of the servers all had smiles and were very attentive. Tips definitely helped. The food was fantastic at every restaurant on the grounds! We never made it to Bordeaux, but all the food and service was excellent every place we dined. I usually had the fish any time I could although it was a small portion, we would always get an appetizer and it was plenty to eat and delicious!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Everything was great except the toilets was bad

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Location: Beautiful
The toilets were not clean needed some refreshing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

A fabulous place to stay in Puerto Vallarta!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: The resort is right in the city of Puerto Vallarta. Taxi prices to/from resort were - airport: 120 pesos, downtown: 75 pesos, marina: 90 pesos.
Secrets Vallarta Bay was a great place to stay. It's only a few minutes' drive south of the airport and is right in the city of Puerto Vallarta (still right on the beach, of course). I really liked that it was in the city, because it allowed us to venture out off the resort on foot and explore the neighbourhood. I had asked one of the wait staff where the best tacos in town are, and he recommended a place within walking distance of the resort called, El Flako. (I remember the waiter spelling it "Flako", but it seems people on the Internet are spelling it "Flaco".) It's on the corner of Havre and Viena streets. We went three times, and the owner, Don Crispin, was super nice and absolutely fantastic to meet and talk to. He's a retired bartender that used to work at Secrets. Now about the actual hotel: The room was clean and the king-size bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. The duvet, pillows, and sheets were exquisite. The bathroom was quite luxurious with dual sinks, a large jetted tub, and a large separate shower with two different shower heads (one rainfall, one standard) on opposite ends of the shower area. The food was quite good. Some items were only so-so, but others were fantastic. The Mexican restaurant, in particular, was great. The resort itself isn't very large, but there are several pools and the beach area is very nice. Secrets is the adults-only area of the resort, while Now Amber is for all ages. Guests of Secrets can visit both sides.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The Good, the Bad, and the Unexpected

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: El Malecon:75 pesos cab, look for voledores Taco El Flako:@Havre & Viena, great tacos (al pastor, chorizo, arrielo), don't speak english but friendly
Summary: 'Party Boat' atmosphere Small Resort Parts of beach and pool area under renovation Most of the staff were good Cab Ride to/from PVR: we paid about 110 pesos Amenities: 2 hottubs: didn't use these 2 pools: Pool with swim-up bar was where 'party' and contest games were happening ('Belly Flop' contest); Pool with no swim-up bar was where 'sport' activities happened (i.e. water volleyball, water aerobics) All Pool chairs were occupied by 11am by people's towels Staff: Cleaning: friendly, quick, and room was very clean always Serving: friendly, quick Front Desk: good but aggressive in selling services (ie spa) Cleanliness: Overpowering mildew smell in the room, somewhat lessened after we requested a dehumidifier Very clean rooms overall Atmosphere: Smaller resort, nightly entertainment seemed close by; fireworks outside window, Loud club music until 11 on Sat; reno of wooden walkways between beach and pools Beach: Ocean: Murky, rocky, large grain sand Small beach: Accommodate about 40 patrons Peddlers selling sunglasses/carved items/jewelry; not overly aggressive but constant (every 5 to 20 minutes) Restaurants: Tamarindo: Good guac, Decent mains; Friendly staff; Dinner only Market Cafe: Consistent, good breakfast options, great wait staff (Raul was excellent); minimal, average lunch options Bay/Coco Cafe: Average cakes and pastry options; Decent iced latte Himitsu Teppanyaki: Salty, Average; Dinner only Oceana: Friendly staff; Subpar lunch options