Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: It was very clean.
Location: The hotel is very close to grocery stores and restaurants. There is water park nearby. The capitol is only a 15-20 minute drive.
This was our first stay with this chain. Our 2-room suite was spacious and clean. It was plenty of room for our family of 6. The breakfast was great. A negative is the pool room is pretty cold. Other hotels we have stayed at have kept the pool area pretty warm and humid. One other negative was signing an acknowledgement that many people stay there long term, so they don't enforce any sort of quiet hours. We didn't have a problem with noise thankfully, but really? They don't have to follow city noise ordinances like people in an apartment would? Seems unreasonable. If there had been noise all night that hadn't been addressed we definitely would not return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very beautiful

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: The room structure and settings- The space
Cons: The room cleaning services, Varieties of menu items for continental breakfast
Location: N/A
I had a wonderful time with my family. I will come back again and again.
5 out of 5
by William

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James from Peoria

Great Weekend with Grandkids

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
We were upgraded to a suite which was great because we were having our grandchildren stay with us. Having 3 televisions was great, as well as the kitchen. Everything worked well and the kitchen was well supplied. The breakfast buffet was very good and the young lady working there most of the time did a great job. The lobby was well appointed with the large windows and fireplace. One complaint was that the living room chair and couch in room 104 should be replaced; they were very shabby and the cushions were almost flat. The bathrooms were very clean, but a heat type light would be big improvement. Thanks again. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.
3 out of 5
by Not Provided

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Hot tub was filled in with concrete due to hotel not wanting to pay for repairs. The pool was not very clean either. Nothing like the photos.
3 out of 5
by Sherry from Bartlett, IL

Unexpected disappointments.

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
The accommodations were very spacious and comfortable although there were no sheets for the pullout bed. Unfortunately there were tiny ants on our baked goods when we awoke. Another problem was that our adult son was kept awake by the snoring he could hear through the wall of the adjacent guest room. Earplugs didn't block out the snoring.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business oriented hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2015 on Hotels
Week long stay on a business trip. Hotel offers social hour for food and drinks during weeknights. Room was large with extra space to spread out. Hotel staff very helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Why are we Still Relying on Faxes?

Posted Dec 12, 2015 on Hotels
Either the hotel or Hotels.com messed up my booking and there was no reservation. Then it took more than a half an hour to confirm my reservation, but I was already late and was told I had to wait for a fax. The room clerk chose to give me a room because she knew I was upset but then put me in the wrong sized room. I had reserved a 1 BR suite. I brought it to their attention when rushing to get to my meeting and they promised to swap me when I got back. When I got back, all of the 1 BR suites were sold out. The same clerk told me too bad, so sad (or some bureaucratic way of saying that.) Fortunately, I was animated enough that a much more intelligent person overheard and chose to upgrade me to a 2BR suite. It was a nice room and I would stay there again. But note to those who care about these reviews, this kind of screw up will greatly reduce my likelihood of using hotels.com again.
4 out of 5
by Lindsay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Stephen from Indianapolis

great for the money

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
very nice hotel. Very good breakfast buffet. Rooms very spacious. Enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a five star review on your stay with us here at the Staybridge Suites South. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for the kind words about our breakfast and hotel. If you ever come back to Springfield, IL, you know where to stay! Again, thank you for your time and your feedback. Sincerely, Ashley Holshouser Front Office Manager & Platinum Loyalty Champion spiso-fom@johnson-development.com