Featured Image
Featured Image

Get an overview of this hotelMotel with free breakfast, walk to Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk


Located in the heart of Santa Cruz, this motel is within a 15-minute walk of Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk and Main Beach. Santa Cruz Surfing Museum is 1.7 mi (2.7 km) away.

Property Features

Along with an indoor pool, this motel has a spa tub and a business center. Free continental breakfast, free WiFi in public areas, and free self parking are also provided. Other amenities include concierge services, a 24-hour front desk, and tour/ticket assistance.

Room Amenities

All 66 rooms offer free WiFi, TVs with cable channels, and free local calls. Desks and free toiletries are also available to guests. Limited housekeeping is available.

Hotel Amenities

Hotel Amenities

Surf City Inn and Suites features an indoor pool and a spa tub. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. This motel offers access to a business center. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This Santa Cruz motel also offers tour/ticket assistance, a garden, and a picnic area. Onsite self parking is complimentary.

Surf City Inn and Suites has designated areas for smoking.

  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Total number of rooms - 66 
  • Number of floors - 2 
  • Business center 
  • Free breakfast 
  • Concierge services 
  • Designated smoking areas 
  • Tours/ticket assistance 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Garden 
  • Picnic area 
  • Free self parking 
  • Spa tub 
  • Indoor pool 

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Hotel  
  • Indoor pool  
  • Free Wi-Fi  


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Free self parking

Room Amenities

  • In-room climate control (air conditioning) 
  • Air conditioning 
  • Access via exterior corridors 
  • Phone 
  • Free local calls 
  • Limited housekeeping 
  • Private bathroom 
  • Free toiletries 
  • Shower/tub combination 
  • Desk 
  • Television 
  • Iron/ironing board (on request) 
  • Cable TV service 
  • Free WiFi 

Where to Eat

A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning between 6 AM and 9 AM.


Start your day with a free continental breakfast, available daily from 6 AM to 9 AM.

Nearby Things to Do

An indoor pool and a spa tub are on site.

The recreational activities listed below are available either on site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby 


If you have requests for specific accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when you book your room.

  • Accessible bathroom 
  • In-room accessibility 
  • Roll-in shower 

Hotel Policies


Check-in time starts at 3:00 PM

Special check-in instructions:


Check-out time is 11:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children 12 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.


  • Pets allowed for an extra charge of USD 30 per pet, per night
  • 2 per room
  • Specific rooms only, restrictions apply
  • Pet-friendly rooms can be requested by contacting the property at the number on the booking confirmation

You need to know

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

No rollaway/extra beds available

No cribs (infant beds) available


You'll be asked to pay the following charges at the property:
  • Deposit: USD 150.00 per stay
We have included all charges provided to us by the property. However, charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.

Optional extras

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.
  • Pet fee: USD 30 per pet, per night
  • Early check-in fee: USD 30.00
  • Kitchen/kitchenette fee: USD 45.00 per stay
  • Onsite credit card charges are subject to a surcharge
The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

Hotel Name

  • Econo Lodge Inn Santa Cruz
  • Econo Lodge Santa Cruz
  • Surf City Inn Santa Cruz
  • Surf City Inn
  • Surf City Santa Cruz

We should mention

Up to 2 children 12 years old and younger stay free when occupying the parent or guardian's room, using existing bedding. The property allows pets in specific rooms only and has other pet restrictions (surcharges apply and can be found in the Fees section). Guests can arrange to bring pets by contacting the property directly, using the contact information on the booking confirmation.

Surf City Inn and Suites ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

Learn more.
2.4 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
Learn more.

Great location, good stay

3 out of 5
by from San Luis Obispo
Posted Feb 20, 2017
Before going, I read a bunch of reviews which made me a little anxious about staying here. I was positively surprised about my stay! We got a 3 person room, which had a side room attached for the 3rd person. The room was quite modern, the bathroom was clean and in a good condition. We were just looking for a place to stay for the night and this motel was really great for the price and location. If you're looking for a motel where you can just sleep/shower this is the place for you. Nothing fancy, but definitely good for a fun trip to santa cruz where you want to spend money on other things rather than the hotel.
Was this review helpful to you?

1 out of 5
Posted Feb 16, 2017
Hotel is pretty run down. The room lock was busted. The safe wont even open. The bathroom stinks. Carpet seemed to never been vacuumed.
Was this review helpful to you?

Room not ready

3 out of 5
Posted Feb 13, 2017
Didn't get the room I reserved & sent to a room that wasn't ready.
Was this review helpful to you?

Pay more and go elsewhere

1 out of 5
by from Oakley, CA
Posted Jan 30, 2017
It's not far from the boardwalk. Thats the nice part. When we checked in, they gave us no paperwork or keys, just had the janitor let us in to our room. I had to go get the keys later. The room phone was broken. I called the front desk using my cell so I could get the WiFi password, he said he'd call the room phone. I waited 10 minutes and called back. He told me to wait, that he was busy. He never called back. I walked down there and he just told me the password. SO UNPROFESSIONAL There was drug use everywhere, and not the natural kind. Tweaker city. The pool was unkempt amd dirty The bathtub wouldn't drain The TV reception reminded me of when we had rabbit ears. I was embarrassed to take my children here and pretend we were good. Don't stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager
Guest satisfaction is our number one priority, so we know we need to improve when we read a review like yours. Thank you for bringing these issues to light for us, please know they will be addressed. We have a wonderful team here, and it's most unusual and very disappointing to hear that a member of staff was so unprofessional, and that you were not checked-in in the conventional manner. We will address this with the relevant department. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback - thank you. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Was this review helpful to you?

In 70 years, worst hotel I have ever stayed at

1 out of 5
Posted Jan 23, 2017
Location: Location ?? Lots of things to do in area
Filth, nasty, no clean towels, no sheets, no coffee, no hair dryer, hot tub working as adverised, no nothing. Had hard time checking in, hard time sleeping with all the noise in the parking lot - lots of drinking and parting going on. I lived in China for two years and traveled lots, even the country side places were cleaner than this place. I can't go on it was beyond words in BAD. Do NOT stay at this place because EXPEDIA will NOT refund. We canceled our next nights stay but EXPEDIA would not refund unused portion of my money back. We trusted EXPEDIA on their rating of this place and it has proven to be a terrible experience with both with the hotel and EXPEDIA. I called EXPEDIA and they told me all the right stuff but have just ignored me since and keep me on hold forever. Finally received an email yesterday said "refund refused".
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager
Guest satisfaction is our number one priority, so we know we need to improve when we read a review like yours. Thank you for bringing these issues to light for us, please know they will be addressed. Upkeep and cleanliness are very important to us and our room service team does a great job preparing the rooms for our guests, so it is strange and unfortunate that we overlooked details in your room. We wish you had brought this to our attention during your stay, we would have loved to offer you another room to ensure you had a great stay with us. Thank you for staying with us, and for leaving your review, we do appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Was this review helpful to you?

If you're a tweaker or hooker this is your place.

1 out of 5
by from California
Posted Jan 22, 2017
Do not stay here! Our room had no phone, no hair dryer, no hangers, no towel rack. The room was really dirty. There was people outside the the rooms talking, smoking partying and laughing loudly till 4:30am. There was a deep puddle right up to our door. We could not avoid walking through it to get into our room. The hot tub did not work. The front desk staff did not speak very good english so checking in was very difficult. The window blinds were flimsy and you could see through them and at night they let in tons of light. We rented a kitchen "suite" and the kitchen cabinets were bare. There was no utensils, dishes or pots and pans. And if that isn't enough, we killed no less then 3 cockroaches in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager
We are so sorry that we seem to have dropped the ball on a number of things during our inspection prior to your check-in. We have a great housekeeping team, who usually miss nothing, so it's disappointing to read your review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for giving us your feedback. It is comments such as yours that help us to improve our product for all of our guests. Best Wishes, Hotel Management
Was this review helpful to you?

Room was dirty

3 out of 5
by from t
Posted Jan 15, 2017
Check in was fine. But going into the room was different. It was a nice spacious room and you can tell that they have been slightly updated but it wasn't clean. The floors were laminate and you could feel the dirt all over. Plus there was food crumbs everywhere. Then I went in the bathroom there was very old urine drips download the front of the toilet. Plus you could tell none of the tables were wiped down because there was a lot of dust and glass rings on the surfaces. Also on a side note they should address the window blinds. Drapes would be nice too block out all the light and noise a little from outside.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager
We take cleanliness and upkeep very seriously and our housekeeping team pay attention to every detail to ensure that room is perfectly prepared for upcoming guests. It is most disappointing then to hear of your experience. Rest assured that this is not the usual standard to which our rooms are cleaned, and we apologize sincerely for dropping the ball on the inspection prior to your arrival. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to leave your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Was this review helpful to you?

Really loved our stay

4 out of 5
by from San Francisco, CA
Posted Nov 28, 2016
We picked this hotel because it has an indoor pool & spa however, it was close enough to walk to the boardwalk. Especially knowing it was going to rain definitely good for the kids. The room was clean, staff are approachable, very friendly, comfortable beds, and really smoke-free hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Guest Experience Team
Hi Abbey, we are so glad to glad to see that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us from amenities to clean rooms to our spa. We hope this means you'll be back again someday on your next visit to Santa Cruz. Thanks again for your wonderful comments. Best wishes, Hotel Management
Was this review helpful to you?

People could see in your room, no drapes

3 out of 5
by from US
Posted Nov 28, 2016
Not in a very nice location a lot of homless beggars
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Guest Experience Team
Dear Kenneth, we aim to provide quality, comfortable stay with great service so we are really disappointed to see that we dropped the ball. Just like many cities, our city also suffers from homelessness. But, we assure you that our hotel is safe. Thank you for your feedback about the drapes, please know that we will be looking into this and see what we can do to improve. We sincerely hope that this experience won't dissuade from staying with us again. We are confident that you will have a wonderful experience at our hotel as a vast majority of our guests do. Sincerely Hotel Management
Was this review helpful to you?

Close to the attraction we were there to see.

2 out of 5
by from sacramento
Posted Nov 24, 2016
So overall I knew that it wasn't going to be a great motel, and that was fine. It was a last minute trip and we were trying to find something reasonably priced. When we arrive the evening manager wasn't very personable. Pretty cold actually. We get to our room and it takes forever to get the key to work to open the door. We finally get in and the room is still filled with trash and dirty linens. Smelled terribly like smoke, even though it was supposed to be Non smoking facility. So immediately we go and ask for another room. The manager apologized and gave us another room. This room was about what you'd expect for a motel like this. Looked clean, but didn't feel clean. The noise level from outside was pretty bad, the blinds had holes in them from people looking outside so much, so it felt as if people could see in. Overall it was about what I expected. I just simply wanted to be close to my venue. If you get an already cleaned room I feel the experience wouldn't be that bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Guest Experience Team
Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We are disappointed to read your initial impression of our hotel. It is unlike our staff to be unfriendly and I am so sorry that was the case. Furthermore, I am sorry to read that your first room was not ready upon your arrival, But I am glad we were able to switch the rooms right away for you. Please know that we will be speaking about your experience to our staff to ensure this does not happen again. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful to you?