Ratings based on 1,153 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Tired hotel with a great location.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Awesome view and location. Pleasant staff. Pool area and hot tub were nice.
Cons: General maintenance.
Location: Great restaurants, sightseeing!
The hotel was built in the fifties and I suspect much of the décor and furniture dates back to then. The hotel hasn't been maintained as well as it could have been, but there appeared to be quite a bit or remodeling going on. We were a bit disappointed when we first checked in, but it was very clean and the mattress appeared to be really new. The breakfast is nice and it is served on the rooftop where you have probably the best view in LaJolla. The hotel was quiet and the service was good. We enjoyed our time there and will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovated Room was very nice

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We stayed in one of the renovated ocean-facing rooms with a King bed. It was very nice and clean. The hotel itself is pretty old but nice enough. The hotel and suites wrap around a parking lot which isn't the nicest view. The pool and hot tub were pretty standard. For the money, I felt it was a decent place. My only recommendation is that the hotel try to upgrade the "continental breakfast." The breakfast was dated - a typical continental breakfast from the 80s or 90s - pastries, cereal, coffee. I really wish there were some gluten free or paleo options such as eggs, bacon, more fruit choices, nuts, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Comfy room. Would stay again.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Nothing negative to say!! Good staff and good location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Older hotel, but upgraded.

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Nice, older hotel, near the beach and shops/food places. It's older and upgraded. If it didn't have the location it did (La Jolla Cove), it wouldn't be worth the money we had to pay to stay there. We had an "ocean view" room. Bathroom was small. Small counter top in the bathroom. The bed and pillows were SUPER comfortable, though! We were able to control the room temperature, easily. The breakfast was very good. The coffee at breakfast was excellent. We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend, mainly because of the ocean view. If we ever come back to La Jolla to visit again, we will probably stay somewhere outside of La Jolla, (that is cheaper but still nice) and drive in just for the day. This was a one-time splurge for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend only - noisy

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We stayed over the MLK holiday which is not a holiday for everyone including the staff doing the demolition/remodel on the hotel. They start at 7:30am. Needless to say our last morning was not relaxing. Check out is at 11, yet the cleaning crew was very anxious to get us out of the room; stopping by at 8:30 and again at 9:30 to clean the room. On Saturday night the music for the dinning area was left on all night so we didn't sleep much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Best location

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Best location in San Diego. Just walk across and see the sea lions and gorgeous Pacific Ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Agm, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel by the cove

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Heater. Maintenance
Location: Lots of things to do in La Jolla Cove
Stayed here before and loved it but this stay was disappointing. No heater in room. Since I was staying only overnight and it was tolerable, didn't complain. In the morning, the shower head came off making it impossible to shower before a big meeting. Staff were responsive and Hotel did comp the parking fee but being unable to shower before big meeting definitely created a big distraction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Agm, Hotel Management
I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are currently renovating and installing AC and Heating. We hope you will try us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manteca, ca

Funky place next to Beach

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Funky place next to Beach and a short walk to town. Needs updating. Could use a comfy chair in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by agm, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We will be putting in new furniture during our renovation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Construction

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Pros: The view was fantastic, The location was fantastic
Cons: Improvements are currently being made
Location: It is right in the middle of town on the coast. You coild not ask for a better place.
The hotel was a pleasant place to stay. They are undergoing a complete renovation of the rooms. I saw one of them and it looked amazing. The hotel dates back and it is only logical that an update is due. I am really looking forward to my next trip to San Diego so I can stay at La Jolla Cove Suites.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by agm, Hotel Management
Thanks for the awesome review. We hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scottsdale az

Across the street from the beach and cove

Posted Dec 8, 2016
1st night people above were noisy by means of stumping the floor late at night I will stay next time on top floor The pillows were a little hard U can hear the sound of the waves and seals from the room Excellent breakfast included on roof top of hotel with clear view of ocean walking distance to downtown Kay jolla and La Jolla shores Great place
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by agm, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. It is appreciated.