Ratings based on 815 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montréal Canada

Bien logé à Carlsburg, pas dispendieux.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: A 30 minutes de San Diego, près de toutes les petites villes côtières a visiter.
Bien localisé juste en face de L'océan. Déception pour Un Hilton Garden Inn : Stationnement payant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2016
The room was clean and comfortable. The pool and hot tub were awesome especially handy after walking all day at Legoland. They also serve cookies in the evening!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Amazing Location

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location!
The location was perfect for our trip... it was close enough to the highways to reach Wild Animal Park, while also being directly across the street from the ocean. Every morning we would grab our coffees and walk across the street to watch waves crash. No frills needed, it was a perfect spot though to rest after all of the daily adventures.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los Angeles


Posted Sep 15, 2016
Had bad experience with the restroom clogged twice low water pressure. Otherwise, nice staff and nice view of ocean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This was a grate place

Posted Sep 3, 2016
This was a grate place to stay I love the movie on the grass the pool was heated I will be staying there agin soon
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torrance, CA

Posted Aug 29, 2016
The bed was disasterous, hard as a rock, and sou ded like Pop corn popping when you get in or out of bed. The room is small w/o a table and only one chair. We like to play cards or picnic in our room when we travel & these rooms aren't furnished for any of that. The wall paper was separating & peeling in bathroom, just over the sink and the tub was dangerously slippery and one of us fell... thank God a handle was there to slow the fall, but still very frighteningly. NO close access to beach. Beach itself rocky without any real sand beach to lay out or picnic. The pool was noisy and the water cloudy despite the high chlorien level. The outside areas were nice and patio furnishings comfortable. The coffee service ran out of regular coffee both mornings withoUT being replenished. That was tacky and cheap for any property that has a Hilion name on the door. Check in staffer was cryptic, no welcome just a litany of charges to be added and house rules. A terribe 1st impression, for a couple needing a weekend getaway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 7, 2016
Hotel is good for an overnight stay. We had problems with housekeeping who came late afternoon to evening to clean but never came back to finish and replenish towels and such. Our daughter was there with her team and had breakfast included in hotel stay but didn't get breakfast once and went to eat but was sarcastically denied by staff even with her voucher. There is no excuse for this rudeness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mentone, CA

Great beach vacation spot!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Having a microwave and mini-fridge in the room was a real plus on top of the great location.
Cons: The only issue we encountered was the plug was broken for the bathtub drain. We just showered rather than seek a room change or fix.
Just a quick walk across the street to the beach for all kinds of surf and sand pleasure. We enjoyed afternoon walks along the beach, a full day in the surf (boogie boards for us, but great surfing for those who brought their boards), and beautiful hotel grounds. Just a couple of minutes away is a large outlet mall with shops and a variety of affordable restaurants. Free on-demand movies saved us from the disappointment of a sold out showing at a local movie theater. Though at typically higher hotel food prices, the breakfast buffet was great (included all hot items cooked to order: omelettes, eggs,french toast, waffles, etc.). We took a less expensive room, but you can pay more for an ocean view - no balconies for sitting outside to enjoy the view from your room, but several benches on the grounds facing the beach if you do want to sit outside and enjoy the view without the super short walk across the street. To the north (right when facing the beach), there is a bench along the cliffside walkway from which to sit and enjoy the sunset over the ocean - the path down to the beach is just beyond the bench (no ramp and difficult for anyone who doesn't have full range of motion in their hips and knees, but perfectly manageable regardless of athleticism). To the south (left), the road goes down to a low point that is much more accessible (staffed beach lifeguard tower at this location).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Rip Off

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: No rip off breakfast
Bathtub was dirty. Location was nice. They charge you 13 dollars for their crappy continental breakfast. The kind that's free at every motel 6. Cereal, bagels, etc, This was outrageous. Then their buffet was 20$. The kind that is also free at many other hotels. At 200$ a night I expect a lot better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Next to beach. Small pool and gym available. Next to legoland. Overall a nice hotel.