Ratings based on 1,066 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
We should have been told upon checking in that the pool was closed. we also should have been told that the 5th floor patio which overlooks the ocean was closed for weddings from 1pm till 7:30pm on both Friday and Saturday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I do apologize that our pool was out of order during your stay. I hope you where still able to enjoy the local area. Thank you again for the review
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great hotel!!!

Posted Sep 21, 2016
We loved our stay and the comfort of the room. Staying at a studio ocean front we had a very spacious room, with amenities a such as stove and sink. A very cute balcony where we could Watch the waves and sea lions hanging out on the cliffs. The room was clean, bed is very comfortable, and staff went beyond to accommodate a change on our schedule of snorkeling with a local shop. That for me was the extra thumbs up. Sometimes something small like this is what makes the big difference. Definately will be back. For those not used to the shore has the smell of the sea lions and ocean mixed together, nothing bad but might be a point for some people. The smell didn't bother us and that's their habitat so I'm up to put up with it to get to be so close this beautiful natural escape!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Giordana, Thank you so much for the great review. We hope to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München, Bayern

Motel-feeling in unmittelbarer Nähe des Meeres

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Das Hotel liegt wunderschön am Meer und einem Naturpark. Die Umgebung bietet sich an, um tauchen, schwimmen und wandern zu gehen. Tagsüber im Wasser und abends am Strand kann man zahlreiche Seelöwen beim Schwimmen und Schalfen beobachten. Von der Innenstadt San Diego ist das Hotel etwa 30 min mit dem Auto entfernt. Fußläufig kann man in der näheren Umgebung Restaurants und Geschäfte besuchen. Parken kostet 20$ pro Nacht. Das WLAN im Hotel funktioniert nicht, die Zimmer sind sehr eng und stickig, haben keine Klimaanlage. Die Wände sind sehr dünn, was den Schlaf erheblich stört. Auf der Dachterasse kann man ein Frühstück zu sich nehmen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Max, Thank you for the in-depth review. I am happy to tell you we will be renovating later this year. I hope you will give us another chance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alt aber Aussicht

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Altes Hotel ohne Klimaanlage. Kleine Zimmer jedoch eine super Aussicht und sehr nahe am Wasser.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to tell you that we will be installing AC later this year. So, I hope we will see you again in the future. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Old hotel great location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Parking is very limited if you're going to stay more than a day find your spot and don't leave have visitors pick you up and good luck finding parking anywhere else. Your choice of restaurants places to eat drink coffee are wonderful, all within walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful view, terrible facility

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The room was not what we expected given the price and location. The room was not clean; we had to lay a towel on the floor of the shower because of the condition of the shower. The room had a musty odor and was extremely hot. The pull out bed was uncomfortable and they did not have enough air conditioning units to improve the temperature of the room. The view was lovely as was the area. It is unfortunate that the hotel has not made the effort to improve the quality of the rooms. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Outdated in a great location

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The 1950 architecture was at first glance charming but later became disappointing. The lobby was nice, clean and had some updating. When arrived in our room to find no air conditioning, a floor fan, no dresser, no coffee maker, not much space well I knew I was back to 1950. The pool was great, the breakfast and fifth floor dining area was nice with a wonderful view of the cove. The location is superb. If you don't stay in your room much and you don't mind paying a premium for location only, this is the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Bad Experiance

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Hotel wasn't what we expected. Wouldn't recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, but .........

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: We spent most of the time at the hotel on the roof which overlooks La Jolla Cove and Park. It was a perfect place to enjoy the view from above.
Cons: Rooms need to be renovated - old, slippery showers with high sides, very inefficient lighting, very outdated kitchen appliances and cupboards.
Location: Fantastic location - swimming, walking, shopping, people watching. I wish the rooms were the same quality!
I remember staying at The La Jolla Cove for a family vacation when I was a kid. I was looking forward to returning with my parents to celebrate their 59 th anniversary. I booked a two bedroom suite for two nights. My first disappointment was the extra $20 per day to park. The next issue was that the suite was not easily accessible for my elderly parents (stairs to access the room). Finally, the suite was clean, but very outdated and it had no overhead lighting.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels