Ratings based on 1,053 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alt aber Aussicht

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Altes Hotel ohne Klimaanlage. Kleine Zimmer jedoch eine super Aussicht und sehr nahe am Wasser.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2016 by AGM, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy to tell you that we will be installing AC later this year. So, I hope we will see you again in the future. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Old hotel great location

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Parking is very limited if you're going to stay more than a day find your spot and don't leave have visitors pick you up and good luck finding parking anywhere else. Your choice of restaurants places to eat drink coffee are wonderful, all within walking distance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful view, terrible facility

Posted Aug 11, 2016
The room was not what we expected given the price and location. The room was not clean; we had to lay a towel on the floor of the shower because of the condition of the shower. The room had a musty odor and was extremely hot. The pull out bed was uncomfortable and they did not have enough air conditioning units to improve the temperature of the room. The view was lovely as was the area. It is unfortunate that the hotel has not made the effort to improve the quality of the rooms. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Outdated in a great location

Posted Aug 7, 2016
The 1950 architecture was at first glance charming but later became disappointing. The lobby was nice, clean and had some updating. When arrived in our room to find no air conditioning, a floor fan, no dresser, no coffee maker, not much space well I knew I was back to 1950. The pool was great, the breakfast and fifth floor dining area was nice with a wonderful view of the cove. The location is superb. If you don't stay in your room much and you don't mind paying a premium for location only, this is the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Bad Experiance

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Hotel wasn't what we expected. Wouldn't recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, but .........

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: We spent most of the time at the hotel on the roof which overlooks La Jolla Cove and Park. It was a perfect place to enjoy the view from above.
Cons: Rooms need to be renovated - old, slippery showers with high sides, very inefficient lighting, very outdated kitchen appliances and cupboards.
Location: Fantastic location - swimming, walking, shopping, people watching. I wish the rooms were the same quality!
I remember staying at The La Jolla Cove for a family vacation when I was a kid. I was looking forward to returning with my parents to celebrate their 59 th anniversary. I booked a two bedroom suite for two nights. My first disappointment was the extra $20 per day to park. The next issue was that the suite was not easily accessible for my elderly parents (stairs to access the room). Finally, the suite was clean, but very outdated and it had no overhead lighting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Good location but run down and not clean

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: Location and pool.
Cons: Cleanliness. Accessibility.
Location: Easy walk to beach with sea lions. Easy walk to great restaurants and shops.
You cannot beat the location, walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops. The kids loved the Children's Pool beach and seeing the sea lions while playing in the water edge. And they really enjoyed the pool. Unfortunately, the hotel is very run down. The carpets look worn and like they could use a good cleaning. The rooms weren't very clean either. In fact, we found several things that previous guests had forgotten, including medicine in a drawer, a beach towel in plain view in a bath room, goggles under the pullout couch, etc. We tried not to look too closely behind anything as the sight wasn't pretty. Furthermore, do NOT book this hotel, especially their suites if you have any trouble getting up and down stairs or need to take for example a stroller to your room. We had booked a suite with two rooms and had to up and down through several stairs to get to the room. It meant a lot of dragging our suitcases up and down and around. The complimentary breakfast was ok. They had waffles and oatmeal but nothing else warm. The rest was cereals, yogurt, boiled eggs, bagels/bread/such.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location, nice staff hotel needs a lot of w

Posted Jun 21, 2016
great walls,beach nearby,complimentary breakfast was nice. rooms hotel needs upgrades and cleaning
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Good location close to la cova

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Good position near beaches and seals. Lots of restaurants nearby. Good pool area and rooftop terrace overlooking ocean.
Cons: Bathrooms in guestrooms need updating and there is no air conditioning in rooms.
Location: Good location near beaches and seals. Good for walking . Excellent walk to la Jolla shores beach. Plenty of bars with happy hour 3-6pm.
The hotel is in a good location and has a good pool area. Breakfast was good served on the room terrace. Do not book a guest room with no view. Our room was disappointing and very small and needed updating. The room was situated near cleaner's cupboard who started wheeling trolleys along the corridor at 7am. Room only had 1 chair and staff never delivered 2nd requested chair. Book a 1 bedroom room with seaview if you choose this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dsllas

A dump

Posted Jun 12, 2016
I would call it a motel, not hotel. The place is a dump