Ratings based on 624 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Haven of Peace in busy Soho

Posted Oct 15, 2017
We stayed 6 nights as part of a London stay-cation. Location is excellent and whilst in the midst of busy Soho, as you step through the hotel door a sense of calm envelops you. Staff are excellent. We had the in-room breakfast most mornings and it is simple but good. The hotel has some nice downstairs characterful sitting rooms that are pleasant for having a coffee or a drink. You are hardly aware of there being other guests in the hotel at all. There are some niggles which is why we did not give it a rating of 5. The heating a/c thermostat was bizarrely outside the room in a small lobby so of course there is no control of the temperature in the room. The street outside did get noisy at times in the night but I guess you are going to get that in Soho.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Amazing Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: The character of the hotel was very interesting and the staff was great at giving tours.
Cons: The air conditioning in our room wasn't working well so that should be looked into.
Location: Great location. We walked to go see our show in the evening.
This hotel was full of charm and comfort. I would happily stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, Ca.

So many little things wrong

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Location is great. Bed and bedding were very nice
Cons: Much more attention to details of room comfort and maintenance
Location: Extremely convenient to theatres
Hazlitt's is located perfectly in the heart of SOHO, and therefore commands a very high price. There were so many little problems that made our stay here frustrating: 1. NO COFFEE 2. No clock 3. The "throne" which looks like an actual wooden throne is amusing at first, but weird and uncomfortable to use. 4. Thermostat for the bedroom is outside the room, so a/c freezes us out of the room, but thermostat never shuts it off. We had to prop the bedroom door open to get a/c to turn on and off properly 5. Tried to turn on towel warmer, came back 10 minutes later to find it still cold, and a puddle on the floor. 6. Electric drapes open themselves automatically every time I laid down to take an afternoon nap 7. Dead bulb in bathroom
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique and Special

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hazlitt's is a quirky and wonderful place to stay, with character you won't find elsewhere. People looking for a cookie cutter experience may not appreciate the unique aspects of Hazlitt's, but we loved it and will be back! The location can't be beat, the staff was very helpful and friendly, and this is a perfect place to land if you are looking for a great London experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Great location in Soho

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The staff was warm, fun and professional. Felt very welcomed and taken care of.
Lovely historic building bursting with charm on a quiet street close to the theater district and fun restaurants. Sir Godfrey, the cat was such a cutie, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

If you want something different...

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The staff are incredibly gracious.
Location: Lots of restaurants, pubs, and theaters. "Harry Potter and the Cursed Child" is right around the block as is Aladdin.
I loved Hazlitt's. It has an historical feel: creaky steps, book-lined walls, huge oil paintings. You feel like you are in someone's home in 1850. For me, these were plusses. For some, this may be minuses. Not all of the hotel is accessible by elevator, though the porters are super about schlepping heavy suitcases up four flights of narrow stairs. There isn't an abundance of electrical outlets. But the ambience more than makes up for minor inconveniences. I would stay there again in a second. One downer for me, however, was the noise. The Soho revelers were at it until about 3:00 a.m.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great location to everything you need !!!! Will book again next year
5 out of 5
by Alexandra

Quirky, But Great Location

Posted Jul 29, 2017 on Hotels
If you can do quirky and want a great location in the city - especially the theater district - this is the place to stay. The check-in was easy and the service was great. However, we did have to walk four flights without elevator access to our room, which while it had air conditioning it never felt like it got cool. Additionally, the stairs were totally crooked. The building is old and feels it. I thought for the price we were getting a bit more luxury. However, for a couple of days it was great.
5 out of 5
by GRAEME

home from home, if I lived in an 18thCentury house

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
I felt like I had gone to stay in a friends house, very welcome, very comfortable, love to stay there again
5 out of 5
by Jens

300 years old hotel in the center of Soho

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
Fantastic 300 years old Hotel in the center of Soho with an incredible in room breakfast