Ratings based on 1,150 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AU

Nice hotel close to anywhere with reasonable price

Posted May 12, 2017
Nice hotel close to anywhere, bus stop just outside the door, it is easy to get you to anywhere, 8mins walk to SMRT, it is a bit hard under hot weather, nevertheless, still best location. Cross the road, you can find nice night activities and local food around. The hotel is a bit old, but King size bed is comfortable, staff are friendly, nice air conditioning, also a very nice swimming pool at level 4. Overall, it is a 4+++ star hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Winson, Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Warm regards, David Donald General Manager at PARKROYAL on Beach Road
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Disapppointing

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Finally met friendly staff when we checked out, they offered to carry our stroller down the stairs.
Cons: Personal touch, quietness and sensitivity towards guests needs. Vanity set was not complete too, we had to walk out and request for comb & shaving set
Location: Heritage area that's worth a visit for tourist.
1st encounter wasn't great as there was no slope for our double stroller, and staff wasn't friendly by just saying. No choice, have to carry up and only nodded his head to help when my husband asked for help. Check in wasn't fantastic too, there was zero personal touch, it was just a check-in and take your card. We checked in at 5pm as we have a wedding lunch at Marina Bay Sands and the main purpose of booking a room at the dinner venue was to have a quick rest. To our dismay, our room was the location all the way to the back and just beside the housekeeper's store / room. I had such a hard time making my boy (18 months to sleep) as the noise were too distracting from the housekeeper's team and they talked loudly. Then, when i finally made my boy sleep, someone pressed the doorbell to pass us 2 bottles of Evian water, without saying, my boy woke up again! I should have put 'DND' but obviously, the room hasn't been prepared in advance. This was the 1st time, i encountered hotel that fails to prepare the basic necessity before allowing a guest to check-in. So we failed to rest. So we went down to the ballroom and only returned at 11pm. Then we found a Chinese Newspaper on the floor, beside the sofa which could be left behind by the previous guest. Nightmare came the next day at 7am where noises starts from the housekeepers again, so my kids were all wide awake by 7.30am. I can't understand why the walls / door are not 'soundproof' at all. The objective to rest, has failed.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Chrisitina, Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Expedia. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. We look forward to welcoming you back at PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Warm regards, David Donald General Manager PARKROYAL on Beach Road
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location but disappointing room

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Pool area
Cons: Room needs refurbishment
Location: Good location in Arab district and close to Little India.
Stayed in room 594 situated close to the lift but at the rear of the hotel. Entered the room and opened the curtains to stare at a blank wall (not a problem if you are only using the room to sleep in and not spending much time in there).. Flushed the toilet and it wouldn't stop, on full flush constantly. The reception were helpful and sent someone to repair it immediately but towards the end of our 4 night stay it was starting to do it again. The sink was cracked and had a repair. The shower temperature was not constant running hot and cold. I think the room was a bit tired and is ready for refurbishment. I don't think 4* hotels have shower curtains over the bath anymore! The reception and pool areas were good and the changing rooms were spotless. The hotel is in a great area opposite the Arab district with excellent restaurants and bars and easy Taxi ride to the airport ($20). I would recommend this hotel but request a room to the front of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Expedia. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. We look forward to welcoming you back at PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Warm regards, David Donald General Manager PARKROYAL on Beach Road
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auck

Close to airport

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Good however we were 3 occupants and breakfast meal was included for 2 only
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Doreen, Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Thank you for the great review of our hotel on Expedia! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, David Donald General Manager PARKROYAL on Beach Road
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Nice hotel near Arab street

Posted Apr 13, 2017
No ce clean hotel 5 minutes walk from metro, close to Arab street. Good pool too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Greg, Thank you for the great review of our hotel on Expedia! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, David Donald General Manager PARKROYAL on Beach Road
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is handy to the airport

Posted Apr 4, 2017
No issues except wifi could be better. Staff are fine and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Expedia. We are encouraged to hear that you had enjoyed the PARKROYAL warmth of our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back at PARKROYAL on Beach Road again. Warm regards, David Donald General Manager PARKROYAL on Beach Road
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good location

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Large rooms at club level. Level 7 rooms with balcony. Club lounge facilities & food and drink. Excellent friendly staff. Relaxing hotel pool area.
Cons: Possibly more channels on the TV, eg CNN, but, hey, I don't go on holiday to this great city to watch TV!!
Location: In between 2 MRT stations, Nicoll Highway and Bugis. Arab quarter across the road with numerous varied restaurants and bars.
Worthwhile paying extra for large Club level rooms, and lounge facilities. Level 7 rooms also with a balcony. Mine had Flyer and Marina Bay Sands hotel view. 526. Nice to sit out for an hour after a days sightseeing and before going to the Lounge. 6pm - 8pm free food and drinks. Also varied breakfast choice in Lounge (or you can use hotel restaurant if preferred) Relaxing peaceful hotel, no noise from other rooms. Large clean pool area with outdoor space & views and an undercover bar area with comfortable seating. Good spa facilities and choice of treatments. The modern and clean rooms have tea and coffee facilities and free bottles of water. Bathrooms are large with separate shower and bath. Good water pressure & plentiful hot water. Air conditioning is efficient and is quiet if required to be kept on all night on low. In addition, a smart phone is provided for use, free of charge, internet enabled and which I found to be of great help when out and about in the city. Perhaps someone more internet savvy than myself would use its features more than I did! Good wifi connection in hotel. I found staff in all areas of the hotel to be polite and helpful which gives a friendly atmosphere across the hotel., and makes for a hassle free holiday in this busy city. The staff, especially Allen in the Club Lounge, were particularly helpful in advising on travelling in the city and the types of tickets available. Overall, a great hotel and I will definitely return here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Single Traveler, Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Expedia. Your feedback is of importance to us and it had been shared with the rest of the team. We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay here at PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Have a pleasant week ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, David Donald General Manager PARKROYAL on Beach Road
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great base for exploring Singapore

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: On right side of city for airport, very good amenities.
Cons: 24 hr room service staffing?
Location: Very close to Arab Quarter, not far from Little India - lots to do and see nearby - great access to riverside and transport links.
Lovely hotel, although we did not eat here so cannot comment on food. About 5 min taxi ride or 15/20 min walk to central city a great base. Staff all very friendly, easy to get taxi and no problems. Only negative we had was could not get room service at 1.30 am and was advertised as 24 hour - no answer on phone. Great pool and gym facilities, good offer on first drinks saved a little cash! No more expensive than anywhere else in Singapore although am sure younger folk could find cheaper accommodation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Steven, Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Expedia.com. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us and corrective measures are being explored to prevent this lapse in service. We look forward to welcoming you back at PARKROYAL on Beach Road again. Warm regards, David Donald General Manager PARKROYAL on Beach Road
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good hotel in ideal location.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Arriving at the hotel we were welcomed by a doorman who carried our bags from the taxi. The first thing I noticed as I entered the reception area was the beautiful fresh smell, which as it happens permiated throughout the building. Our room on the fifth floor wasn't as modern as a hotel we stayed on a previous visit, and we wondered if we had made the right choice. By the end of our stay we both agreed that if we ever return we would stay at the Parkroyal. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. The swimming pool and other facilities were fabulous. The food served at the pool and in the restaurant was excellent. It was within walking distance of the water front and also South Beach Avenue, a new complex of hotels and restaurants where we enjoyed eating at Harrys Bar on a couple of evenings. There are also cafes and bars in the roads opposite the hotel. The staff withought exeption were friendly and polite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Elaine, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, David Donald General Manager PARKROYAL on Beach Road
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location - close to main attractions

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Nice room with huge comfortable bed. Good soft pillows and light comforter. Large bathroom with tub. We did not use the restaurant which was expensive
Cons: Price for continental breakfast was $26 - kind of expensive.
Location: This hotel is close to Kampong Glam and Little India. Buses 57 and 100 can take you in no time to downtown (Colonial District) or Sentosa Island.
The hotel has only 7 floors but our room was quiet. There is a great pool on the 4th floor with a nice view of the city. Bus stop is very close. So is the MRT stop Bugis. There is a lot of restaurants in the MTR area, Suntec City and Kampong Glam neighborhood. We purchased EZlink transportation card on a MRT station (we spent about $10 per person in 11 days while constantly using public transportation) and the Singapore Passes from Viator to save money on major 22 attractions. Singapore is very clean and safe to walk even at night. We had great weather - not too hot. We had few showers but they were warm and did not last long. Avoid October- January period since this is the main rainy season when it can rain all day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by PARKROYAL on Beach Road, Hotel Management
Dear Barbara, Greetings from PARKROYAL on Beach Road. Thank you for taking the time to drop us a review on Expedia. The team and I are delighted to know that you had enjoyed the amenities that we had provided for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again at PARKROYAL in Beach Road. Have a pleasant week ahead. Warm Regards. David Donald General Manager PARKROYAL on Beach Road